We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Birmingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Birmingham to your Saves list
The Westin Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd. N., Birmingham, AL 35203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rather be in WDW
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Waited over 30 minutes in line to check-in, all kinds of confusion over a ticket I was supposed to get for breakfast - didn't get one, went to the desk "they were delivered to your room," nothing in the room, call, on hold for 10 minutes, "can we call you back after we look into it?" No - it's 11 pm and I'm going to sleep, forget it and what magically appears under my door in the morning?

After breakfast I ask for a copy of my receipt and specifically state, "I'm not checking out" - back to my room and the key doesn't work. Back to the front desk.

Facility is gorgeous, lived the room. Had hoped to get some work done - but I was surprised to learn they charge for wi-fi - so decided it could wait. Who still charges for wi-fi? Especially at those room rates, valet, and parking charges.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear jrbdad,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear about some of the challenges you encountered during your stay. However, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities. The information you've provided will aid us in making needed changes and improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    56
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
31
41
8
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleming Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

On our way from Arkansas to Florida, we stopped for the night in Birmingham. To find out this top-rated hotel cost the same as lesser brand hotels, didn't charge for my dog, and provided my dog with his own Heavenly dog bed could not be passed up. From the moment we pulled into valet to the time we left, they were so accommodating. PUB in the hotel was good but very pricey. I can't thank this Westin establishment enough for their hospitality, comfortable room, amazing shower, and smiles.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Top 1000 contributor

Month of Arrival:November 2013

How could one describe the pleasure of the hospitality provided by the new Westin Birmingham Hotel--it was SUPERB at every level. "Vanessa" at check in should win a Freddie/Academy Award for courtesy and enthusiasm, joined by William at the front desk and Pam (Concierge). The Todd's English P.U.B. staff were equally courteous with special mention for "Theo," Deborah and Chelsey. The Southern charm and hospitality could not have been better ! ! !

Room Tip: The 'East' side has a good view of downtown (and the Interstate Highway interchange) but tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a quick stay at the Westin Birmingham last week and wish I could have been there longer. The property looks brand new and the service was exceptional. They have an airport shuttle that was fast and efficient. The onsite restaurant, Todd English Pub had great food and a large beer selection. The prices were great and they have a 3-6p happy hour with half off brews.

Room Tip: Bedding was stiff and starchy. Most likely due to the fact that the property is new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the new Westin Birmingham. What a surprise to find such a modern hotel in the south. As you arrive the front desk greets you with a smile. From the beautiful lobby, to the Todd English pub they stopped at nothing to make this a great escape from the work day. One exceptional interaction would be with the person who brought my room service order up. After a long day and not wanting to go to the pub I decided to order room service. The menu has a very nice selection. There was a slight delay in the time it took for my order to arrive, although once it did I was pleasantly suprised. I guess it was all hands on deck that evening because a gentleman with a security name tag came to deliver my order. Griff was more than just a security guard, he must have been trained in every part of the hotel as he was on point to come and set up my order in my room. Going above and beyond what I was expecting and even offering to fill my Ice bucket up before departing. These small touches and personal interaction are the heart of a successful hotel. It's not everyday you come across such wonderful service in the most unexpected way.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I have visited Birmingham several times in the past. As always we looked for good value in our hotel choice. Now that the Westin has opened, we will look no further.
Excellent property, location and the attached Todd English pub was great! The Westin heavenly bed is the best in the industry. The front desk team was very accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable.
If I had any issue, it would be wait time for breakfast. Though it was great food!
Perfect for business or family!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Came here with the family for one night after staying in another hotel that was horrendous. The accommodations could not have been nicer, cleaner, and more comfortable. And the staff was perfection! Whenever we come to the Birmingham/Tuscaloosa area again will not stay any place else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear CLNR,

On behalf of all of us at The Westin Birmingham, we thank you for taking the time to write a review! We feel so special to be one of your favorite hotels. We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff, and strive to keep the highest possible levels of cleanliness.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. And we can’t wait to welcome you and your family back to The Westin Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Birmingham

Address: 2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd. N., Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Birmingham opens in January 2013. Our hotel is located in The Marketplace, an upscale dining and entertainment complex and is nearby several popular downtown destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.