We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Couple Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Highland at Five Points

Save Saved
You added Hotel Highland at Five Points to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Highland at Five Points
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1023 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Delhi, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Couple Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

After two separate stays at the Highland we are more than pleased with most excellent stay both times. Super spacious room, very comfortable bedding, wonderful breakfast, and all at very affordable rates. Staff is very nice and helpful. Would stay here over and over and over.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at Hotel Highland at Five Points, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel! We are so glad your experience (both times) with us has been an excellent one, as that is what our goal is for everyone! We would love to have you with us over and over again!! We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit! Please feel free to call on us if we can ever be of assistance to you~ Thank you again, Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    65
    28
    15
    13
See reviews for
18
67
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Birmimghams Southside this place is it Staff went out of the way to make sure we had 3 rooms together - allowed for VERY Late check in on Friday rooms very clean everything in working order would definitely recommend to anyone - Great restaurants nearby like Surin, Highlands Bar and grill Hot & Hot tons of bars was perfect setting for weekend getaway. Going to take my wife here for a kid free weekend

Room Tip: public parking behind hotel that connects to hotel $4 versus $15 for valet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at Hotel Highland at Five Points, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an sweet review of our hotel! On behalf of myself and the staff, we do so appreciate your time and look forward to seeing you again in the very near future! Do feel free to call us if we can be of assistance to you here in Birmingham! Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay. The hotel is such a neighborhood gem with a wonderful ambiance. Pull up to a discrete entrance on 20th Street, hand your keys to the valet and walk in to the funky little bar and lobby. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. On arrival, we were informed we were up graded to a suite on the third floor. We loved the room, It had lots of windows which looked down on the restaurants and shops below. The room was large and decorated with taste and keeping with the period of the historical hotel. The bed slept great and it is quite obvious that housekeeping is on their toes, the room was spotless. We will be back.

Room Tip: join their frequency club
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at Hotel Highland at Five Points, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel! We certainly appreciate your thoughtfulness, as I will surely pass onto our staff~ Looking forward to having you all stay with us again in the very near future! In the meantime, please feel free to give me a call if I can ever be of assistance to you~ Thank you again, Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here on a roadtrip through Alabama and it was the nicest hotel we were in. It was just beautiful. The parking was a little inconvenient, but nothing too bad. The garage is located behind the hotel, but it has a back entrance. The rooms were clean and really comfortable. It's located in a fun neighborhood, walking distance from lots of restaurants. The breakfast the hotel provides is wonderful! There were lots of options and it was never too crowded. There's also a nice private area for computer use for guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at Hotel Highland at Five Points, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We certainly appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you stay with us again! Please do not hesitate to give me a call if I can ever be of assistance to you here in Birmingham! Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, TN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The only reason my husband and I were able to stay here was due to a friends & family discount. Otherwise, the rooms are very expensive for what you get-which is modern decor. Valet parking is your only option, so if traveling with chidren, make sure they get everything they need/want out of the car. It is a nice view of Birmingham. The hotel does offer a free continental breakfast, which includes eggs, bacon, grits, waffles, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at Hotel Highland at Five Points, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We are so glad you had a good experience with us, as we do strive to make sure everyone is happy and comfortable! In the future, please call the hotel directly, as we do run specials that are not available on the internet, but are available by calling the hotel! Thank you again and have a wonderful and blessed day~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great hotel for business or pleasure. It is located in the heart of the 5 points area close to UAB and the rest of downtown. Very old hotel building but refurbished to be a kind of a boutique property with a Indigo/W feel. I am not saying that it is up to those standards but it has that modern, hip feel. The lobby is small but nice with a great bar and bar tender.The rooms are modern and have all the things you need.(comfy bed, LCD TV, decent size bath, and it is clean. I booked for $90.00 thru website. At that price it is a BARGIN. One word of wisdom self park in the deck in the back for 4 dollars(no in and out) instead of paying valet 14.00.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at Hotel Highland at Five Points, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel, as we do strive for all of our guest to have a fabulous time while visiting Birmingham! The hotel was the original Medical Arts Building and was built in the mid 1930's, it does have some wonderful historic charm with all the modern conveniences! Thank you again for your review, as we look forward to your next visit, of which, hopefully you will stop by and say hello! Have a wonderful day~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was my second stay and my husband's first stay at the Hotel Highland at Five Points South. My husband was very impressed. Our youngest son is going to school at BSC, so we were in Birmingham delivering him back to school. It is very convenient to the college and the freeway. Great neighborhood with many great restaurants within walking distance-2 blocks or less. The rooms are beautiful, very trendy, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The TV went out in our room and they had a new one in in less than 15 minutes. I love this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at Hotel Highland at Five Points, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your repeat stays with us while visiting your son at school and for your wonderful review of the hotel! We are so glad to have you and look forward to seeing you many more times! Do not hesitate to let us know if we can ever be of assistance to you! Looking forward to see you again in the very near future! Thank you again and have a wonderful day~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Highland at Five Points? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Highland at Five Points

Address: 1023 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Highland at Five Points 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Highland at Five Points South is located just minutes/blocks from UAB and right in the center of all the fabulous restaurants (including Highland Bar & Grill, Chez FonFon, Surin, Ocean, and Twenty Six, just to name a few) and entertainment venues! It is THE place to be while in Birmingham! Just minutes from the Birmingham Courthouse, BJCC, Kirklin Clinic, UAB Highlands and shopping areas! With 63 amazing rooms and suites, with affordable rates that include breakfast and WiFi...it is your "home away from home". Call today to book your reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Highland at Five Points reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Highland At 5 Points
Highland At Five Points Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Highland at Five Points, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.