We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gesang Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Gesang Hotel to your Saves list
Gesang Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed here for two nights to visit the Jiuzhaigou National Park. The location is not so bad, because it is located at a rather bustling spot just before the park, with local food and shops across the street.

The hotel is just decent, quite clean, with good beds and quite good bathroom. Of course, you cannot expect too much from this hotel. It is not too well-lit, rather dark to some tastes. The peculiar thing is that the amenities provided in each room do not appear to be the same: for instance, my room has a water heater, but other room in my group has not—instead they have a water purifier dispenser. Be careful also when using the amenities: there are amenities that are price-labelled, and if you open the container, they will make you pay for it. For instance, a member of my group mistakenly thought that the razor knife provided is free, and during checkout they asked him to pay for RMB 25 (about US$ 4).

The hotel also has free wi-fi connection. The connection is quite decent (compared to some I found at Chengdu), but there are problems and lags to it.

Breakfast is lavish, but do not expect much on the taste. Simply put, it does not suit many foreigners' tastebuds. If you think the Chinese food that you taste at home will be the same as this one, think again. Most of the food is oily, or simply bland. Often, the only thing that you can rely on is the fried egg—many will fight to take the mass-fried eggs made available.

The hotel also provides a cultural show, priced at around RMB 150 (around US$15), depicting various aspects of the local culture. While the show is quite lovely, unfortunately all the performers will only speak Chinese, thus make many—if not all—foreigners baffled on what is going on.

At the end, it is just okay. It appears that there are a lot of better options in this area. Just okay if you want a place to sleep at night, but nothing more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    15
    11
    3
See reviews for
5
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very basic and minimal. Also, if you are assigned a room in the wing I was in, make sure you allow 5 mins to get to the main lobby. Their guest lifts are located at one end of the block and goes only one way. If you want breakfast, make sure you are early.
No good English program (or maybe there isn't any...) on TV, but they have a huge selection of movies to choose from...provided if you can work out the instructions. (Call for assistance)
FOC WIFI in room and password is 0000+[4-digit room number]
The bed is soooooooooooooooooo hard!!
Hotel near a entertainment park - Romance Park I think it is called - I didn't venture there. Too tired after a whole day of walking in Jiuzhaigou

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonate Pozzolo, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After reading some reviews I was worried, but I found it acceptable.
Surely it is not worth the four stars (unless the so called "local standard" is adopted), but it is a good place to sleep (rooms are quite large) and a good base to start your trip in Jiuzhaigou Park.
You cannot find any western style food, not even for breakfast, since this structure is totally oriented towards Chinese tourist groups (again: "local standard").

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There is a Sheraton and a Holiday Inn in the area and these would have been a better choice to visit the Nine Villages Valley. This hotel is fairly large but the whole place needs a good clean. The hotel only turns on limited lighting in the common areas (probably to save electricity), so the whole hotel seems very dim. The rooms were a good size but fairly tatty although the bathroom was quite clean. Hot water was only provided between certain times and there was no heating in the room. There was free internet in the rooms but nobody in the hotel spoke enough English to provide a password, so I just unhooked one of their computers and plugged the network cable into our laptop to get internet connection.
The hotel restaurant was not open for dinner (or lunch) and we went across the road into the village to get a meal. Breakfast catered for the Chinese tour groups and there was no western food at all (except some fried eggs). The orange juice was warm and the tea was cold.
The area would be very pretty if the Chinese tour groups weren't loving it to death with their millions of visitors and the guide's loud spaekers.
If we were visiting again, we would opt for one of the more upmarket hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very nice hotel. After reading some reviews about this hotel we were worried a little bit. But, our experience is very good. We got a very nice room (including a living room). The room was clean and huge. The only problem is that there is no hot water between a midnight and 6 a.m. We had a delicious dinner in a hotel’s restaurant. Vienna shnicle (2 pieces with some vegetables) - only 49Y. Many local stores are just across the street. Great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is the third hotel that I stayed at on a wendy wu tour and it was the worst by far. We were told it would be the worst any way! For breakfast there was only coffee and it was very strong! Could not drink it so I ended up with water. Food at beakfast was very basic. No bread, no any thing only chips and cake well that was what I ate. Rooms are freezing but given the location it was not a problem. Just wear a coat in bed. I was shivering as there was no heating. Room itself was OK but the drains to all the rooms smell. There was no option of choice at that hotel as that was where wendy wu put us. If you have a choice dont stay there.

Room Tip: What ever room you will have the bathroom will smell because of the drains so keep the bathroom door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is not a hotel I want or bother to mention, but I think it is my obligation to inform all future travelers, that this hotel is worst than a Motel 6 in US. My wife and I have no choice, we took a tour to Huang Long and we were put up at this hotel.
It was a total nightmare., from the corridor to our room was so old and dirty. When we check into our room, the room definitely is a smoking room, full of smoking smell. The toilet was so dirtyand smelly, toilet seat does not fit the bowl, dirty grout and yellow stains were found everywhere from the base of the toilet bowl to the tub. The towel rack was almost broken and the tub drain was clogged. After I took my shower, found that all the bath towels were torn and the threads were pretty well gone and could not absorb water anymore. At night, therre was a bug running across my bed. The worst part was that the hotel stopped providing hot water and heat eveery night between 12 to 6 in the morning. The water was ice cold and when you need to clean up, you have no choice except to use it or else you will miss the plane if you have to catch a plane in early in the morning. If you do not believe it, go and stay there. Not to mention, the food was so poor and dirty place even to eat there. good luck guys!

Room Tip: Stay with American brand name hotel. a 4 Star hotel in China, especially in this remote area, you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gesang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gesang Hotel

Address: Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gesang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gesang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gesang Hotel Jiuzhaigou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gesang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.