We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all the way around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Savannah Restaurant

Little Savannah Restaurant
3811 Clairmont Ave S, Birmingham, AL 35222-3607
205-591-1119
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Savannah Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 830 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 39th Street South
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great all the way around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Little Savannah's is owned by a married couple (both chefs) that really care about making their customers happy, and you can really tell they enjoy what they are doing. The restaurant has a great, electric/eclectic atmosphere with interesting people. The menu does change and everything I have eaten here has been outstanding. Everything on the menu is fresh, tasty, and stuff you just wouldn't make at home. Great, attentive service. Full bar with lots of wine and special drink options. Lots of fun. I would eat here every night if I could. The owners and staff make you feel special. Very comfortable. Definitely recommend Little Savannah Restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    7
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unbelievable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Had a wonderful experience. Fun, relaxed, cool little bistro.. Had drink at bar and bartender was great. Meal was one of the best I have had in a long time. Had the asparagus with farm egg and crawfish remoulade and it was fabulous. Interesting wine list with some nice options. Had the monk fish and it was prepared perfectly. Wife had the chicken dish and it was wonderful. Everything is farm fresh and carefully chosen. The vegetables are fresh and wonderful and it really was a great evening. We were not in a hurry as it has a fun atmosphere.We had a delightful server. Cliff and Maureen Holt and their staff did an exceptional job. We also got to spend a little time with Cliff which is worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Valentine's Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I consider myself a foodie, frequenting many of Birmingham's independent restaurants. I hadn't been to Little Savannah in years, so my boyfriend and I decided to do something different for Valentine's. Long story short, the overall experience was a huge disappointment. Actually, it was awful. The choices on the prix fixe menu were not very interesting, and the dishes we ordered (he had beef tartare then snapper and I had oyster chowder then beef) were mediocre at best. Dessert was a "trio," aka a bite of 3 things - a messy tuffle, a sliver of banana bread with chewy, dried banana slices on top (advertised at banana french toast), and a soggy pre-made phyllo cup with marinated strawberries in it (advertised as a champagne strawberry pie). Presentation on all courses was nothing special. In addition, service was terrible - no spoon was brought for my soup for 5 minutes, a knife for my beef had to be "tracked down." Utensils and plates were of cheap grade. Insult to injury, the price was $75/ per person. Waaay overpriced for such fare. Portions were tiny and we actually went to another establishment for dessert after!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I had never heard of Little Savannah, but found it on the internet and decided to give it a try. We were VERY pleasantly surprised. Service was excellent, the bartender was energetic and entertaining, and the food was creative and enjoyable, and makes heavy use of locally-sourced ingredients. The rib appetizer was perfectly cooked - and had none of the over-sweet syrupy sauce so prevalent on ribs today. We also enjoyed the duck - the pairing with a sweet potato gratin was excellent. To top it off, the chef stopped by our table for a long chat - a great evening from all perspectives. We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Food was quite good. Waiter was colorful and very helpful. Got the recommendation from a friend who had been there and will definitely recommend to anyone else

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Savannah Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Little Savannah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Savannah Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.