We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gesang Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gesang Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Gesang Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 128 hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Lonate Pozzolo, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After reading some reviews I was worried, but I found it acceptable.
Surely it is not worth the four stars (unless the so called "local standard" is adopted), but it is a good place to sleep (rooms are quite large) and a good base to start your trip in Jiuzhaigou Park.
You cannot find any western style food, not even for breakfast, since this structure is totally oriented towards Chinese tourist groups (again: "local standard").

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
4
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There is a Sheraton and a Holiday Inn in the area and these would have been a better choice to visit the Nine Villages Valley. This hotel is fairly large but the whole place needs a good clean. The hotel only turns on limited lighting in the common areas (probably to save electricity), so the whole hotel seems very dim. The rooms were a good size but fairly tatty although the bathroom was quite clean. Hot water was only provided between certain times and there was no heating in the room. There was free internet in the rooms but nobody in the hotel spoke enough English to provide a password, so I just unhooked one of their computers and plugged the network cable into our laptop to get internet connection.
The hotel restaurant was not open for dinner (or lunch) and we went across the road into the village to get a meal. Breakfast catered for the Chinese tour groups and there was no western food at all (except some fried eggs). The orange juice was warm and the tea was cold.
The area would be very pretty if the Chinese tour groups weren't loving it to death with their millions of visitors and the guide's loud spaekers.
If we were visiting again, we would opt for one of the more upmarket hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very nice hotel. After reading some reviews about this hotel we were worried a little bit. But, our experience is very good. We got a very nice room (including a living room). The room was clean and huge. The only problem is that there is no hot water between a midnight and 6 a.m. We had a delicious dinner in a hotel’s restaurant. Vienna shnicle (2 pieces with some vegetables) - only 49Y. Many local stores are just across the street. Great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is the third hotel that I stayed at on a wendy wu tour and it was the worst by far. We were told it would be the worst any way! For breakfast there was only coffee and it was very strong! Could not drink it so I ended up with water. Food at beakfast was very basic. No bread, no any thing only chips and cake well that was what I ate. Rooms are freezing but given the location it was not a problem. Just wear a coat in bed. I was shivering as there was no heating. Room itself was OK but the drains to all the rooms smell. There was no option of choice at that hotel as that was where wendy wu put us. If you have a choice dont stay there.

Room Tip: What ever room you will have the bathroom will smell because of the drains so keep the bathroom door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is not a hotel I want or bother to mention, but I think it is my obligation to inform all future travelers, that this hotel is worst than a Motel 6 in US. My wife and I have no choice, we took a tour to Huang Long and we were put up at this hotel.
It was a total nightmare., from the corridor to our room was so old and dirty. When we check into our room, the room definitely is a smoking room, full of smoking smell. The toilet was so dirtyand smelly, toilet seat does not fit the bowl, dirty grout and yellow stains were found everywhere from the base of the toilet bowl to the tub. The towel rack was almost broken and the tub drain was clogged. After I took my shower, found that all the bath towels were torn and the threads were pretty well gone and could not absorb water anymore. At night, therre was a bug running across my bed. The worst part was that the hotel stopped providing hot water and heat eveery night between 12 to 6 in the morning. The water was ice cold and when you need to clean up, you have no choice except to use it or else you will miss the plane if you have to catch a plane in early in the morning. If you do not believe it, go and stay there. Not to mention, the food was so poor and dirty place even to eat there. good luck guys!

Room Tip: Stay with American brand name hotel. a 4 Star hotel in China, especially in this remote area, you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Considering the location of the hotel....close to the Nine Villages Valley and the Yellow Mountain National Park this hotel provided all that was expected. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The place is quite tired and in renovation would help. Carpeting and bathroom fittings are very 70s. Breakfast featured very limited bread....literally gone in 60 seconds. No coffee available but plenty of Chinese tea and cold water. Not really enough drinking water provided by hotel although shops across the road had bottles for 1.5RMB.
Wendy Wu teed this one up, with the National Guide warning us about the standard of the hotel and its food. Once you made allowances for where you were, the fare was quite OK.
After all, Vegas it ain't!

Room Tip: Avoid the Tibetan Village meal/visit option. It's a 5 starTourist Trap. That is, unless of cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful PA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you stayed at a low end of Best Western Inn, you know what I am talking about.

It is listed as 4 star but barely feel like a 2 star. List price is $150 per night and we paid $100.

Pros --
Bed sheets seem clean;
Hot pot to heat water in the room (water is labeled Not For Drinking).

Cons --
Very old and dirty bath room (bathtub, toilette, mirror, faucet, shower, curtain, etc);
Dirty carpet;
No air or heating in the room;
Smoking smell in the room;
Restaurant smells;
Most breakfast items look disgusting;
Many people smoking in lobby;
No heating in lobby. Very cold in the morning.

Smoking is a common problem in China. But the management should and could have done a better job on other things.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gesang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gesang Hotel

Also Known As:
Gesang Hotel Jiuzhaigou
Address: Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#9 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gesang Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Gesang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gesang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.