We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Points” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Inverness Center Dr, Birmingham, AL 35242   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now - Save Up To 15%
Ranked #3 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Points”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel in the last 2 years. The Breakfast and Manager Dinner were very good. For a Southerner, the pot of grits was nice ( a little thicker than I fix but still good) and the sweet Tea was great. The room was clean. The only issue was that the shower stall needed some cleaning attention. The grab bar needed to be cleaned where the connections are to the shower wall. This was only seen IF you are inside the stall, from that angle. I happened to come in to my room when it was being cleaned. I pointed this out to the housekeeper and she cleaned it.
The hotel is in a very good area. It seems safe and has many nice shops and restaurants near by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSBIRMINGHAMGM, Manager at Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
I appreciate your comments about our hotel and was glad to hear that the housekeeper was able to remedy the small cleanliness issue. We always strive and emphasize the attention to details and I am glad that you pointed it out so we can fix it for the future. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate you choosing to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    44
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
75
31
9
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying near Birmingham. Friendly staff, nice rooms, quiet location. Good full breakfast every morning. Free Wi-Fi was a nice addition. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again when in Birmingham area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSBIRMINGHAMGM, Manager at Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments on our hotel and that you would recommend us to other travelers! That is wonderful to hear and very much appreciated. Hope to see you again on your next trip the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Simply, I love Homewood Suites. It is such a great value for the dollar. The staff at this hotel was great. They quickly made me feel at home. Unfortunately, the mattresses in the room were way past their useful life and badly in need of being replaced. Extremely quite location and close to tons of restaurants and groceries for long term stays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSBIRMINGHAMGM, Manager at Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
I appreciate the comments and we are being renovated in 2014 and that should remedy the uncomfortable mattress. I am glad that you have continued to stay with us we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, CA, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our family of four adults had a great weekend staying at the Homewood Suites while attending the Talladega 500 in Oct. Accommodations were great, nice and clean, mold free bathroom, clean dishes, everything worked. Only negative is the furniture is a bit bare. Not worn, just not much of it. Breakfasts were great. Lots of variety and all very fresh. The entire hotel shows a lot of pride take and returned. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSBIRMINGHAMGM, Manager at Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments and kind words about our hotel. I understand that this was your first stay at our hotel for the race and I am glad you chose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The rooms were quiet. Sprint did not get good service in the halls or room unless stood by a window. I will be staying at this hotel again on my next business trip to Birmingham.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSBIRMINGHAMGM, Manager at Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review our hotel. I hate that Sprint service did not work very well but glad that it won't affect your choice to use our hotel in the future. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Overall nice room. We stayed in a 1 room suite. Breakfast was acceptable.
We stayed on the 2nd floor and it smelled of smoke in the hallway. It was pretty strong. Our actual room did not smell though.
We traveled with my 15 month old and she had a bite on her leg when she woke up. I guess it was a flea bite since it is a pet friendly hotel. This is not the first issue we've had with bugs in hotels though.
Sadly I would not stay again, simply because it is pet friendly. I will no longer stay somewhere pet friendly even though I love pets and have my own. I just don't believe hotels can keep up with which pets are clean or not and cannot take proper action to clean rooms appropriately.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSBIRMINGHAMGM, Manager at Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel and want to assure you that each room is cleaned by an outside company prior to the room being rented again to the next guest. I hope that you will come back again on your next visit to Birmingham and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillsville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights and had no regrets. One guest was in a wheelchair and the two bedroom handicap accessible suite was so well-suited to her needs. The entire suite was handicap accessible and it made her stay so much more comfortable. The rooms were big enough for everyone and very clean. The breakfast was amazing. It accomodates any diet you can imagine. The grounds were beautifully maintained and housekeeping was prompt and friendly. Verron checked us in and he treated us like old friends. He smiled the entire time and was a great conversationalist. Thanks Verron!!! I would not hesitate to stay here again if I ever visit Birmingham in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSBIRMINGHAMGM, Manager at Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
I am so glad to hear that your stay and experience was a positive one. I have shared with Varron your comments and I am glad to know that on your next trip in to town you will stay with us. Thanks again for stay with us and taking time out to review our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness

Address: 215 Inverness Center Dr, Birmingham, AL 35242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Birmingham-South/Inverness hotel is situated just 15 minutes from downtown Birmingham and Hoover, Alabama. We offer a central location near some of the area's best restaurants, shopping outlets and attractions. Whether you're seeking Birmingham hotels or Hoover hotels for an extended stay business trip or a leisure break, you'll love that our hotel suites are close proximity to all the local attractions.When you stay at our Birmingham hotel, you'll find yourself faced with a range of dining options, so you'll never go hungry! Enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast buffet each morning and come home to our Welcome Home® reception in the evening, Monday through Thursday, where you'll find beverages and light snacks on the house. Or if you want to explore Birmingham's range of culinary options, you'll find loads of restaurants serving a diversity of food types, including local Alabama delights, fine contemporary cuisine and all the regular fast food outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness Hotel Birmingham
Homewood Birmingham
Birmingham Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.