We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Highland at Five Points

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Highland at Five Points to your Saves list
Hotel Highland at Five Points
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1023 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Tired of staying in chain hotels, I ventured out and chose a boutique hotel close to the Birmingham MOA. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor, so I felt comfortable selecting this hotel.

Checkin was smooth. My reserved room wasn't ready, so they gave me an upgrade to a suite with the same view of the Vulcan as per the original reservation. Only complaint was they didn't explain that the keycard was a touch to a sensor and not a swipe. Luckily the housekeeping staff at the end of the hall took pity! :)

The decor is very retro, not at all like a previous commentor described as tacky. The lobby is fresh, fun and totally delightful.
The rooms are fun in decor but very soothing. Beds are wonderful for a relaxing nights sleep. Our room was at the end of the hall and very quiet.

The martini bar in the lobby had a blues/jazz trio playing .... they could do very well on Beale Street in Memphis. The mixologist was informative and mixed a mean martini.

Breakfast was included in the room price. The morning of our stay they offered a variety of cereals, breads, sausage, eggs, biscuits, belgium waffles, fruits, juices, coffees and yogurts. Amazing!

Only drawback is the SLOWWW valet stand. We waited once for our vehicle about 15 mins. Please have more than one on staff during busy times.
I plan to stay here again when in the Birmingham area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    93
    33
    16
    14
See reviews for
25
83
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Arrived for a three night stay and golf outing. Super arrival, valet, front desk and room. The location is perfect with a walk to a variety of bars and restaurants. The club off the lobby has good music everynight and the folks that run the joint are a hoot. By the second day you're family. On top of all that the rates are great and the breakfast is free.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

The Hotel Highland is Birmingham's best kept secret. Situated in the popular Five Points area of town, The Hotel Highland promotes "expect the unexpected", and that is what they delivered. Spacious rooms, (mine had an unobstructed view of Vulcan Tower), comfortable beds, free wifi, iphone charging alarm clock sound systems, work out facilities and a filling complimentary breakfast. I enjoyed the nightly entertainment playing in the cozy street level lounge. A conference at the convention center, brought me to Birmingham. Instead of staying near the convention center I wanted to try something new. The Hotel Highland is a short taxi ride from the convention center (approx $12/one way) or the best kept secret, hop on the trolly car for 25 cents! A perfect way to take in Birmingham. With stops outside The Hotel Highland and in front of the Convention Center the Trolley is very convenient. Leave plenty of time if you choose this option as service varies.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I have traveled many places and never received such great service or felt so relaxed, The rooms were so clean, I fould myself picking up after my partner and I to keep the maids from having to do any extra work! Business or pleasure this is the place to stay in Birmingham, Alabama.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Beds were harder than I would have liked and shower did not drain but it was only blocks from Hot and Hot Fish Club and the HIghlands Restaurants which was the reason for my Birmingham visit. Staff/mamagement very nice. If you're tired of the big impersonal corporate hotels try Hotal Highland

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

The Staff was wonderful and very friendly.thecontinental breakfast was more than I expected.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
global
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

boutique property, great location, great people, great beds, great breakfast, great value.
'nuff said'.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Highland at Five Points? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Highland at Five Points

Address: 1023 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Highland at Five Points 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Highland at Five Points South is located just minutes/blocks from UAB and right in the center of all the fabulous restaurants (including Highland Bar & Grill, Chez FonFon, Surin, Ocean, and Twenty Six, just to name a few) and entertainment venues! It is THE place to be while in Birmingham! Just minutes from the Birmingham Courthouse, BJCC, Kirklin Clinic, UAB Highlands and shopping areas! With 63 amazing rooms and suites, with affordable rates that include breakfast and WiFi...it is your "home away from home". Call today to book your reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Highland at Five Points reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Highland At 5 Points
Highland At Five Points Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Highland at Five Points, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.