We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, But Still Nice Embassy Suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Birmingham to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Birmingham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Woodcrest Place, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Lowest rates of the year!
Ranked #29 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Older, But Still Nice Embassy Suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband, adult daughter and I traveled to Birmingham to see "Wicked" at the BJCC Concert Hall so we wanted a downtown hotel. We also wanted a 2-bedroom suite so my daughter could have her own bed and bathroom, so that narrowed our hotel choices significantly. This is probably the oldest Embassy Suites we have ever stayed in, but for the most part, well kept. Our room was very spacious, but had a large conference table in the living room area with 8 large chairs around it. We kept thinking we should hold a meeting. We love the manager's free cocktail reception and hot breakfast that Embassy Suites are famous for and except for a lack of staff keeping items stocked at the breakfast, it was very good. Check-in was a breeze although the hotel appeared full or at least almost full. Everything worked in the room except one of the beside lamps had no outlet to plug it into.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    131
    77
    70
    44
See reviews for
165
62
17
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Usually with Embassy Suites you know what to expect. This one did not live up to standards. The front desk staff was very nice, but that does not make up for the condition of the hotel or the rooms. The bed in my room was one of the worse I have had in a long time. So soft, you sink into the mattress. Even worse, the pillowcases and sheets had stains on them! I am sure they were laundered, but if you can not get a stain out, you throw the bedding away! It was gross. The living area had a couch and chair that were so threadbare and tatty, they belonged in a thrift shop, not in a hotel. The plaster on the ceiling in the shower was peeling and rain down on my head while I was showering! Totally unacceptable in an Embassy Suites. My room also faced the busy highway so I was treated to loud trucks and traffic all night long.

The hotel has a Ruth's Chris restaurant. This might be a nice option if you want a steakhouse meal, but it also means that most of the items on the room service menu are Ruth's Chris' prices! There were a few reasonable choices, but most were priced very high. In addition, on a busy Friday, it was almost impossible to park. They offer valet parking, but only for restaurant patrons! I guess the hotel guests are just second class here.

Even breakfast was not good. The clever management has chosen to put the hot buffet items in the same line as the fresh omelets. This means even if you just want the hot buffet items you are stuck in the very long, slow omelet line. Meanwhile, there was another empty buffet to the right of the line! Here's an idea... How about putting the hot items in that area so you do not have everyone packed into a single line? Even worse, the plates and silverware were not clean.

Unlike other Embassy Suites I have stayed at, I did not see a manager once during breakfast. Maybe they should check out the dirty plates, poor flow, and stale fruit. This place needs to close for renovations or change their flag. They are hurting the Embassy Suites name. The only reason I gave it a second star was the convenient location and very friendly front desk staff. However, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We just returned from a 2-day weekend stay for a family wedding event in Birmingham. This hotel and location was chosen for convenience to the many events and because of the great service and amenities of typical Embassy Suites. The bride-to-be didn't get her room until 4 pm on the day of check-in. My husband and I didn't get our room until the same time but one of our rooms was ready at 1 pm. Many other out of town guests had similar problems at check-in. Then came the onslaught of unsupervised kids. Someone must have been packing 8-10 kids per room. They were running in the halls at night, filling up their plates and wasting food at breakfast, wearing pjs to breakfast (including some of the adults...come on - at least wear some underwear under those pjs!), and getting the tile wet in the elevator and in front of the elevator from all the trips to/from the pool. These kids were obviously unsupervised, and complaints to the management were ignored. The breakfast staff couldn't keep up at with keeping clean dishes and utensils available but they did their best to stay friendly. Sunday there was no butter and they ran out of fresh fruit. I don't generally mind dogs being present, but there were several owners who let their dog bark uncontrollably much too long.

The rooms were clean enough & updated but the lighting in the bathroom could have been brighter. The front desk staff was nice and friendly at check-in and we used the shuttle.

We won't stay at this particular property again, and I also plan to let Hilton know about the experience we had here. We have eaten at this Ruth's Chris on a previous occasion and it was delicious and had great service. But I probably won't return.

Room Tip: Get something away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We booked this hotel for a weekend getaway with our kids. Number one on the list was the swimming pool. When we arrived, the water was cold. I had called ahead of time and was told the pool was heated and warm. We were very disappointed to say the least after driving 4 hours. It seemed like the hotel was the local daycare. People were coming in and dropping off lots of kids. One woman was the central drop off point, however she wasn't watching any of the kids. The managers reception was very crowded. My husband waited in line approx. 45 minutes each time. After waiting in line twice, it was over. The kids were out of control in the pool area. I reported it to management, but nothing was ever done. On day two, we were hoping for a better experience. Breakfast was good. The hotel was beautiful. The hot tub was closed for cleaning on the second day. We were told it would be open later in the day. However, it was never opened back up. This was a big problem since the pool water was so cold. On the second night, the pool daycare seemed to open back up. People would come in and drop 3 or 4 kids off each to this one woman. There was one adult to about 30 kids. We once again reported it to management. Nothing ever happened again. The noise level was so loud it would give you a headache. The hot tub was not reopened after asking several times. Managers reception was the same as the night before. Horribly long lines. We finally just gave up and went to our room. The hotel was nice, but it was absolutely a waste of money for our weekend get away with our family. I would never go back to this hotel again. I wish I would have chose a different location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

Had a problem with my reservation at a different property. The front desk took care of it and followed up to let me know it was done.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffee Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here, it was only for one night, but that was enough to see that it was a nice hotel. I was expecting your average stay at any hotel, but was quite surprised once we checked in. The inside of this place is amazing. There is a large koi pond woven throughout part of the lobby. There are tons of plants and large trees throughout and a waterfall as well. It's a really great atmosphere. My 2 year old son would have stayed and watched the fish the whole time.
We stayed in a king suite, with a comfy bed and a separate living room area with a tv. It was nice that the room had 2 tvs, one in the bedroom and another in the living room area. I didn't notice anything in particular about the room that was nasty in any way. My husband said the carpet had hair and things on it in the living room but it was more like the vaccum cleaner just couldn't or didn't pick it up.
All in all, we would stay there again just for the nice atmosphere in the lobby for my son. We didn't have to stay cooped up on the hotel room and could enjoy just relaxing in the lobby area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOUGLASVILLE
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

great hotel with Ruth's Chris in house - too expensive for "normal" dining but great for special events. Managers reception and breakfast was very good. WiFi a problem in that web site said $1 a day but logging on said $10 and even though we were Hilton Honors we were not the right level so we skipped it and probably won't be back. $10 a day to check email is too much.

Room Tip: some rooms are smokey so beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Birmingham

Address: 2300 Woodcrest Place, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Southbridge Office complex off of the Red Mountain Expressway, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale, all-suite hotel in the Birmingham area. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception served daily. Three miles from UAB Campus, St. Vincent's Hospital, the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Civil Rights Institute and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.