We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place with wonderful amenities and attentive staff....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Grand Ave, Birmingham, AL 35226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Golf Package
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Fl
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place with wonderful amenities and attentive staff....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent six nights at the Ross Bridge Resort last week as our daughter was being married in Birmingham and the reception was at Ross Bridge. Everything was perfect. The food at the reception was phenomenal and the presentation was lovely. The staff in the hotel could not have been more helpful. I had a facial that was heavenly in the spa and we enjoyed the pool immensely with the children that were in town for the wedding. The grounds are immaculate and we enjoyed the nightly bagpiper that played on the terrace and then walked around the resort.
We are going back for a return visit! Always check the AAA rates as there are specials that make visits reasonable.

Room Tip: Pool view is wonderful, or golf course. Nice balconies all around. Spacious rooms and baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    120
    48
    17
    10
See reviews for
73
118
13
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I spent three days at this resort on business and had a wonderful time . The rooms are nicely appointed and the restuarant and pool were above average. I played the golf course at the resort as well as both Trent jones courses at oxmoor and had a perfect long weekend. The Ridge course at Oxmoor is better based on bent grass greens versus the valley course. The Ross Bridge course is spectacular.
Out of the way resort for rest and relaxation of the highest quality!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

For the past three Labor Days we have stayed at the Renaissance for the long weekend. The staff are friendly and helpful. The Grille at the Club House has wonderful food. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is perfect for both young and old.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed at Ross Bridge several times in the last few years. It is a beautiful resort with luscious landscaping and well-appointed rooms. Each room has a private balcony with iron patio seating and views of either the pool or golf course. The mini-fridge in the room is a major plus when traveling with the family. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the room is always very clean. The toiletries are Aveda products, which I LOVE. Only negative on the rooms is that the walls are THIN...we were awoken by a group of extremely noisy children.

There were some changes on this trip that did disappoint. They normally have luxurious spa robes in the closet for guests to use during their stay. They have stopped that amenity and when I called to ask about it, no remedy was made by the staff to accommodate. It may sound silly, but those robes were one of my favorite things about staying at Ross Bridge. We had some other glitches with their normally stellar customer service. Quality of food from room service did not match the price they are charging. Don't order the pizza, made my husband and daughter very sick.

Ross Bridge has a beautiful pool with plenty of seating and a super fun slide for the kids. No issues with chair hoarding here! My negative with the pool is they do not allow any outside food or drinks into the area. Very strict about this and I understand their purpose is to make money. But, again, for what they charge for poolside food and drinks, you would have a higher expectation of taste and quality. Example, a SnoCone for a child was $4.00 and I watched the bartender scrape ice cubes off a dirty black plastic mat and use that ice to crush into the SnoCone Ice...it was disgusting. Their prices aren't reasonable for what they are serving.

Overall, we will go back. We live less than ten minutes away, but when you are in Ross Bridge's beautiful setting, you forget the laundry piled up at the house :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

The resort is absolutely beautiful. It has an old world feel mixed with modern touches. The staff is extremely helpful & nice. A girl a the front desk spent 20 minutes printing directions to restaurants & shopping areas she recommended. The golf course is amazing. It is now my husband's favorite, and he has golfed at many top courses. Stay here if you have the chance. You will not be disappointed!!! Oh, did I mention there is a strolling bagpiper at dusk?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I am not a golfer but my husband is and enjoys the golf at this resort. The spa is nice and the food is good. I especially enjoyed the friendliness of the staff. I will return to enjoy this facility again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Really nice grounds. Lobby nice - secluded area that makes a great relaxing getaway. Guest rooms are okay- linen needs to be updated very soon- shows wear & age. I would return here again. Try to get a room with a view other than looking at valet parking drop off otherwise balcony is of no use.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 4000 Grand Ave, Birmingham, AL 35226
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the beautiful rolling hills and experience one of the finest hotels in Birmingham, Alabama. Secluded from every day cares, yet close to a vibrant city, the Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa embodies comfortable sophistication and the casual elegance of a royal retreat. The plush guest rooms at this AAA Four Diamond Birmingham, AL hotel include balconies overlooking stunning grounds and a signature pool featuring enchanting waterfalls and fountains that will truly amaze you. Boasting the third-longest golf course in the world, the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail course is highlighted by sweeping majestic views of the surrounding foothills. Stimulate your senses at the lavish 12,000-square-foot European spa located inside this hotel is exclusively designed to ensure complete relaxation and tranquility. Experience this Birmingham, AL hotel’s luxury and discover a delightful escape at Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort And Spa
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Hotel Birmingham
Renaissance Ross Bridge Resort
Renaissance Ross Bridge Hotel
Renaissance Birmingham
Birmingham Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.