We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Enjoyable Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Birmingham to your Saves list
The Westin Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd. N., Birmingham, AL 35203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kennett, Missouri
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“A New Enjoyable Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a relatively new property. My wife and I enjoyed our overnight stay. The room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Everyone, front desk, the valet staff, the porters, and the maid were all very efficient and accommodating. The bed, as usual for a Westin, was very comfortable. The room was quiet. We got a good rate with Hotwire so our room had a view of the parking lot, but we did not mind. My wife especially liked the lighting in the bathroom for putting on her makeup. The shower was great. I was able to hook up my computer to the television with their HDMI port and watched some television shows that we brought. I did not like the carpeting design, but my wife said it was supposed to look modern. Perhaps it did, but I did not like the color or design. The elevators are zippy. The valet parking was about $22. I would return to stay at the Westin if I got a good rate. We did not use any of their exercise facilities nor did we need at their restaurant. The Wi-Fi is not free here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello Jim T,

First I would like to thank you for taking out the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay. Our heavenly beds are so heavenly aren't they? :) We hope to see you again soon.


Be Well,

Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    56
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
31
41
8
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I were in town for the Talladega NASCAR race and I booked this hotel for $90/night through Priceline. The listed price was $190/night. I would not pay that much to stay here. The hotel is new and fairly nice, but not near as nice as some Westin properties I have seen. Front desk staff was somewhat rude. Rooms are kind of plain for a four star hotel, but the beds were fairly comfortable. Waterfall showerhead in shower and soaps and shampoos were nice. No free wifi in rooms, but free in the lobby. Don't pay the hotel $12 to self park. It is $8 in the adjacent parking garage that is connected to the hotel. I would have given 4 stars instead of three if the staff had been a little nicer and if the hotel offered free in-room wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Dan7667,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Be Well,

Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I loved this hotel. The property itself was relatively new and nice. The standout feature was the room. I had a King. There was great desk space. The best lighting I have seen in a hotel foom in years. An abundance of appropriately placed lamps with good wattage, including an actual traditional desk lamp. Plenty of outlets all over the room. Several by the desk. Outlets under each nightstand. More outlets on every wall. Spacious bathroom (but shower was odd - very modernish and no door).

I thought the room was fairly priced. Valet parking was overpriced. Everything else met or exceeded expectations.

Green Features: Good. They had regular trashcan and recycle trash bin for the desk.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello Elaine H,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Be Well,

Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a newish Westin hotel and is very clean and modern. It's located near the convention center so good location for that, but a bit too far from the medical center if that is your destination. The rooms were not as quiet as I would have hoped, lots of noise from adjacent rooms could be heard through the walls and the room doors slam quite loudly through the night. The bed is the typical very comfortable Westin bed and the rooms were well appointed and spotless.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear EricF,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Be Well,

Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a very nice property. Feels very new. Front desk staff was super friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. My only complaint was actually about the Pub Restaurant attached to the hotel. It's a nice enough restaurant, but they forgot to bring my order for both dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hello EJG4,

Thank you for your kind review about our staff and property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize about some of the inconvenieces you experienced during your visit. We hope to see you again so that we can make this right.

Be well,

Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I wouldn't give this hotel anything over 3 stars. It's extremely overpriced for what you (don't) get. First of all, I was not treated as a Starwood Preferred Guest because we "got a good deal" (we were in town for an event and in one of the rooms set aside for our group). So,initially we we're put in a room (view of parking garage) with a broken toilet! Then, we were moved to another floor (after I had unpacked half our clothes and generously tipped the bellboy). In the new room, there was only one paper cup for coffee (2 in our room). When I asked for more, I was told someone would deliver it right away,but no one ever showed, so I had to go downstairs to buy a $4 latte which was lukewarm. Had dinner in hotel restaurant which cost us over fifty dollars for a hamburger, fish and chips and two microbrews! [Come on BHM, you are NOT NYC.] My fish n'chips were horrid with a strange taste, maybe garlic. Also I detested the cole slaw which came with my meal--so many onions My eyes watered--really disgusting. Loud, lots of people. No room for us at a table so we sat at the bar. I watched the bartender use a straw to remove debris from a shaker, then she did the same with the concoction she just poured! I felt sorry for the couple who ordered 3 shots between themselves. I actually observed a red thing floating in one of the shots! Pretty shabby considering they were charging13$ each! Why she didn't throw it out and wash out the shaker is beyond me. There are charges for valet parking ($25 per day + tips) and daily internet access($10). Also, no one tells you until you check out that there a 15 percent tax added to the bill! The rooms were fine with heavenly beds. Workout room was OK as well. The rack rate for this hotel is ca. $350 which I consider a joke! This is the worse Westin I have ever stayed at. To say this hotel is "adequate" is being very generous. However, one good thing: a nice young man at the front desk took off our room charge for the dinner--I appreciated that, so it wasn't a total disappointment.

Room Tip: You won't get a nice room if you book a group rate, even if you are a Starwood Preferred guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear 4vicci,

Thank you for writing a detailed review of your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for all the inconvenieces you encountered during your visit. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and it looks like we might have dropped the ball on this one. I would like to discuss this further with you. Please contact me directly at angelica.thomas@westin.com. I look forward to speaking with you.

Be Well,

Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is connected to the convention complex and therefore is able to serve large groups. The hotel is consistent with other Westin's; the beds are comfortable and well appointed. The location is right off the freeway, but there didn't seem to be any residual road noise. When visiting Birmingham I'd choose this property again if the rate was competitive. Self parking is a bit of a hassle as it's a deck and guests are directed to park on certain higher levels.

Room Tip: Consider valet parking option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello ATLsoccerdad,

Thank you for taking out time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,

Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Birmingham

Address: 2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd. N., Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Birmingham opens in January 2013. Our hotel is located in The Marketplace, an upscale dining and entertainment complex and is nearby several popular downtown destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.