We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family reunion!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Trussville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Trussville to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Trussville
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   3665 Roosevelt Blvd., Birmingham, AL 35235   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for a family reunion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Loved the hotel. Clean. Near shops and restaurants, even an arcade and bowling alley. Free parking and internet. Pool and Gym. My only complaint was that there was no cleaning solution in the gym to wipe off the machine after use and there were no towels. Other than that, I will stay there again should I visit the town again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
6
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

After being given two rooms that smelled strongly of smoke, we were relocated to fresher rooms in a different part of the hotel. While waiting, a fellow traveller came back up to the front desk. He had just been given a key to a room that was already occupied! Someone was in the room & in the shower. Shocking! This hotel is newer, but I have no idea why it is called a Courtyard. It looks just like every other Fairfield Inn, but breakfast is served at an extra premium charge (no thanks - we went to McD on our way out of town.) It is located next to some great shopping & food, and it was nice to not have highway noise during our stay. Just like the empty popcorn machine & lack of a hair dryer in the room, this facility just comes up short.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights with a group of people attending a wedding for a friend. We were given rooms in various parts of the hotel although it would probably have ben more convenient and appropriate to place us all together. The staff was very accommodating to our group's desire to spend time together in and around the pool, patio, hot tub, and adjacent lobby until late evening hours. Our first floor room was clean and cozy although the shampoo and bar soap could be upgraded a bit. The bed was firm and comfortable and the air conditioning unit was cool and somewhat quiet. The large flat screen television provide a clear picture of the basic cable channels one would expect to have. My wife was relieved to find a reliable curling iron and clothes iron / ironing board and the front desk provided to us a free tube of toothpaste after our inquiry about purchasing one. The fitness center was furnished with a multi-use resistance training unit, a stair machine, and a treadmill with a television mounted upon the wall. We were a bit disappointed that the $6.95 breakfast was not complimentary for guests but perhaps we have been spoiled by our recent visits to Comfort Inns. The hotel was nestled into a mountain along a winding road that serviced a few shopping centers that included a Super Target, TJ Maxx, and Red Lobster.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here before our early flight from the airport. The airport was a 15 minute drive from the hotel, and the area surrounding the hotel had a little of everything. There is a Super Target just down the hill, and a mall across the street. We ate dinner at Five Guys which was just around the the back side of the mall. The pool here is small, and it was undergoing algae treatment/issues when we were there, but it was adequate for three kids to use for cooling off and expending some energy. The rooms were clean and had refrigerators and microwaves, a plus for storing milk and soft drinks. There is no airport shuttle, but the parking is cheap at the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Seems like this was recently built. In fact this whole area of Trussville appears new. The lobby doesn't have the new counter service like the revamped Courtyards, but it does have a wait-service buffet for breakfast. I bought the continental breakfast @ 6.95 and brought up oatmeal, yogurt, muffin to my room. THe waitstaff was very helpful.

Front desk was cheerful and provided me with an upgraded room. The junior suite was about the size of a Springhill suite room with a large sitting area with sofa, a hansome wood desk and hutch with a mounted flat screen. This area also contained a cabinet mini fridge and a microwave on a counter above it.

THe bedroom area also had it's own flatscreen. Plenty of drawers and the closet was in between the bedroom and sitting area, making it easy access. There was a cheap aradio alarm clock, no ipod hook up. Plenty of tv stations.

Bathroom contained a great supply of towels, large sink/counter.

Large windows overlooked the outdoor pool which had a small covered seating area (room for 4-6). Lounge chairs along the side. I had trouble sleeping because a electronic "churp" would go off intermittently and I could not discover its source!

Small fitness room containing 2 treadmills, incumbent bike, stepper and universal weight machine with bench. No dumbbells. For running enthusiasts, if you make a right out of the parking lot and run along the access road around the mall back onto the main street and loop around you'll cover about 2 miles. Tough hill at the end!

Try Cajun Steamers across from Penny's for a good meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This Courtyard-Marriott has a great thing going with its very helpful and knowledgable staff, convenient location to shopping and restaurants and very clean rooms. We stayed at this location while in town on a golf trip and all the guys were pleased. Great accommodations and friendly customer service will have us staying here when we return. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel appears new and was very tidy. People were great. Excellent rate, w/o free breakfast. Breakfast buffet was $6.50 and beat the Awful House easily. We would definitely stay again .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Trussville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Trussville

Address: 3665 Roosevelt Blvd., Birmingham, AL 35235
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Trussville 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* 3 floors, 73 rooms, 11 suites * 2 meeting rooms; 985 sq. ft. of total meeting space * Located just off I-459, near the University of Alabama at Birmingham and within walking distance to shopping & dining at the Colonial Pinnacle Mall. * affordable and healthy breakfast served every morning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Trussville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Birmingham Trussville Hotel Birmingham
Courtyard Birmingham
Birmingham Courtyard
Birmingham Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Trussville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.