We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced right and clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3910 Kilgore Memorial Drive, Birmingham, AL 35210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Birmingham
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Priced right and clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After being told the empty-looking Hampton next door was booked (???) we were so tired, we just went next door.
This hotel is older, but the lady at the front desk was so nice, and the lobby was very clean, so I decided to stay.

The room was also clean, and had been updated more than others I've stayed at for $60.

The beds were fine, no complaints there. Not Hampton beds, but we were comfortable.

We had a decent night's sleep (could've been a tad better if the fan on the heat and a/c unit could have run on constantly).

There were no loud or loitering people coming and going, never heard sounds from other rooms- all in all I feel like we got what we paid for, and I was pleasantly surprised for the price range and age of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    10
    10
    2
See reviews for
12
11
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hacket
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Upon arrival, there was a stinch in the entrance of the lobby, never did figure what it was. The front desk man was not too friendly. And when we got to the room, using normal voices apparently we woke a neighbor, very thin walls. The "no-slip" mat in the bath tup was black around all the edges as if it had not been cleaned. Upon one flush with 1 small piece of toilet paper in the toilet, the water rose quickly near the rim. By the second person using, it was clogged and out of commission for the night. The next morning my dad had to go get a plunger and fix it himself. That should have been the house keeping! The door didn't shut too well and was very squeeky. These may seem like minor things to some, but when you've driven 5-6 hours and still have 9-10 left, a great night's sleep is much needed. I would NOT reccomend this place, even for the budget-minded...that was the only reason we stayed there, but i would have been willing to pay $20 more for a more comfortable and pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this hotel is an awesome place to stay it is very clean and the owners and employees are very friendly and make you feel very welcome and the rooms are very nice with wonderful flat screen televisions and the continental breakfast is hot and so homemade

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had a limited budget so I compared prices on all of the options in the area and this location offered significant saving. Nightly rates were running $40 less than competitors at the same exit.

The facilities (lobby and landscaping) were clean, well appointed and maintained. My room was just what I expected - functional, clean, reasonably appointed and well maintained (there were some minor, mostly cosmetic shortcomings, but nothing that interfered with the function of the room or my enjoyment of the stay.)

Likewise, I found the breakfast to be just what I expected and a great value for a facility in this price range: there were a variety of pastries, fruit, juice, coffee, cereal, and the ever-popular waffles. Yes the eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy were pre-prepared, but they were plentiful and presented in a clean, well maintained area with plenty of condiments and such that allowed me to construct an enjoyable, hearty breakfast at no cost.

Desk staff were friendly and accommodating. I expressed at check-in that I needed a good internet connection (something I've learned pays off in budget locations) and staff helped with this as well as my specific room location request.

I'd definitely stay there anytime I'm looking for a short stay on a budget.

Room Tip: If you need a strong internet connection when staying at an affordable motel, always let front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have been staying at this Quality Inn on the hill above Sam's Club for the last several years. Ken and Nancy have made all the stays enjoyable and they are a pleasure to tslk to every time I am in town. If you want a nice location away from the hustle and bustle of the City, I would highly recommend the Quality Inn in Irondale, Alabama

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am a repeat customer and have enjoyed my stay every single time I have visited. The staff are always super friendly. The rooms are spacious,clean and include a microwave and fridge which are a plus and the beds are extra comfy. The back side of the building has a beautiful view of Irondale and the area that it is located has always been quiet.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the building on the second floor have a very nice view of Irondale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great room value especially if you are doing the "sleep and go"" like we did. The attendant that checked us in was super friendly and accomodating, a nice man in his 30's. Rooms are fine, we slept well. Breakfast was a disappointment. The attendant clearly had not even visited the buffet offerings since she "clocked in". We assessed the selection and were greeted by one lonely "egg-type" patty staring up at us in the hotel pan.

Our daughter poured a bowl of cereal only to find the milk container dry. At this point we summoned the attendant who remarked that the people who were responsble for the breakfast service had done a poor job and that they were out of milk. And without asking, she whisks away my daughters bowl of cereal and the entire cereal display.

She then told us that she had started a round of egg-things and sausage and that it would take 12 to 15 minutes. This precious time could be used, we agreed to hunt a starbucks as the coffee pot was empty too. Could understand if we had come to breakfast at the end of service time, but it was 7:35am.

Good value for the money overall. Ownership should consider loosing the breakfast and competing on super pricing.

Room Tip: If you arrive at night ask for a room with a view. Was in awe of the beautiful scenery when we walke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 3910 Kilgore Memorial Drive, Birmingham, AL 35210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Birmingham
Quality Inn Irondale
Irondale Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.