We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Terrific Hotel in Downtown Birmingham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Birmingham to your Saves list
The Westin Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd. N., Birmingham, AL 35203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Value and Terrific Hotel in Downtown Birmingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Hotel is very new. Rooms are well appointed. Staff is super helpful. I was there for business. Fitness room has several treadmills, bike, and elliptical. There is a multi-weight machine, two benches, a rack of free weights, floor mats, yoga mats, resistance bands, and a few jump ropes! Nice job! Having the Todd English P.U.B. in the hotel is fantastic since there isn't much in downtown Birmingham. The Brazilian steakhouse opens soon too. The Octane coffee bar is attached to the hotel. Great coffee. All in all, a great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear TravelingAdvocat,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We loved reading about your positive experience and your local area tips are great. Thank you for mentioning our on site restaurant Todd English P.U.B and Octane Coffee Bar. I'm also happy to hear that you had a chance to check out the Westin Workout Fitness Studio. We hope to be able to serve you again soon.


Be Well,

Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    65
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
46
10
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We travel a lot and this Weston exceeds any expectations we had for a really quality, well managed, immaculate hotel. From check in to check out, everything was top notch. We had wonderful service at check in, met the best, friendliest bar tender who could make any drink special and worked with the best concierge we have ever experience. Our king room was well appointed and very, very comfortable.

Just a great hotel

Room Tip: Great layout of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

On January 28 2014, the city of Birmingham was slammed with an uprecedented winter storm that rocked the entire Southeast. The entire city shutdown and panic ensued as residents were trapped in cars due to weather and highway gridlock. Unfortunately, many people were unable to secure safe and warm shelter forcing them to sleep in cars or walks miles in the storm to reach home.

All my business meetings were cancelled and I, too, was trapped in Birmingham. Luckily, I was booked at the Westin Birmingham and learned what "going above and beyond" truly meant in hotel hospitality. Not once during the city's shutdown did I experience any discomfort or interruption in hotel service. The entire hotel staff converged to ensure we were all safe, comfortable and well cared for during this crisis. Under the leadership of hotel manager, Caesar Serna, hotel guests ate and slept well even though the hotel staff worked 24 / 7 with no sleep and unable to return home to their own families.

And every single person on staff from Mr. Serna to Micheal Andrews, Karisham Mahtani, Gabrielle Jenkins, Ugene Sanders and so many more staff whose names I regrettably did not obtain, provided exceptional customer service with a BIG smile and an even bigger upbeat spirit. One would have never guessed the hotel staff were tired or upset despite the panic sweeping the entire city. And the comraderie of the staff who supported one another was a testament to the hotel's excellent management. I witnessed and experienced valet and Executive staff serving food to guests at the hotel restaurant - all with a smile and not ONE complaint about their own situation.

As a result, I experienced a 3 day break from work where I relaxed, slept and ate. I cannot thank the Westin Birmingham staff and their managment enough for turning a winter tragedy for the city into one of the warmest hospitality experiences I've ever had. Even my boss who is a Hilton Honors devotee remarked that he might change loyalties after experiencing the Westin Birmingham!

I'll never stay anywhere else when I'm in Birmingham. Thank you so much Mr. Serna and team!

Lien Bragg

Green Features: Westin Birmingham offers a Green program and additional bonus points if you opt in.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I can't say enough wonderful stuff about this hotel! I was pleasantly surprised by it when I arrived. It is newer and the rooms are great! They have some extra room in them as the mirror in the bathroom is the best if your a woman! (Can I say GREAT lighting!!)
I also want to make sure and mention that the staff here is the best I have ever experienced! They all have smiles, are pleasant, as well as very helpful!
I actually had a situation were my suitcase did not make it into my car before I pulled away from the hotel and I had to go to the client first and then was going to the airport. I called and told them I did not have it and they were so responsive! The assistant manager even called me and asked were I was and that they would bring me my suitcase to me that there was no reason to come back to the hotel! Most places would have told me thy had it and I could come get it when I could! not here!
I just can't say enough about the staff!!
There is a Pub in the bottom of the Westin and it has good food but it is LOUD. *hint* If you go over by the lobby bar, ask for the food menu and it is the Pubs menu. Order from there and you can eat at the lobby bar or there are some chair/table groupings there and you can eat there with friends/co-workers and you will actually be able to hear each other!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Was at this westing for two nights doing filming for business. The location is downtown and close (5 minute) drive to great local dinning. From the momment we arrived and checked in the staff was extremely polite (even the car valet had a smile) and welcoming (true definition of southern hospitality at it's finest). The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The bed was amazing, i slept like a baby. And the grounds and area were very quiet. Everything you expect from a weston. They even had starbucks coffee and tea in the rooms! The restaurant connected to the downstairs had a wonderful breakfast as well as dinner and great beer selection while watching the basketball and football games on the big screens. Great vibe! wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

You expect the best when you stay at the best. Like the others, the standards are high, the rooms immaculate, the service unquestionable, and the attention to detail attended to. This edition is more of the same except it is in Birmingham. Good job outa' them.

Room Tip: If you're there, you have a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

While there are many places to stay in Birmingham, there is clearly only one choice - The Westin.

Karishma, Anjelica, even Deborah at Todd English Pub - all made our trip enjoyable. We were in Birmingham due to some unusual circumstances, and The Westin staff made us feel right at home. They were courteous, friendly, knowledgable, and just a pleasure to deal with. From room service to front of the house, everyone went out of their way to accommodate us.

The rooms are modern, food was solid, close proximity to all major highways...but above all else, the service is what makes this place special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Birmingham

Address: 2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd. N., Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Birmingham opens in January 2013. Our hotel is located in The Marketplace, an upscale dining and entertainment complex and is nearby several popular downtown destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.