We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ and Southern Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jim 'n Nick's Bar-B-Q Five Points

Jim 'n Nick's Bar-B-Q Five Points
1908 11th Ave S, Birmingham, AL 35205
205 320 1060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 872 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good BBQ and Southern Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stopped by for a late dinner while working in Birmingham. The bartender was extremely nice and had great service. She recommended certain items and drinks. I had the brisket, which was good. Nothing about this place really blew me away, but I was very pleased at the same time. They were closing after I arrived but I never felt rushed and I definitely got the southern hospitality feel while I was there.

I will definitely go back to Jim N Nick's BBQ!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    66
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bait and Switch!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I got a $10 chicken sandwich. It was supposed to come with a side. I wanted a salad. It was supposed to cost $2 extra which is a ripoff. Instead of $2 he charged me $4.95 for a small salad! A Miller Lite was $4.95!

No sauce on the table except extra hot habanaro. When we FINALLY got some other sauces, it was ice cold.

The restaurant has gone down a lot in the past few years. Your prices are ridiculous. You did the bait and switch, hoping no one will say anything. You can skim much more than you advertise that way; very unethical.

The waiter was clueless.

Very disappointed, and I won't be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really good food, but poor service and long waiting time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I've been to this restaurant repeatedly on visits to Birmingham and always was very satisfied with the food. This time I had just a salad, but it was excellent. The barbecued meat I had on earlier occasions was also first rate. However, the waiting time was quite long and the service, at least on this occasion, was inept. Others in my party, who live in Birmingham, confirmed that this particular waiter was known as a bungler. so perhaps my critique applies to him only. The inside of the restaurant is a bit dark, which includes the furniture, but the noise level is relatively low. Recommended mainly for the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The ribs were tender and falling off the bone, homemade sweet tea, and great service. There's a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Plenty of southern hospitality,

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Barbecue was some of the best I have had. Visited on "taco night" and while we didn't try the barbecue tacos we did have queso with sausage which was excellent. Service was great and wide selection on the menu.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim 'n Nick's Bar-B-Q Five Points also viewed

 

Been to Jim 'n Nick's Bar-B-Q Five Points? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim 'n Nick's Bar-B-Q Five Points, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.