We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Birmingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Birmingham to your Saves list
Days Inn Birmingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1485 Montgomery Highway, I-65 EXIT # 252, Birmingham, AL 35216 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #54 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    78
    60
    95
See reviews for
107
57
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

There are a lot of inexpensive hotels in Birmingham. Don't give this one a chance. For a dollar more, you can find a place that stands behind their product.

The front desk staff were friendly and I have no problem with them. But the "supervisor" made little effort to earn my business. First, the place is a dump. I drove past a YMCA that looked newer and cleaner. Cracks in the bathroom wall look like they may not be cleanable. An electrical outlet cover fit the outlet so poorly I could pass a cockroach through it. The toilet dumps its water at least once an hour which means you get that hissing sound through the night... at least that was in the first room I was in last night... Which brings me to the big issue...

I knew I should have called the front desk when I heard the first chirp come from the smoke detector. Six or seven chirps later, my sleep was more than disrupted. At 2am, the smoke detector blared on and on, a sure sign of a dying 9-volt battery. While I could have taken the detector off the wall myself and ejected the battery, I did not want to be responsible for bringing the fire department to the hotel as it was hard-wired to a hotel-wide system which I believe is a code requirement. Instead, I called the front desk. She arrived at my room lickity split and gave me a key to another room on another floor which I appreciate, and she took the detector with her back to the office. Now there was a room without a smoke detector adjacent to rooms with guests. She should not have been put into a position where this was her only option.

I packed up my stuff and moved to the other room. Now, rattled, irritated, and anxious about lost sleep, I tried my best to fall asleep in the other room with a VERY important meeting (for me anyways) the next morning. The other room was in as poor shape as the first, and as I walked down the hallway towards it, I heard at least one other smoke detector chirping away threatening to go off with a dying battery.

After price, the one thing that means the most to me as a guest is how the management handles these issues. Can I forgive the seemingly piss-poor maintenance which allows their number one safety system to fail? I'm a safety instructor, so fat chance. Can I overlook the potential electrical exposure to a non-GFCI outlet which didn't have a fitting safety cover? Heck no; I intend to call the city and county about this. How about the external door that did not require a key to open this evening? Well, ask yourself if your family's safety is on your list of priorities. And did the manager make an effort to win me over? Armed only with the knowledge that I had a rough night due to a faulty smoke detector, I was offered a discount of $5. The truth is, it would have taken a lot to win me over, and only if I had the supervisor's assurance that these issues would be resolved... a verbal assurance that is worth the paper it is not written on. After all, who has the balls to put anything in writing anymore, right?

The fact that this place even got 2.5 out of 5 is a miracle of some sort. Either it is mediocre by crappy Alabama standards, or Days Inn standards have fallen and this hotel is mediocre by loyal Days Inn clientele standards. It used to be, Days Inn corporate would audit the privately owned hotels and hold them to a high standard. I know because my wife used to work at one. According to the old standard, this hotel would have lost it's contract with corporate. It is my guess that the owner wants to squeeze as much money out of this place as possible before it crumbles due to neglect.

So where should you stay? I'd sooner call the YMCA down the road. It's probably cleaner, better maintained, and more interested in keeping your business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn_vh, Director of Sales at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for informing us about your stay.Thank you VERY VERY MUCH for letting
me know what we have missed taking care of in maintenace during our extreme busy days.
I have just appointed another maintenance member to go around and address the issues
that you have talked about.
Really Thank You for TAKING TIME FOR FINE DETAILED INFORMATION AND PICTURES
where I can use them to show department heads.
Please try us again and you will see continues NEW CHANGES and As Always We
Promise to Provide THE BEST VALUE UNDER THE SUN.
Sincerely Saby Chander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This stay was about what I would expect from a Days Inn. The biggest complaint I have is that this is the ONLY hotel experience I have had where I have requested an early check in time, and been refused. I requested it at the time I reserved the room as well as the morning of my arrival when I called ahead and was informed that "check in time was 3:00pm". Not sure if this is standard practice for a Days Inn, but was very off putting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn_vh, Director of Sales at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay and am sad to know that we
were unable to check you in before 3pm.Because MOSTLY we sell a LOT OF ROOMS
and many days hardly have a room available till some one checks out till 11am and
between laundry and cleaning few rooms it takes about 3pm.
HOW EVER I PROMISE IF WE HAVE ROOMS AVAILABLE GUESTS ARE WELCOME
TO CHECK IN EARLIER ANY TIME.
Sincerely Saby Chander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Make sure the staff respect their jobs and appreciate every guest whom is checking in to a Distinguish Hotel as Days Inn. Days Inn has been around for ages and I do not think that they got their business off of poor customer service and louzy business. I am very hurt mentally and emotionally about my last stay at this particular hotel. I will be a while or if I ever come back. When I experienced my issue no one wanted to appologize for the incident because, they felt by doing so it meant they were wrong!!!! After, spending numerous nights at this location, I couldnt get a simple appology. For having blood stains on a unsanitary bed sheet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn_vh, Director of Sales at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience.I was trying to figure out why the
hotel security was escorting the guest out.She had cut marks on her hand and arms
and blaming housekeeping for fresh blood on her sheets and making loud gestures
at front desk.
Still we appologize 1000 times for what ever has caused this to the guest and pray
she gets well with OUR APPOLOGIES ON BEHALVE OF DAYS INN BIRMINGHAM.
Sincerely Saby Chander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I walk into the hotel a walked into an awful fool smelling place. The desk clerk was very nice but, she seemed not all there. The rooms are piss poor I asked to be transferred to another room then I get an upgrade as I was informed but, it wasn't an upgrade unless you call a room the smelled like a cat sprayed it an upgrade. Then I went to the pool there was no towels there. The breakfast I was told was god awful but, I did get a phone call in my room telling me that I won a free night but I was told it was a scam the manager told another guest so I'm never staying here again. So my over all stay here was messed up I hope they close this location down and everyone gets a real wake up call because I never felt like I was going to be killed in my sleep until I stayed there. Please someone tell me is this the new standard of hotels now a days!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn_vh, Director of Sales at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sad to know about your stay and am trying to understand how to tell ALL WORLD
HOTEL GUESTS "Please do not give PERSONAL INFO" on phone to any one without
making sure who is on the other end no matter what they say." LOTS OF STRANGE
PEOPLE CALL HOTELS AND JUST DAIL ROOM # AND GET LUCY with a talking guest.
Please be aware this is now HIGH TECH GENERATION.
However we have removed our phone from auto mode and now someone will have to ask
room # by name.
We did treat those rooms with good smell to remove pet odour.
Sincerely Saby Chander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Birmingham

Address: 1485 Montgomery Highway, I-65 EXIT # 252, Birmingham, AL 35216 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to provide Value for your money by offering caring service and clean rooms. The hotel is one of the largest in Birmingham and has recently Converted to DAYS INN. We provide superior amenities, including free 'HOT' breakfast, free coffee in the lobby, free local calls and, free weekday newspaper. Guests of this Birmingham hotel will also enjoy one of the largest outdoor pool with sundeck. All well-appointed guest rooms feature balconies, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, Micro-Fridges, Free Wi-Fi Internet and Free Parking. BAR-31(Bar & Grill) IS NOW OPEN.We also have 3 Meeting rooms for your social functions, Business Amenities, ATM etc. We are one of Birmingham's largest hotels SPECIALIZE in serving fleet accounts & Group Business• We want to earn your business with genuine caring service. We look forward to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Birmingham
Quality Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.