We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Oxmoor Road, I-65 Exit 256B, Birmingham, AL 35209-4705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #66 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    15
    22
    41
See reviews for
33
16
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ALPHARETTA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Try and avoid staying at this hotel. The road on the property is terrible, lots of pot holes. The room smelled like smoke, even though it was a non smoking room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are sorry you had difficulty during your stay. We are constantly trying to improve our property and the roadways are one area we are always updating. In order to combat the pot holes we request that large trucks park in a specific area.
Also, if you experience any difficulty with your room, please call the desk. Our clerks will be more than happy to correct any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The parking lot was rugged. Yellow tape around remodeling made it look like a crime scene
en I was overcharged. When I called about the charges, the manager was not helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We try to put caution tape around areas where we are working to improve the property. We have found it to be the most effective way to make our guests aware that those areas are off limits.
If your room is ever unacceptable please call the Front Desk. Our clerks will work with you to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Let me start by saying that I was with a group that had a block of 20 rooms, so this comment is not just based on 1 room. All rooms are tired and very worn! The first room I was given had bugs and body hair in the bed!!! Both rooms had stained/soiled upholstered furniture. During the night around 2:00 am & 4:30 am the telephone rang-front desk didn't know why, several of the other rooms in our 20 room block also had this happen multiple times throughout the night. The smoke alarm battery started beeping and maintenance did come and replace it about 30 min. after being called, but aren't these things changed on a regular basis so that alarms don't go off in the middle of the night? Also the photos on the hojo website are a little misleading. The breakfast area only has 3 tables and yes they do serve a "breakfast", choice of 2 bagels,bread for toast, 2 cereals, muffin, instant oatmeal, or apple; not quite what other hotels offer. Another thing not shown in photos is that the back of the hotel has been turned into weekly/monthly low cost type apartments!!! VERY RUN DOWN--WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: I do not think there are any good rooms here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are very sorry your stay with us wasn't up to par. Currently we are updating our property with new beds and other improvements. We hope you stay with us again so we can show you how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

When I booked this stay I knew that this would be a clean, friendly and pleasant stay because that is what Howard Jonhson is known for. I was sorely disappointed!!!
Me and my daughters stayed here for 2 days of doctor appointments at CHS, and it was MORE comfortable waiting in the hospital.
The property was run-down looking and so was the room . From the peeling wall paper to the clogged bathtub. Throw in the funny smell and the very unhelpful staff makes this place the WORST!
NOT up to HoJo''s standards! Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Drive around the hotel first and take a look at the backside of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We hate to hear that you were disappointed by your stay with us. Since your stay we have hired and trained new staff and have been updating our rooms. If at any tie you experience difficulties with your room please call our Front Desk. They will work with you to correct the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham

Address: 275 Oxmoor Road, I-65 Exit 256B, Birmingham, AL 35209-4705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Howard Johnson Birmingham
Birmingham Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.