We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mountain but too many people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Tai

Mount Tai
Hongmen Road, Taishan District, Tai'an 271000, China
0538-6215013
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mount Tai like an insider
Private Tour
$396*
and up
Private Tour: 2-Night Shandong by Bullet Train...
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in Tai'an
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A symbol of the Chinese Spirit and the royal object of worship, Mount Tai has many spectacular scenic and historic sites.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain but too many people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I was unsure whether to give three or four stars. It is a very nice place: the mountain is beautiful, the hike difficult and it holds an important place in Chinese culture - being the most important of the 5 sacred mountains of taoism. However, I think due to its fame, it is very busy, and if you go during holiday periods, when you climb the steep mountain, there are so many people, you could literally lean backwards and not worry about falling! I personally think Hua Shan in Shaanxi is more beautiful and has better hiking.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    596
    155
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely not to be passed on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is another of those places we didn't really know much about, but it was part of our tour, and boy are we glad it was! We took the cable car to the top rather than brave the stairs, and the small village at the top is just incredible, as are the views! There are still the stairs to the top of the mountain, but they are more than worth the aching calves, as the buildings, sculptures and ruins are just incredible. There is a huge incense 'house' that just billows smoke, and small burners everywhere. The carved inscriptions in the rock walls are fabulous, and the two large walls near the top are amazing. This was truly an unexpected highlight of our trip. We loved it!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“a once in a lifetime experiemce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I went with a group of friends and we were divided between the intrepid who insisted on climbing at least the top half of the 8000 steps (4000 plus) and the less adventurous who elected to take the cablecar to the top. Do note that the latter choice does not absolve you from climbing steps as we found on emerging from the cablecar, that we STILL had to climb several flights to get to our hotel. This holiday is not for those with health or joint problems as it involves climbing up steps to visit the temples and viewpoints scattered around the summit
The sunrise is worth getting up early for, but it will be cold and the windchill factor easily lowers the temperatures by several degrees. DO wear layers especially a windproof outer layer, but the hotels provide coats for hire for about 20yuan . You also have a choice of renting army surplus coats from vendors along the way
DO get there way before the expected time of sunrise as you will find that no matter how early you are, there will be crowds who seem to have gotten there even earlier and you will find yourself standing four deep , but the better hotels have guides who will steer you to a better vantage point, which may involve scrambling over rocks in the predawn semi darkness.
Mt taishan is worth a visit , but make sure you and your joints are fit enough first !

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awe inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My wife, my father-in-law and myself went to the summit via tram car. This journey was awe inspiring in itself, however, once we reached what I thought was the summit, we hiked farther some 300+ feet, and it was here we reached the true apex.
Amazing and beautiful do not fully discribe the true feelings that one experiences when there. If you have a chance to make the trip to this, one of 5 sacred mountains, make room for it on your itinerary.

Visited March 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Tai also viewed

 

Been to Mount Tai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Tai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.