We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark

Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark
20 32nd St N, Birmingham, AL 35222
205 324 1911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 43 attractions in Birmingham
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historic iron manufacturing facility
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
185 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Bizarre attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

OK, I know it's free. So it is cool to wander around this site using a map supplied by the visitor center. Plus, I like the fact there isn't anyone to tell you to move on or to stay on the path. As an engineer, it was great to see.

However, the place in October is set up for a haunted trail. Made it fun to see the dead bodies and coffins all over, but the path was difficult to impossible to follow. We spent a lot of time figuring where to go next and found other people who were lost and wandering around.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    49
    14
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Birmingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Sloss Furnaces is a very unique place and you can feel the history as you wander around under its rusty pipes. Former mayor Larry Langford called it an eyesore and wanted it torn down. Well, he's in jail now and the buildings are still there... It is usually very quiet and a little spooky, especially inside the blower hall. It used to be that you could climb on top of the machines and even to the very top of furnace #2, but they seem to have closed off those stairs and ladders, which is a shame. It's a great place to take pictures.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Totally cool. A great look at where Birmingham came from.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

If it weren't where it is, Birmingham might not be as big or successful as it is today. Birmingham was built because of Sloss Furnace.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We visited Sloss Furnaces because of its ghost stories. We did not see any ghosts but we did learn a lot about the workers and the work done here on our self-guided walking tour. We're from Pittsburgh, "The Steel City", and when the steel mills closed, they knocked them down and built a mall. So to be able to tour a site like this was fascinating. We found it a little strange when we came across a woman setting up for a wedding. She said it was the 14th ceremony/reception held there this year. She told us that Sloss meant so much to the people of Birmingham that of course people would want to get married there. It made sense. There wasn't an entrance fee but donations are accepted.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Maybe Ugly to You but......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Sloss Furnaces is one of the most unusual historic sites I have ever visited. It feels like the last shift just walked out and left the massive facility to speak for itself to future generations.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark also viewed

 

Been to Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark to your Saves list