We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first choice for where to stay in B'ham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2731 US Hwy 280, Birmingham, AL 35223   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now - Save up to 15%
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Fairhope, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our first choice for where to stay in B'ham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Comfortable, quiet, upscale room decor, lots of towels, friendly staff. They have a free breakfast which is pretty good, but you can walk down the hill behind the hotel right into picturesque Mt. Brook Village and eat breakfast at the top-rated Another Broken Egg. It's a beautiful place for a stroll; you can even walk to the zoo. The hotel's location is convenient to UAB, the Summit, and I-459. We've stayed here twice and it is now our first choice of hotels for all future visits to Birmingham.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    86
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
71
46
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

Clean room, comfortable bed, free breakfast, what more can you ask for? The hotel is outside the city and traffic noise not a problem. Easy to get downtown or to the airport, about 10-15 mins to either. If I had to go back to Birmingham, I'd stay here, great deal.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Older property that has been updated in the past 2 years. Agree with all of the comments about the room interiors - very nice finishes. Most rooms have a sofa bed, along with the king bed, so you could sleep a family of 4 if needed. Breakfast is very good compared to other Hampton's that I have stayed in. Staff very helpful if needed, and very friendly. Walk next door to a few spots to eat, or a few blocks down the hill behind the property into Mountain Brook and find a good little pizza joint or a high end tavern and grill. I only list one problem - the wireless internet connection needs to be stronger as my computer looses it while I work in my room, but that's a minor issue. Stay here next time you're in Birmingham.

Room Tip: I've found the best room location is towards the back of the property, 3 floors up or higher, fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This property is located in the Birmingham, AL area. It is a clean and well maintained. However, the bedding has only sheets with a heavy comforter and I could not get comfortable; either too hot or too cold (I know this is a small issue but it did impact my sleep).

The rooms and common areas are small for a hotel of this price. The hot breakfast is excellent and Terry, the lady who prepares it, is super nice. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. There is a one-computer "business center" and a small workout room. I experienced a low to average noise level.

The hotel is convenient to various the medical facilities and less than 10 minutes from downtown. Unless you know your way around the area, restaurants are somewhat difficult to locate.

Overall, a nice hotel but expensive for the value received.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

This was my first time to Birmingham and I was very pleased with this hotel. It was located in a great spot. Next to a couple restaurants and right down the road from whole foods, a huge outdoor mall, and great restaurants. Rooms were modern and the bathroom was great, staff was nice, and breakfast was ok. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stay in a lot of Hampton Inns for business travel. This one was very nice, clean, modern and the front staff was super friendly. It may be my favorite one as far as the room decor goes. I am not a huge fan of the breakfast, but that doesn't prevent me from staying at any Hampton Inns moving forward. I actually booked a second trip here on my next trip to Birmingham next week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This past week, I took a quick business trip to Birmingham. It was suggested that I stay at this hotel and I was so glad that I did! Most Hampton Inn rooms look alike but this one was the same but different. Pretty window treatments. Darker furniture. It felt more upscale and very comfortable.

The attendants at the desk were so helpful and friendly. There were eating establishments within walking distance that ranged from fast food to a nice Greek restaurant, Taziki's, that does serve wine and beer.

The hotel had 24-hour coffee that was actually hot! It was just about perfect in my rating system!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook

Address: 2731 US Hwy 280, Birmingham, AL 35223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.