We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Birmingham to your Saves list
Sheraton Birmingham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tarheel
1 review
“Restaurant Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I wanted to take a moment to write this letter on behalf of Carolyn Todd. I was really impressed with the excellent service she provide at dinner. on 6 Dec.2012. The food was out standing. If am every in Birmingham for any reason I will stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Edward S,

Thank you so much for your review. It’s always a pleasure reading wonderful comments about the team at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel. Carolyn will receive the credit she deserves.

Thank you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    206
    172
    77
    61
See reviews for
118
91
43
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I always stay at the Sheraton when in Birmingham, because they allow pets up to 80 pounds and I travel with my dogs. It is an average Sheraton, however, as a result of the design, the rooms overlooking the atrium are VERY loud. I have also had many issues with getting a room at check-in as they are always "sold out" every time I have stayed. I find this annoying, especially at a Platinum SPG member. This last stay, one out of two of my rooms was not available until after 6:00PM, although I arrived at the hotel at 1:00PM to check-in! Also, I was told I would receive a call when my rooms became available, and after 3 hours still had not received a call although I was told it should be no longer than an hour.

In general, the Sheraton is a great location if you have an event at the convention center, but I can't wait for the Westin to open next door!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear jaitraveling,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and for writing a review about your stay. The popularity of our frequent traveler program was not demonstrated during your check in process and we certainly apologize that you encountered this delay. I appreciate the comments that you have shared as a loyal traveler. I will make certain to address your concerns with the Department Leaders to improve our check in processes.

Thank you for your review, and we anticipate your return (as well as your wonderful dogs) to the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The staff at the Sheraton is what makes this hotel. The shuttle driver, front desk, gift shop and restaurant servers are all awesome. Jasmine in the Sports bar is a GEM!

I had to give this hotel an average rating, however, because my room really was just "average". It was a double and seemed very cramped. The one bed was right up against the window with no room to get around it. Bathroom is very small with no vanity space. Shower temperature was very temperamental as it was either too hot or too cold. I couldn't get that "just right" temperature using the handle, and it also varied on its own. I love the make-up mirror in the bathroom, but it was loose and wouldn't stay in position on its own. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Flatscreen TV and single cup coffee maker with Starbucks brand coffee.

There is wired internet in the room for a charge, but no wireless. Wireless is only available in the lobby. I travel with my IPad and Iphone so this is not a positive for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear theokitty916,

Thank you for connecting with us!

With regards to the Internet access, it’s a pleasure to inform you that the hotel will have WIFI in the near future. While you may categorize the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel as average, I am happy to read that our exceptional commitment to customer service exceeded your expectations; Jasmine will be recognized and congratulated for her efforts.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a typical unkept, convention center hotel. Kept alive by the continuous inflow of convention attendees, it would die a quicker death if it had more competition. Hallways are littered with leftover room service trays, carpet stained and soiled throughout. The sports bar in the atrium filled with so much smoke from an apparent broken grease ventilator, that you really can't stay in there to eat. The rooms have a tiny bathroom with virtually no vanity, even though our room was an upgrade.
But the best part is the greedy manner in which they rip you off in their parking fees. It's $20 which might seem a little much for a medium sized town in the south, but that's apparently not enough profit for them. If you leave your car after 4pm, they won't give it back to you without paying another $10! So even though our car was parked for only about 20 hours, the charge is in reality $30.

Room Tip: Better to drive in daily from a nice clean and reasonably priced suburban hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidonia S, Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear janjanllc,

I am deeply troubled to hear about your experience at our hotel, and I apologize for the inconveniences. From my understanding, you’ve had a chance to speak with someone from our hotel about the issues you've addressed in your review. Our priority is to make sure that you leave happy; we failed this time. Yet, I hope that our efforts to correct your situation will give us an opportunity to have you with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you have any questions or additional concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great customer service at the breakfast buffet from Carolyn Todd! She was very friendly and took good care of our family. Thanks Carolyn for your excellent service. We thought you did a great job and the food was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidonia S, Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear SMS186,

Thank you so much for the great feedback about Carolyn Todd! I've forwarded this information to the Hotel Management Staff so that Carolyn is recognized accordingly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton Hotel around Thanksgiving with my family. I'm from Birmingham, Al but, its been 5 years since my last visit. My first night staying at the Hotel, I was having trouble with my family so, I walked to get some fresh air. That's when I saw Rodre at the desk. I went over to ask where is the bathroom and ended up talking about sports, the place I live now, women, and a lot of different personal stuff. That young man took my mind off my family problems and he treated me as if he knew me for years. I'm going to say it, he treated me like family. I just wanna say Thanks, to Woodrow Wilson as his name tag says. I called him that for a while until he told me his real name and why he had that name tag. Thanks, for the welcome home Sheraton, I miss Birmingham now. But, my overall stay was nice, My wife did complain about the atruim side not having any benches with the back rest for her back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidonia S, Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear James L,

When you stay at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel, You Are Family. Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful comment. I've forwarded your comment to management so our employee is recognized for exceeded your expectations.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a lovely stay as a stop over on our thanksgiving holiday. We love the rooms and the breakfast! The beds are so comfortable and the staff is kind and helpful. For the past two years our favorite bell attendant has been Carey Pettway. He always takes great care of us and gives the hotel great warmth with his friendly service and kind smile. Ask for him! When in Birmingham this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidonia S, Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear maslinsmom,

We are so lucky to have exceptional individuals, like Carey Pettway, working at our hotel. I will make sure to pass along your comment to management.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Birmingham

Address: 2101 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Birmingham Hotel has 123,000 sq ft of updated event space and is connected by skywalk to Birmingham/Jefferson Convention Complex. We're home to Birmingham's largest ballroom (25,000 sq ft). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.