We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Gadsden, United States
1 review
“Best Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The staff at the Birmingham Double Tree went out of their way to help those that could not secure a hotel room during the recent ice storm. I was really impressed with how the staff pulled together and worked many hours making those stranded comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. It is a great feeling knowing that guest see our efforts. Of course, the staff there was stuck like many other guest that came in stranded from the sudden ice and snow. Many people walked miles and came into our hotel to seek shelter. Our staff worked 24 hours and rotated for two days. So to still see the smiling faces from our guests gave us, the staff smiles. So thank you for making it easier for us by being great guests. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    108
    61
    38
    14
See reviews for
54
39
27
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sterrett, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

From the moment of check in to the ease of checking out, the Doubletree is a pleasant oasis to relax and unwind on any business or pleasure trip. When I need a hotel, I always look to see if there is a Doubletree available!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We can provide a nice comfortable room for you to relax in. I hope you come and visit us soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warner RObins, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had to go to Birmingham unexpectedly. I booked the Doubletree on very short notice and was accomodated like I had made my reservation weeks in advance, it was no problem. Room was well appointed, close to resturants and very quiet. Good breakfast selections as well. Will definetly stay again if the chance arises

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham.We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Doubletree. I hope you do come back and visit and get a chance to enjoy our beautiful city a little more. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the entertainment district that just 2 blocks from the hotel. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip. The room was average for the price. The problems I had with this hotel were twofold. One, I don't expect to have to pay for internet at a Hilton Hotel. Seriously, I can get free at a Hampton or a Garden Inn but not a Double Tree? Secondly, the breakfast buffet was ok, but the dinner service was very bad. Slow delivery, and just adequate food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. I apologize that your stay was just ok. We like it when guest stays are great and fantastic. If there is anything I could do during your next stay to make it more enjoyable I would be more than happy to assist. Our breakfast buffet has a variety of items, eggs, turkey sausage, pork sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, muffins, danishes, oatmeal, salmon, yogurt and about 5 or more items. So if there is anything we could do to make it more enjoyable we will let our chef know. I hope you do come and visit with us again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This Hotel was nice, but could use some attention to detail. The room has a char that was in need of replacing due to slits in the vinyl covering. restaurant service was much better than menu offerings which did not offer much for customers taste in the local area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. I am glad that you were a guest with us and I hope you arent discouraged from staying with us again. Feedback is very important to us and it is greatly appreciated because we know what improvements we can make for our guests to be happier. And our restaurant has very excellent chefs so if something is not on the menu, let us know and we will see if we can accomodate you. I am glad that you enjoyed the service from our excellent staff. I hope you visit with us again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is accessible. The staff is great. Special shout out to JD the bellman who went out of his way to acclimate me to the hotel and my room. The exercise room has the first accessibly equipped treadmill I've encountered. It actually allows you to zoom the screen to enter your choices. Great touch. Every member of the front desk staff is friendly and helpful early in the day and later in the evening, I was always treated with respect. Although they do not have a Braille or large print menu available in the restaurant or bar, or it was just not offered, the staff did a really good job of giving me the selections available, Nd they did it in an extremely professional manner.
Only one complaint and that was that on my last night I returned to my room and found housekeeping had not taken the care I received my first few days there and had not taken the time to put the trashcan out of the walkway.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello,
This is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Alabama. I am so pleased to know that your stay was great and the staff was friendly. I hope you come and visit with us. Please feel free to contact me when you make your next reservation because if there is anything I can do to help make your stay even more enjoyable it would be my pleasure to asist. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Good choice for those who are looking for an upscale hotel experience in Birmingham. Excellent staff, good food, and clean, comfortable rooms, in an area close to the medical district. Good nearby restaurants from fast food to 3 star. Good beer and wine culture in the district.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmigham, Al. I am so glad you had a chance to experience our 5 points south district which has an array of restaurants and lounge facilities. It is only 2 blocks from the hotel and does not offer any dull moments. We are also only a half a mile away from the historic district located on the north side of downtown. So its plenty of activities nearby to keep you and your family occupied with tons of fun and education. I hope you come back to visit. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Address: 808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.