We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jim Deerman's Barbeque

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jim Deerman's Barbeque
2444 Palomino Ln, Birmingham, AL 35214
205-798-3565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #495 of 830 Restaurants in Birmingham
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Good fried pickles, salty but good. All was just 'ok' and we thought a bit too pricey for what we got. It filled the empty tummy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Needs better management to take control over all areas!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

On most of our visits here when ordering something we get told " We're out of that" and it's not even like it's late in the day to where it would be reasonable. The food is not consistent ..one time it will be good the next it will be total different. If you have something in mind you should call to make sure they have it. The workers act like you are interrupting their day and would rather be on phone or talking to people they know there. Much better Consistent BBQ restaurants are close enough by.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Will never go back!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I placed my order at 5:50 ( it's on my ticket) It also was a call in order. They told me to be there in 15 min. I got there at 6:10. It wasn't ready. I sat there untill 6:30 then went and and told the cashier How long I had been waiting, her reply was "CAN'T YOU SEE I AM BUSY !! For the price I paid you would think the service would be better.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didnt like the bar-b-q ribs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I ordered a slab of ribs from Deermans bbq and they were horrible,It was just a waist of a 20 dollar bill,The ribs had no taste at all,it just wasnt good.Iwont be eating there again!!!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Authentic BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

My wife and I stop at Deermans BBQ, which has moved to a new location, 2444 Palamino Lane,  the 1644 builiding is no longer there, anyway we travel through that part of birmingham every year and make it a point to stop, friendly service and EXCELLENT BBQ, we rank Deermans as one of the best BBQ restaurants we've ever tried!  Everyone should check it out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Deerman's Barbeque also viewed

 
Birmingham, AL
 

Been to Jim Deerman's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim Deerman's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.