We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stop, pleased” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent stop, pleased”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Passing through for a quick stop. Area was pretty decent, near an office park and the interstate. The lobby was bright and open. The halls were a worn, but clean. Room was clean and comfortable. Other reviewers are right about the elevator but I'm not sleeping in the elevator.

Breakfast was typical hotel continental, the waffles were quite good. The coffee was not - more like hospital coffee - it was pretty bad. But there is a Starbucks in the same plaza not even a 2 minute drive.

Every employee encountered was friendly, courteous, and very helpful with accomodations.
Tip for management though. Might want to find a better spot for employees to smoke. With all that glass it looks unprofessional to have to watch while having breakfast.

Grab one of those hotel coupon books at the rest areas. There is a coupon for this place for $59.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    80
    40
    37
    23
See reviews for
92
47
27
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If planning to visit Birmingham either for business or pleasure consider this location. Very secure and felt safe staying there. No loitering seen. Hotel very clean and staff friendly. Beds comfortable and many restaurants within 1 mile of hotel. Also Sams Club with gas, Walmart and other shops about 1.5 mile away. Will stay there again if we are in Birmingham. Jim

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My friend and I were passing through Birmingham on our way to texas, and decided we should make it our stop. I found the room on hotwire as an unpublished deal for ~60 bucks, and we were on the first floor, with a view of the pool. The room was comfortable, clean, the staff was polite, the conti breakfast was good. We had a fantastic stay at this place. Free parking in a well lit, safe feeling area. To be honest, our expectations were low, given the price we paid, so maybe that helped, but can't think of one thing to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a room with 2 double beds. Both beds were soft and uneven. Bathroom door latch was busted. The room was in need of renovation. The furniture is well worn. When we checked in, we had no bath towels. The free breakfast had minimal offerings. Not a 3 Star hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here in December while on a road trip south. The property was convenient to shopping, modern and clean. There is a beautiful courtyard and it was well cared for with flowers everywhere. Good night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

You'll be fine here: it's a reasonably new property, the rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast is the usual for a roadside hotel: mostly a mountain of carbs with a hot dish thrown in, but hey, it's free. Wi-fi works and is also included at no charge. We did have a small issue: a total lack of coat hangers in the closet! The loan woman on the evening shift at reception did her best to find some but just couldn't. She was very apologetic, saying people take the hangers with them: but even if that's true, why were they not replenished by the maid who cleaned the room? Anyway, we were more mystified than upset and it didn't detract from the stay. The location is at the end of a road in a shopping mall which has seen better days, but in a couple of minutes you're on the highway and downtown Birmingham is ten minutes away. And by the way, for a city which during our lifetime was being written off for its bigotry and violence, Birmingham today is lively and fun with good restaurants, bars and music. Well worth a visit, and you could do worse than making this hotel your base.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We wanted to arrive at our Christmas destination rested so spent the night here, which was half way. Long (long long long) story short, telephone in our room rang at 1am with a robo "this is your morning wake up call) message... again at 2:30am, at 4am and again at 5:30am.... EVERY 90 MINUTES! Where were the hotel employees during all this? Beats me. Every time I'd call the operator they'd say "we don't have anything on our books"... click or "it must be a glitch"... or "I don't know what we can do".. click. No "we'll get our maintenance people right on it" no "can we move you to another room?" not even "gee I am so sorry." As the former general manager of a full-service hotel with over 50 employees, I find this to be unbelievable!

Desk clerk in the am did apologize, profusely, and offered us a coupon for a free future stay. As a lady I am unable to repeat my reply.

Two more items:
1)Dresser next to the entry door to the room had either grape jelly or congealed red wine which I now have permanently affixed to my handbag, and
2)Granddaughter tells me the continental breakfast was good. I was too exhausted to eat.

Two more

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood

Address: 60 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Birmingham Homewood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood Hotel Birmingham
La Quinta Birmingham
La Quinta Homewood
Homewood La Quinta
Birmingham La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.