We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected for a brand new hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Birmingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Birmingham to your Saves list
The Westin Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd. N., Birmingham, AL 35203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Meridian, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected for a brand new hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My family and I wanted a hotel we had not been to before when visiting Birmingham last December. We chose the Westin hotel in Birmingham. It's supposed to be an upscale contemporary hotel but did not live up to my expectation. It is nice and about average but the room we stayed in was not as clean. My sons brought along their toys and as soon as my 3 year old got down to play, he had hairs all over him. I called the front desk and told them about it. They apologized and said it would be taken care of but they never did. After the room was cleaned the next day, it seemed there were even more hairs to be found; not accepted at all.

Also, for the nightly rate charged, parking should be included but you have to pay for parking in the attached garage. There are no pay-per-view options for TV/entertainment and the channel line-up is a joke. Almost certain that we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    65
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
46
10
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed for two nights for the BBVA compass bowl. Check in did not go smoothly as they had lost my reservation.... despite the fact I had the reservation code. And I couldn't help but feel I was inconveniencing them based off the reception I had, not the other way around. From there, we got put into an average size/style room. They were very clean and modern, but I just had less of a luxury vibe compared to other Westins I had stayed in. The shower (only a shower in king rooms) was a "rain" shower and was very nice. We were on the 8th floor (I think there were only 10?) so that was nice to be a bit higher up.

The Todd English PUB was jumping (perhaps due to all the football fans) and had a fabulous selection of beer and ambiance- we loved it!! Speaking of, they handle the room service for the hotel. The first night we ordered an omlette on the late night menu, just save yourself the $25. However, after a long next day, we ordered room service for dinner and it was amazing. The mac & cheese, to die for!

All and all, I'd stay again if I went back and wanted to be in that area since it the newer hotel. The area is getting built out a bit and should have future places to eat and visit around it in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a brand new hotel and overall is a top flight business hotel. The rooms are spacious with top flight HD tvs, plenty of plugs and great beddings. The workout room is another story. there are only 6 fitness machines, and only one weight machine. At 630 am there was a line and likewise at 730. Given the number of rooms and the expected number of guests for business meetings, the workout room is woefully inadequate and under equipped. Business travelers are usually on a tight schedule and having to come back later to fit a work out in just does not work. This workout room would have been small for a hotel half this size. Hopefully management will find another spot and get more equipment to finish off what is otherwise a wonderful property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I recently stayed one night at The Westin Birmingham. It is a lovely hotel. Room was very clean and beds slept great. Front desk staff was exceptionally friendly. We had a late arrival and they were so helpful once we got there. It is also easy to find and in a great location near the civic center and not too far from the airport. Highly recommend this hotel when visiting Birmingham.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice stay, big clean rooms. I had two rooms here for 2 nights. One thing that threw us was the minibar -- it was empty. So I called up to tell them to come fill it and the person on the phone was confused that I was confused about it being empty. It dawned on me later -- the minibar at this place is different than the other Westin I had just stayed at in Memphis -- it is more like room service where you call down, say you want a soda and then they bring the item up to you. Weird. I guess they have been having trouble with minibar management or something.

Also I called down to have dessert one night which was clearly listed as vanilla ice cream with chocolate chips in the room service menu, but the person I talked to didn't know what I was talking about, which was also weird. Ended up with plain vanilla since she couldn't find on the menu where it said "vanilla ice cream with chocolate chips". They should have the same menu & descriptions in front of them that I am looking at.

But other than those minor misunderstandings I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by my stay at the Westin Birmingham. Great amenities and I can frankly state that I have never met nicer people. Everyone I encountered was so incredibly nice and helpful. Loved my stay even though I was there for business. Will definintely be back and would recommend to anyone visiting Birmingham.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Thank you Westin for a wonderful experience in Birmingham! I stayed one night in Birmingham Alabama after my cousins wedding. I called a couple of times to make sure I would be in a nice room so my elderly mother would have what she needed. Being lifetime Platinum, I expected a nice welcome but had no idea they were going to give me the Penthouse Suite! It was an apartment and had 2 bedrooms that were as nice as they come. Modern in style, wonderful fresh robes all over the rooms, nice products, wonderful wonderful heavenly bed, great lighting and most of all, PERFECT service! We loved our stay from the beginning to the end. I've stayed in many hotels and this one is right up there with the best of them. (including, St. Regis in Rome, New York, Atlanta, Miami) They honored our 4:00 check out and gave us the best service ever! Thank you Westin!!!!!!!

Room Tip: There was nothing I can say to get a good room because we got the best room ever without asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Birmingham

Address: 2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd. N., Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Birmingham opens in January 2013. Our hotel is located in The Marketplace, an upscale dining and entertainment complex and is nearby several popular downtown destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.