We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ick!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Birmingham to your Saves list
Days Inn Birmingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1485 Montgomery Highway, I-65 EXIT # 252, Birmingham, AL 35216 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
DUGGER
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Ick!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Our refrigerator had the last person's food still in it and then it didn't work. The room had dirt all along the tv stand and on the refrigerator casing. Everything was very worn and looked like a frat party had taken place. We've stayed at Quality Inn's before and had great experiences, this wasn't it! The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional instruction in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the non-working refrigerator in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• The staff received our commendation for the courteous, helpful, friendly way in which they treated you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    66
    52
    85
See reviews for
86
46
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

I was disappointed in the hotel. The floors were dirty and the bathroom was in serious need of a deep cleaning. There is mold on the ceiling and on the walls. The shower had soap rings and something red/brown smeared in the tub. The front of the tub is black with smears. The kick board around the walls was either filthy or missing. The bed was fairly comfortable. There are coupons and stickers in the bathroom someone stuck on walls. Guess maid never looks at the mirror or behind the toilet. I don't know about breakfast yet. I'm afraid this is going on my do not stay here list.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry that you felt disappointed in what you found.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

We take our reviews very seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is by far the worst budget hotel we have ever stayed in,it was way short of expectation levels even for a budget hotel. It was filthy,smelly and in dire need of better housekeeping staff. It appeared to be no more than a truck stop as the nice drivers powered up their vehicles at 5 AM!!! and then decided to leave at 6 AM. The whole place needs levelled!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area. I’m sorry it wasn’t the pleasant experience you had anticipated.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was approached about the possibility of having a certain parking area for trucks which would be starting up early in the morning, in order to avoid waking up fellow visitors.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011 via mobile

This place is bad! Never been anywhere worse. I would avoid this place at all costs! I had to stay here due to no other option available. Please don't make the same mistake I did. Too many cons to list. Only pro is they allow pets.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following step was taken:

• The manager was approached with your review and a study was done to see what could be done to improve our establishment in an overall way. I’m glad that our policy of allowing pets is a plus for you.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I have stayed here before and came back, it is good value for the price and is located right off the interstate. Good breakfast, clean room though a little dated. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn_vh, Director of Sales at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking time to let us know about our performance.We always love to serve
guests with friendly southern services.
I also would like to inform you that we are costantly updating our hotel with new things
and still give the Best Value under The SUN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel and I am looking back on staying there again this summer. I noticed the pool and it looks like it will make a fun day. I have to say the people working there are very friendly and helpful. Has a good location easy to get anywhere. Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn_vh, Director of Sales at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking time to let us know how we are performing.We always love to serve
our guests with friendly southern services.
I would like to inform you that we are constatly updating our hotel with new improovements
so that we can provide the Best Value Under The SUN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed here in 2010 and it was a mess then, and when we made our reservations for this year, we forgot how bad it was. This time we intend to make a note to ourselves for future reference to avoid this place at all costs. It was undergoing much need remodeling last year and it looked pretty much the same this year (with the remodeling still ongoing). The other reviews are not exaggerated. The property really needs A LOT of work to even come up to mediocre. Avoid it like the plague--I know we will.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. We have been doing an extensive amount of remodeling in order to give our valued guests the best place to
stay that we can afford.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Birmingham

Address: 1485 Montgomery Highway, I-65 EXIT # 252, Birmingham, AL 35216 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to provide Value for your money by offering caring service and clean rooms. The hotel is one of the largest in Birmingham and has recently Converted to DAYS INN. We provide superior amenities, including free 'HOT' breakfast, free coffee in the lobby, free local calls and, free weekday newspaper. Guests of this Birmingham hotel will also enjoy one of the largest outdoor pool with sundeck. All well-appointed guest rooms feature balconies, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, Micro-Fridges, Free Wi-Fi Internet and Free Parking. BAR-31(Bar & Grill) IS NOW OPEN.We also have 3 Meeting rooms for your social functions, Business Amenities, ATM etc. We are one of Birmingham's largest hotels SPECIALIZE in serving fleet accounts & Group Business• We want to earn your business with genuine caring service. We look forward to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Birmingham
Quality Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.