We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average, a bit disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Resource Center Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just average, a bit disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I picked this hotel because I am a priority rewards member and I can usually rely on HI to be consistent in the quality of lodging but I feel this one fell a bit short. We are a family of six (4 children 2-8yrs). We stayed in a two queen suite with a pull out sofa. It felt super damp when we arrived, smelled funny and took about an hour and a half to cool off. The sofa sleeper was unusable. The springs were broken and the mattress was so thin it felt like you were laying right on the support structure.

We only had three towels and needed to request more. It seemed strange for a room that sleeps six to only have three towels.

The walls were dirty and with a quick wipe were easily cleaned.

That being said, there were some positive aspects to our visit. Tiffany at the front desk was superb and quick to help. She was a true professional. She was very friendly and made us feel at home right away. The pool area was great and very clean. And while the room may have needed some TLC, the linens were clean and the beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us valued comments. The pullouts are being replaced and I understand how frustrating it can be when you have children and the bed doesn't work properly.
I will pass on the positive feedback to Tiffany and others as well.

Thank you again and have a safe 4th of July,

Mike Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
15
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were in the city for a 3 day conference. First, it is VERY hard to find. I am sure there are signage mandates that keep it that way. Just get ready to HUNT!

Walked in our room and the bathroom floor was damp and slick. Have you ever skated and couldn't keep your feet together? That's how is was. We went down to talk to the desk about the problem and they promised to check it out since we were headed to a meeting. When we got back it was about the same, so we went down AGAIN and asked for an armful of towels to cover the floor so we would not have to have a safety issue with the slick floor. I am not sure if it was some kind of wax and then the humidity from the air conditioner added extra moisture.....

Then, the next day after the meeting was over, we got to our room about 3:45 ready for a nap and the room had not been cleaned. Not please about that since we had been out of the room since 9:15. We left for a few hours hoping it would be clean when we got back and found the soap had all been collected and none put back along with carpet that had not been vacuumed. Guess what?? Another trip downstairs to get soap. oh... and coffee also. We had a one cup coffee pot and the maid and left the 4 cup packs. Geeze!!

Just seemed that things were just "off" all weekend.

The POSITIVE comment I will gladly report is that there were 5 bus loads of baseball players and we never heard a peep. Congrats to awesome parental/coaches for well mannered young men.

Room Tip: I would check room out well for cleanliness and any other issues before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear txfrmgrl,

I appreciated a Senior Contributor giving valued feedback to us. I apologize that the floor was slick for you and your party. I can see how this can be an issue. I will look into other ways of servicing the floors. I am sorry you had to make trips to the desk for things that should've been correct in your room. For these inconveniences, I have awarded you Priority Club points to your account.

Thank you again for the feedback and hope to see you in the future,

Mike Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went there with friends and loved it so much we are going back. It was exceptionally clean and was off the main road and very quiet. Breakfast was very nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. Plenty of good restaurants in area along with good shopping and salons for the ladies. Was able to drive down back road to Barber and miss all the traffic to the track

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and comments. We are grateful that you took the time to let everyone know about the experience you had at our Holiday Inn Express. We will see you when the next race is in town.

Mike Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here in the past and was pleased...this time not so much. Condition of room was gross! Stains on everything, walls and furniture. Would suggest taking room out of commission and performing a good cleaning before the next guest. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. We will look at the room and fix the defects necessary. We are thankful that you are a loyal Holiday Inn guest and hope that you continue.

Mike Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohatchee, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel! It's clean, modern, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The free breakfast in the morning is outstanding. I agree with other reviewers that the entrance to this hotel can be hard to see from the highway, but other than that everything is great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. I am glad you found the hotel alright. I know it can be difficult to find us at times. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. Can't wait to see you again on your future trips to Birmingham.

Mike Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magee, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We go to Talladega every race. We always stay at this hotel. The employees are always fantastic and when we arrive call us by name. Karen in sales has always worked well with us on our accomidations. Tiffany and Charity have always been great to us. There was 2 new clerks Hannah and Denise that went out of there way to make us feel welcomed. We'll be back in October.

Room Tip: Off the beaten track. Always quiet. Have access to gym next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments. I hope the race was a good as your stay! I will make sure each of our team members know how they made your stay with us enjoyable. Have a great summer and we will see you at the fall race.

Best Regards,

Mike Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have been staying at this property for the past 4 years for business and it is heads and shoulders above all the other chain properties. They seem to attract the best staff and maintain a high level of service each time I stay here. The rooms are very modern and seem to be in "New" condition everytime I arrive. Special compliments to Tiffany Mosely at the desk she always greets me by name and acknowledges me like someone I have known for a long time. Her proffessionalism shows a love for her job and a path for success.

CE

Room Tip: Corner suites are extremely large and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear CE,

Thank you for the generous feedback. We are glad we can be your home away from home over the last four years. I will relay your kind words to our team member Tiffany. Thank you for allowing us to serve you when in Birmingham.

Best Regards,

Mike Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness

Address: 156 Resource Center Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham Inverness 280 Experience southern hospitality at our charming hotel in Birmingham, Alabama, located on Hwy 280 right off Interstate 459. This Birmingham hotel is situated near several Alabama attractions including the famous Barber Motorsports, Porsche Sports Driving School and Talladega Super Speedway, which houses a 143,000 seat raceway and is adjacent to the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum. Families can appreciate this Birmingham hotel's easy access to several popular family-friendly Birmingham attractions including Legion Field, the Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame, Vulcan Park and Alabama Adventure Theme Park. For a look back into history, guests can visit the Civil Rights sites that mark the South s struggle to embrace diversity. Monumental sites consist of the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, Kelly Ingram Part, and the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute. Unlike other Birmingham hotels, the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Hotel provides business travelers with several quality business services, which include on-site meeting rooms and a 24-hour business center. High-speed, wireless Internet access is also available. During your Birmingham vacation, enjoy our choice hotel amenities such as an indoor pool & whirlpool, free Internet access and a complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Birmingham hotel deals and rates and book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.