We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better hotels in the area” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gesang Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gesang Hotel to your Saves list
Gesang Hotel
Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 152 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Brisbane
Level Contributor
526 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“There are better hotels in the area”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There is a Sheraton and a Holiday Inn in the area and these would have been a better choice to visit the Nine Villages Valley. This hotel is fairly large but the whole place needs a good clean. The hotel only turns on limited lighting in the common areas (probably to save electricity), so the whole hotel seems very dim. The rooms were a good size but fairly tatty although the bathroom was quite clean. Hot water was only provided between certain times and there was no heating in the room. There was free internet in the rooms but nobody in the hotel spoke enough English to provide a password, so I just unhooked one of their computers and plugged the network cable into our laptop to get internet connection.
The hotel restaurant was not open for dinner (or lunch) and we went across the road into the village to get a meal. Breakfast catered for the Chinese tour groups and there was no western food at all (except some fried eggs). The orange juice was warm and the tea was cold.
The area would be very pretty if the Chinese tour groups weren't loving it to death with their millions of visitors and the guide's loud spaekers.
If we were visiting again, we would opt for one of the more upmarket hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
5
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very nice hotel. After reading some reviews about this hotel we were worried a little bit. But, our experience is very good. We got a very nice room (including a living room). The room was clean and huge. The only problem is that there is no hot water between a midnight and 6 a.m. We had a delicious dinner in a hotel’s restaurant. Vienna shnicle (2 pieces with some vegetables) - only 49Y. Many local stores are just across the street. Great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is the third hotel that I stayed at on a wendy wu tour and it was the worst by far. We were told it would be the worst any way! For breakfast there was only coffee and it was very strong! Could not drink it so I ended up with water. Food at beakfast was very basic. No bread, no any thing only chips and cake well that was what I ate. Rooms are freezing but given the location it was not a problem. Just wear a coat in bed. I was shivering as there was no heating. Room itself was OK but the drains to all the rooms smell. There was no option of choice at that hotel as that was where wendy wu put us. If you have a choice dont stay there.

Room Tip: What ever room you will have the bathroom will smell because of the drains so keep the bathroom door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is not a hotel I want or bother to mention, but I think it is my obligation to inform all future travelers, that this hotel is worst than a Motel 6 in US. My wife and I have no choice, we took a tour to Huang Long and we were put up at this hotel.
It was a total nightmare., from the corridor to our room was so old and dirty. When we check into our room, the room definitely is a smoking room, full of smoking smell. The toilet was so dirtyand smelly, toilet seat does not fit the bowl, dirty grout and yellow stains were found everywhere from the base of the toilet bowl to the tub. The towel rack was almost broken and the tub drain was clogged. After I took my shower, found that all the bath towels were torn and the threads were pretty well gone and could not absorb water anymore. At night, therre was a bug running across my bed. The worst part was that the hotel stopped providing hot water and heat eveery night between 12 to 6 in the morning. The water was ice cold and when you need to clean up, you have no choice except to use it or else you will miss the plane if you have to catch a plane in early in the morning. If you do not believe it, go and stay there. Not to mention, the food was so poor and dirty place even to eat there. good luck guys!

Room Tip: Stay with American brand name hotel. a 4 Star hotel in China, especially in this remote area, you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Considering the location of the hotel....close to the Nine Villages Valley and the Yellow Mountain National Park this hotel provided all that was expected. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The place is quite tired and in renovation would help. Carpeting and bathroom fittings are very 70s. Breakfast featured very limited bread....literally gone in 60 seconds. No coffee available but plenty of Chinese tea and cold water. Not really enough drinking water provided by hotel although shops across the road had bottles for 1.5RMB.
Wendy Wu teed this one up, with the National Guide warning us about the standard of the hotel and its food. Once you made allowances for where you were, the fare was quite OK.
After all, Vegas it ain't!

Room Tip: Avoid the Tibetan Village meal/visit option. It's a 5 starTourist Trap. That is, unless of cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful PA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you stayed at a low end of Best Western Inn, you know what I am talking about.

It is listed as 4 star but barely feel like a 2 star. List price is $150 per night and we paid $100.

Pros --
Bed sheets seem clean;
Hot pot to heat water in the room (water is labeled Not For Drinking).

Cons --
Very old and dirty bath room (bathtub, toilette, mirror, faucet, shower, curtain, etc);
Dirty carpet;
No air or heating in the room;
Smoking smell in the room;
Restaurant smells;
Most breakfast items look disgusting;
Many people smoking in lobby;
No heating in lobby. Very cold in the morning.

Smoking is a common problem in China. But the management should and could have done a better job on other things.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthemove
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

If you are going to see the magnificent waterfalls, lakes and mountains and not to stay in the hotel, this is a decent option. There are a couple of luxury international hotels in the area, but you pay double, the service is no better and they are at higher altitude. Having said that, this is a large, grand old property that has certainly seen better days. We stayed in summer and the air-con does not go on (ventilation is a (netted) open window due to a govt energy saving policy, but it turned out to be fine). Service and cleanliness were ok and the water dispenser is handy. Beds are typical of China - firm! There are sundry and souvenir shops across the road. Yes, there is a bit of smell from the drains in the toilets and furnishings are run down, but overall as a basic 3 star option in a remote area, this hotel does the job.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
0.0 mi away
Huangpu Hotel
Huangpu Hotel
#40 of 152 in Jiuzhaigou County
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Xianchi Hotel
Jiuzhaigou Xianchi Hotel
#23 of 152 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
4.4 mi away
Qian He International Hotel
Qian He International Hotel
#7 of 152 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Zangwang Holiday Hotel
Zangwang Holiday Hotel
#24 of 152 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#15 of 152 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jiuxiang Hotel
Jiuxiang Hotel
#3 of 152 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gesang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gesang Hotel

Address: Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 152 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gesang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gesang Hotel Jiuzhaigou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gesang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.