We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta love this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood to your Saves list
Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rates in the South
Ranked #47 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gotta love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel then changed to other lodgings to be with friends. Then I changed back to this one because I just couldn't get all the amenities they had here at the other place. Turns out other people I knew are staying here, too, so I learned my lesson.
First thing - hot breakfast. Not just Danish and OJ, but eggs and bacon and cereals and fruit and fresh waffles. Just what I need to start the day.
Then there are the rooms. They must have just upgraded this place because I haven't see this many conveniences anywhere else. The desk is double the size of other desks, and has a power strip built into the desk frame. No need for a tangle of extension cords, I could plug my phone and laptop and iPad all into a strip on the desk. And there are sockets built into the lamp for other equipment. And a bright lamp on the desk and bedside - none of those old dim bulbs.
The bed, of course, suits me to a tee.
I am very happy that I checked out of the other lodgings and came back here for the rest of my conference.

Room Tip: There is a freeway nearby, so if you don't want to hear traffic noise ask for a courtyard room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
13
4
4
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I always stay with Marriott when I travel for work. The rooms and the staff are always consistent. While staying in Birmingham there was a fire and I had an u
uncomfortable interaction with a male guest. The staff went out of their way to resolve the issue and make me feel safe. I cannot express the extent of my gratitude for their care and concern. It was more than just doing their job! They also handled the fire quickly and efficiently. Nina was awesome under pressure! Thank you to all of the staff especially Latasha, Nina and Andrew! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I and another couple went to Alabama for the Nascar Race. Hotel rates during a race can skyrocket. We found that the 2 bedroom room rate was very reasonable here. The room was nice. Had a common living area (with a fireplace) and full kitchen and each bedroom had it's own bathroom. The room was nice, my only suggestion would be that for a room that sleeps 4-5 people it might be nice to have a dinner table or bar that seats 4 too (the table only sat 3).

The included breakfast was nice as well with a decent selection of foods and beverages. The grounds were awesome with a nice pool, spa and a basketball court.

There were quite a few nearby restaurants and stores as well within a very short distance.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your suite and our convenience to local restaurants. We hope you and your friends enjoyed the NASCAR race and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent a Friday night at the Residence Inn Homewood prior to a Preview Day at Samford with my daughter. We used Marriott points for a 1 bedroom suite. The front desk staff was very friendly. Nina checked us in and was very helpful providing local information and more. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Room was quiet and we got a good night's sleep. Lots of options for breakfast in the morning (although we hit Starbucks before our campus meetings). Will definitely return if ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Greetings Momvold!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your great feedback. I will share your wonderful comments with Nina and our entire staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best of luck with your daughters college selection!! Go BULLDOGS! :-)

Jack "Andrew" Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Enjoyed the ambiance. Felt very much at home. Ample parking and lovely room with 2 flat screens. Nice breakfast and good coffee. Especially tasty eggs! Quick checkin and positive staff at the front desk. Gave us good dinner suggestions nearby.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Greetings HonduranHoustans!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate all your great feedback! We hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Birmingham!

Safe travels!
Jack "Andrew" Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn by Marriott Homewood for a week. The suites were generously sized and very clean. A full breakfast was available every morning with different selections. From Mon.-Thurs. nights, there was a manager's reception with finger food...enough to make a light dinner. The staff was exceptionally polite and eager to help or answer questions. I highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is one of my many homes away from home and I love the hospitality and they just renovated the rooms and it's better than ever. The location is off the freeway allowing access to numerous venues. There are also restaurants and shopping located within walking distance. I would rate the hotel as excellent but the renovations are still going on and there is still some clutter. Great place overall though.

Room Tip: During the summer it's best to stay on the outer wall rooms, the pool can get a bit noisy at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood

Address: 50 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Birmingham Homewood, AL hotel offers the convenience and comfort you need, whether you're with us for a short or extended stay. Located in Birmingham, Alabama, where great climate and southern hospitality reign, this hotel near Homewood, AL provides impeccable service and a welcoming environment. At our Homewood extended stay hotel, choose from studios, one- or two-bedroom suites featuring full kitchens with refrigerators, stoves and microwaves. Wake up to the smell of fresh coffee and a complimentary buffet breakfast. Take a morning or afternoon swim in our pool. Relax while watching TV or reading a complimentary daily newspaper in your room's living area. Or, mix and mingle during our hospitality hour while enjoying a beer or wine. Close to the University of Alabama at Birmingham, downtown Birmingham and cultural activities, our hotel is ideally located for both business and leisure travel. You'll feel right at home at our Residence Inn Birmingham hotel in Homewood, AL. Plan your stay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.