We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Downtown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Redmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Redmont Hotel to your Saves list
Redmont Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Fifth Avenue North, Birmingham, AL 35203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Value Downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stay here quite often when we visit for work/pleasure. For less than $90/night we couldn't beat the price for the location. There were a few items missing from the room; alarm clock, empty tissue box, and although having new towels was nice- they left that fresh fuzz all over me. I do plan on staying here again, in fact I just booked another night here. I do recommend this hotel, it has that old feel with out the "historic hotel" pricing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    29
    23
    24
See reviews for
16
30
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We originally checked into a smaller room but it was a special occasion, so I opted for the deluxe room & front desk offered me a suite for cheaper so that was great. We were in town for P!nk concert & were able to walk to BJCC arena civic center. Great parking. Hotel was quiet. Everything was good except minimal hot water & supplies (towels/soaps/shampoos) were almost bare. Had to ask for much more. Overall, decent stay, would recommend the suite, anyway. Can't comment on the smaller rooms. They were way too small. Decent customer service, overall good stay, would stay again. In the suite! :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Such excellent, friendly, attentive service. Lovely, old building that has been renovated to today's standards yet maintains vintage charm. Excellent rooftop entertainment venue. Priced extremely well for what feels like a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: No tip needed; building is in a great location and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice (but older) hotel. Had great customer service and was very clean. But over priced for sure. Even had to pay additional $22.50 just for parking (which was in a very shady parking lot across the street (which advertised $5/day, cheaper than the hotel charged) I would recommend the hotel over any "budget" or "value" hotel. But for the price you could do better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

After switching rooms 3 times due to dirty rooms, the 4th one we stayed in. If we had had more than 2 hours of sleep in the last 48 we would have had the energy to find another hotel. We were planning on 2 nights but when both the toilet and shower didn't work we could not stay any longer. KIA at the front desk was gracious and kind during our brief stay. She had helped us at check in so she didn't question our reasons for leaving. It is a shame. This hotel has potential to be nice, and based on some of the reviews there must be one nice room! Needs some tlv, and a deep cleaning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I knew this was an older hotel, which was fine and I figured it would have some charm. The staff was nice but the place itself -- holes in the blanket on the bed; really dirty ventilation grate on wall, no coffee maker in room as advertised. The location was terrible -- I thought by staying downtown we would be in the midst of activity, but downtown Birmingham on the weekends is dead-dead-dead. We had to get in our car and drive outside of downtown to find something to eat for all meals.

Paid $7.50 per day for parking across the street, which was unnecessary since there was ample parking on the street right by hotel.

Close to Kelly Ingram park and the Civil Rights Institute, which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this hotel through expedia because it stated it was close to airport and had an airport shuttle. Neither were true. When we arrived it smelled, it was dirty, and not as described. I called Expedia and asked to cancel for all the above reasons. The hotel would not let us. Reluctantly we stayed. The room smelled, only two tiny towels, and sticky tables that we had to clean. We should have cancelled and paid of it and moved on, lessons learned no more Redmont and no more expedia.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Redmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redmont Hotel

Address: 2101 Fifth Avenue North, Birmingham, AL 35203
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Redmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Redmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redmont Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.