We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3910 Kilgore Memorial Drive, Birmingham, AL 35210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
12
13
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Checked into this property on Friday May 17, 2013 and was impressed with the great service, clean facility, friendly staff and great breakfast selection. The room was clean and equipped with a microwave and mini fridge. The location was great within 15 minutes from UAB campus in downtown Birmingham. Would I stay here again...Yes I would. Would I stay at another Quality Inn brand hotel...yes I would based on this stay. Would I recommend this hotel to others visiting Birmingham...Yes I would. Thanks for a great room for a fair price in a great location easy to find.

Room Tip: Booked this room thru choice hotels website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last 30 days and was not impressed either time. I am not a gluten for punishment but 1) this is one of the few hotels in the decent part of Birmingham that offers an airport shuttle and 2) I thought maybe my first stay was a fluke. Unfortunately point 2 didn't improve much on my second visit. Let me explain...

First stay was late March. Arrived late (around 9pm) and it was dark outside so I could not really get a good look a the property. I was given a room upstairs over the lobby (literally up the stairs as this hotel has no elevator). I had a single king non-smoking room. As I entered from the room (all have outside entries) the place reeked of smoke. The carpet was very worn, the under window heater/ac unit was dirty and disgusting and the door to the bathroom was cracked and bowed--the outer finish was literally delaminating! Thank goodness the weather was pleasant so I had no need to attempt to use the gross heating unit. The electrical outlet next to the bed had no cover and wiring was exposed. My 4am wake-up call never rang but that didn't matter since I wasn't able to get much sleep anyway as the bed was hard as a rock. When I went downstairs to catch the 5am shuttle the door to the lobby was locked and only after pushing the buzzer several times did someone come and let me in. The good news is the shuttle was ready and I arrived at the airport on time.

The second stay was earlier this month (April). This time I arrived much earlier and told the front desk I was less than impressed with my last visit and asked if I could have a decent room. This time I stayed on the second level (once again) near the rear of the hotel. In this room the heater/ac unit was acceptable and the interior better, but still there was marks and small holes on the walls that could have easily been taken care of with a coat of paint. The room was not very clean and you could see layers of dust on the lamp shades and floors next to the walls. The bed was not great but no where's near the hard slab I experienced on my previous visit. My 4am wake up call was right on time.

Once again at 5am I made the trek downstairs to the lobby only to find the door locked again, so I buzzed and after a few minutes someone came to the door--they looked like they just had woke up. The airport shuttle driver was polite and courteous and the short 8 minute ride to the airport went on without a hitch.

I don't know if the Choice Hotel folks who own the Quality Inn franchises inspect their properties on a regular basis or not, but this particular hotel is not worthy of the name Quality--I think the photos speak for themselves. Next time I will spend the extra money and stay at the Hampton Inn immediately next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The room was clean, the free internet worked well, and the beds were comfortable. The highlight of our stay was Rebecca, the daytime front desk employee. Although we woke up nearly 2 hours after the free breakfast ended, Rebecca was super friendly and brought us out some bagels and pastries. She absolutely went above and beyond the call of duty and we left in a great mood thanks to her loveliness.

If you're expecting the Ritz Carlton, don't stay here. If you want a nice, clean, comfortable room for the night at a great price, this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel several times and it never shows it's age. Very clean quiet rooms. Excellent Choice Hotels usual breakfast every morning, with lots of room to sit. Convenient to Barber Motorsports Park and many restaurants. This hotel should really be listed in Irondale to show how close it is to the track.

Room Tip: Room 164 towards the back is quiet and convenient to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

After being told the empty-looking Hampton next door was booked (???) we were so tired, we just went next door.
This hotel is older, but the lady at the front desk was so nice, and the lobby was very clean, so I decided to stay.

The room was also clean, and had been updated more than others I've stayed at for $60.

The beds were fine, no complaints there. Not Hampton beds, but we were comfortable.

We had a decent night's sleep (could've been a tad better if the fan on the heat and a/c unit could have run on constantly).

There were no loud or loitering people coming and going, never heard sounds from other rooms- all in all I feel like we got what we paid for, and I was pleasantly surprised for the price range and age of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hacket
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Upon arrival, there was a stinch in the entrance of the lobby, never did figure what it was. The front desk man was not too friendly. And when we got to the room, using normal voices apparently we woke a neighbor, very thin walls. The "no-slip" mat in the bath tup was black around all the edges as if it had not been cleaned. Upon one flush with 1 small piece of toilet paper in the toilet, the water rose quickly near the rim. By the second person using, it was clogged and out of commission for the night. The next morning my dad had to go get a plunger and fix it himself. That should have been the house keeping! The door didn't shut too well and was very squeeky. These may seem like minor things to some, but when you've driven 5-6 hours and still have 9-10 left, a great night's sleep is much needed. I would NOT reccomend this place, even for the budget-minded...that was the only reason we stayed there, but i would have been willing to pay $20 more for a more comfortable and pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 3910 Kilgore Memorial Drive, Birmingham, AL 35210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Birmingham
Quality Inn Irondale
Irondale Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.