We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY at the Quality Inn on Montgomery hwy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Birmingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Birmingham to your Saves list
Days Inn Birmingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1485 Montgomery Highway, I-65 EXIT # 252, Birmingham, AL 35216 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
florida
1 review
“DO NOT STAY at the Quality Inn on Montgomery hwy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

Place is awful. Maids burst in my room without knocking. They could not speak english. TV would not work. Some of the lights would not work. The door was so hard to open and close that you had to ram into it. It was a run down dump.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maids received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests and the necessity of knocking on doors and waiting for permission to enter.

• Maintenance was informed of the problems you had with the Tv, lights and the hard to open door and instructed to solve the problems.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    66
    52
    85
See reviews for
86
45
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We arrived after a 9 hour drive really tired and wanted to unpack a loaded car full of valuables. We were given a room away from where we wanted because of "busses full of people" that were staying there. Our first room was full of white specs all over the floor, so we knew the floor was not vacuumed. When I complained to the manager he acted very surprised, but agreed to move us to the room next door vs. where we wanted to be moved. This room was also in need of a complete redo as the walls were dirty near the ceiling and the carpet, etc looked old with a musty smell all through the room. We woke up the next morning with sinus problems we've never had before, as we think the room was full of mold that probably could easily be seen with a black light. They did not have hard boiled eggs as we were told by the front desk that they had, so we packed up as quickly as possible and got out of there for our health's sake. The front desk did not know where the luggage cart was, so moving many pieces would have been a problem if we hadn't found one by chance. No one was going to try to find the luggage cart for us.

DON'T STAY AT THIS MOTEL UNLESS YOU WANT TO SLEEP IN MOLDY, MUSTY, DIRTY ROOMS!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty, Musty, Moldy Rooms
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Desk staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful way in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

Upon arrival, I found a dirty bathroom, a door that was hard to shut, and some exposed wires so I changed rooms. My next room was a slight improvement, but this room also had dirty spots on the carpet and terrible looking walls. In addition, there was a hole in my sheet on the bed. I had to ask the front desk for more toilet paper one day as the housekeeper didn't do her job. She also forgot to dump my trash one day. This hotel needs some major work done. The carpeting is filthy throughout the hotel, in rooms and hallways. I found trash in the halls and on the elevator. Also, found trash on the grounds outside. The plastering in the rooms is chipped off and many holes exist. One good thing I can say about the hotel is that there weren't any bugs. You can sleep here but wouldn't want to do much else.

  • Liked — No bugs
  • Disliked — Dirty carpeting and walls
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness and helpfulness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the exposed wires and problem door in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to the proper repairs.

• Maintenance received additional training in their responsibility to see to the proper, clean appearance of the outside of our establishment.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridian
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

This place was filty! (halls, bathrooms, elevator ... I can't imagine what was under the covers!) We only stayed for 10 minutes ... then left to find another hotel! Beware!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your original intent to stay at Quality Inn. I am sorry that things didn’t work out as you had intended.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

We had just arrived to vestavia from virginia and we did notice that the hotel was in its remodeling stages. Although we stayed for one night, the rooms were very clean, the front desk clerks were very helpful, and the continental breakfast was beyond my expectations. All the staff were very nice and hospitable. I have checked with other hotels and so far I can truly say, I will be staying at Vestavia Hills Hotel this coming June 2006. Thank you so much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2004

Stayed here with our softball team in May. BIG MISTAKE! The front desk did not know which rooms were clean or dirty at 5:30PM. Could not even check in on arrival b/c reservations were so screwed up. Were given keys and so was everyone else checking in that night. Two of our families had other people with keys coming in the room late at night. Rooms were barely cleaned and one had sheets with food and ants. Could be an OK place if there was an overhaul on employees. The only bright spot was a wonderful lady who was in charge of the breakfast bar. She was so delightful and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management and desk staff were approached about setting up a system that would show which rooms were ready for guests.

• The lady at the breakfast bar was informed of your comment and received our commendation in the courteous way in which she treated you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2004

We slept one night at this hotel basically because we got too sleepy to drive any further. Being winter it wasn't a party barn like the other reviewer dewcribes -- in fact, it felt creepily, dangerously deserted.
The desk person was a teenaged girl who could not understand our Australian accents and had to have things written down for her. The whole hotel, our room included, had no character or personality, and while the room was clean, it did have a bad, stale, stuffy smell. The bathroom had no exhaust fan & fogged up when I took a shower, but I didn't mind because it was also very, very ugly. The breakfast buffet in the lobby featured the usual lavish assortment of heavily sugared and over processed American packaged snack foods, but unlike most other similar places, there was not one single piece of fresh fruit to be found amongst it. The most expensive hotel we stayed in in the USA, and also the saddest. Not recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was approached about the possibility of making the establishment seem less deserted.

• Breakfast staff was approached about the possibility of adding fruits to their assortment.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Birmingham

Address: 1485 Montgomery Highway, I-65 EXIT # 252, Birmingham, AL 35216 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to provide Value for your money by offering caring service and clean rooms. The hotel is one of the largest in Birmingham and has recently Converted to DAYS INN. We provide superior amenities, including free 'HOT' breakfast, free coffee in the lobby, free local calls and, free weekday newspaper. Guests of this Birmingham hotel will also enjoy one of the largest outdoor pool with sundeck. All well-appointed guest rooms feature balconies, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, Micro-Fridges, Free Wi-Fi Internet and Free Parking. BAR-31(Bar & Grill) IS NOW OPEN.We also have 3 Meeting rooms for your social functions, Business Amenities, ATM etc. We are one of Birmingham's largest hotels SPECIALIZE in serving fleet accounts & Group Business• We want to earn your business with genuine caring service. We look forward to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Birmingham
Quality Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.