We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe the 4stars” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Richard Arrington Blvd, Birmingham, AL 35212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't believe the 4stars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel ever. The traffic noise was so bad I couldn't sleep at all. The front desk was "unaware" of this issue. The shower was the best part of this stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are aware of the challenges of being an airport property and unfortunately noise is one of them. I apologize that options such as our sleep kits that offer some noise reducing solutions were not offered to you. Thanks to your review we will have a refresher with the staff on how to be more sensitive to our guest noise concerns. We hope you will give us another try when in the Birmingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    59
    55
    23
    26
See reviews for
45
41
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel is good for a place to just stop for the night if you don't mind some slight highway/airport noise. The neighborhood is not great but appears safe. The front desk staff could be friendlier but nothing that's not overlooked easily. If you're headed east of Birmingham, the location will save you from rush hour traffic in the morning.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear our location worked out great for you, but it is our goal to be so much more than just a convenient location. We welcome the opportunity to discuss your other concerns during your stay. If you would like to contact the hotel directly we would love to hear how we can better serve you and all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

To start the hotel is in need of a renovation. The rooms are tired. The exercise room has one pike and two treadmills and a cheap fan that doesn't move the air and is dusty so hard to breath when working out. The restaurant on site is a plus as most HIE don't have full restaurants but the menu and quality of the food need help. The airline boarding pass computer only has the four major US based airlines which is unfortunately not one I was flying and when I used the computer in the business centre the printers did not work. On the positive side the front desk staff is friendly. Overpriced for what you get. I understand to find a fairly good place to eat it is a 15 - 20 minute drive form the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We regret that your stay was anything less than perfect. As with all of our guests your feedback is welcomed and we will give all of your concerns our undivided attention, in hopes that, not only will you return as our guest and experience the level of service you expect when staying at Holiday Inn, but also with the goal that no additional guests will experience less than satisfactory service and/or accommodations when staying at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had an early flight and wanted to be close to the airport, so we chose this Holiday Inn. Having read some of the reviews, of the airport hotels, we were a little apprehensive. It is located right off the interstate, but I wouldn't call the neighborhood "Very Bad", as one review did. It is surrounded by gas stations (the one directly behind it was 20 cents cheaper per gallon, than the ones on the main road) and a Hardee's across the street. It is an older property but well maintained. The lobby was nice (as was the bar) and the clerk friendly and efficient. Again, older, but nice. The room was very spacious, and attractive. (updated) It had a mini fridge and microwave, as well as a coffee maker. The bed was comfortable - even had a choice of firm or soft pillows. Our room faced the interstate, and I could hear the traffic (barely), but once, asleep - nothing. They offer a breakfast buffet for $7.99 and wish we could have tried it, but time did not permit. (ate at Hardee's, across the street) A free shuttle van is also available, to the airport, if needed. If we're ever in the area, again, would not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: Maybe a room not facing the interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that our property met all your needs. It is our hope that you will return as our guest when in the Birmingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallassee, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I made my reservation a month in advance; they didn't have a room when I got here. Finally gave me the Executive Suite. VERY BAD neighborhood. No restaurants. VERY VERY noisey! Glad I am only here for one night!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns during your recent stay with us. Being that we are an airport property we do understand that the noise level can be annoying. We are currently in the process of implementing sleep kits to aid in getting a goodnight's rest without all the outside noise. We hope that you give us another try when in the area, and take advantage of one of our kits to assure you a goodnight rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is probably ok for a short one nighters stay. And only because of its proximity to the airport. It is a very old property and while you can see some renovations, they weren't that great. The ac didn't cool very well. The beds felt like they had no support. The bed linen had that wet humidity feel even though it was only February. The bathtub needs to be replaced. The stains on the roof are showing through and a 20 bucket of Killz paint would be a nice touch. The ladybug infestation was felt . Lol. It wasn't too too bad I only killed 5. The carpet I the hallway was badly stained and the smell in corridor was horrible. However I did not smell anything bad in the room. The lobby area was nice. Very polished. The customer service was nonexistant. I felt like they were too busy to deal with me even though I was the only one at the desk. No smile, no greeting, and no Southern Hospitality.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear that your stay was an unpleasant one. We would love to hear from you so that a member of management can personally address your concerns and rectify any issues for you and all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for business - woke up early - around 7 am - to head to a conference and found that our vehicle had been broken into - via a smashed window. When the cops arrived - despite the sign on the hotel fence saying the hotel had security and video - neither were made available for police - the manager wasn't shocked so I can only guess this is commonplace here.

Since we noticed the damage ourselves it was obvious that no security had been roaming the lot at night.....really made us feel unsafe to stay a second night here - and the manager made no concession regarding our stay - just said they were sorry....

I would consider this hotel to be a safety concern.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank You for your recent review. Guest security is our #1 priority. If we can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Address: 5000 Richard Arrington Blvd, Birmingham, AL 35212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spectacular Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is known for the highest in quality service and accommodations. Located just 1 mile from the Birmingham International Airport, just off I-20/I-59 and I-459. We are consistently top rated nationally in overall guest satisfaction. This hotel offers a smoke- and pet-free environment with beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Offering meeting rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people. Our hotel features complimentary airport shuttle service, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness facility. Stay and Fly Packages are available. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is close to the history that makes Birmingham unique. Whether you are visiting Birmingham on business or pleasure, you ll find our hotel staff is here to accommodate all of your needs. We are centrally located, placing our hotel minutes from downtown and convenient to many attractions and business locations, such as Barber Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, Civil Rights Museum, 16th Street Baptist Church, Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Alabama Adventure Theme Park, Splash Beach Water Park and Five Points South Entertainment District. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers exceptional service and accommodations you have come to expect and deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.