We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj India

Taj India
2226 Highland Ave S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2902
205-939-3805
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 872 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Birmingham
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the third year in a row we went for the Festival of Colors and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is a local favorite - great food, great service, at a fair price. We started with the house salad (apples, cucumbers, raisins, corn) and then went on to the dinner buffet where we tried a little of this and a little of that - moong daal pakora (lentles, chili, ginger, potatoes, and spices rolled in yellow flour and fried), machi pakora (spicey fried fish), naan (leavened bread), tamater ka pillav (tomato rice), kaduwali daal (split peas, gourd), saag (spinach), khatta meetha baingan (spicy eggplant with potatos and onion), subz badami (potatos, corn, peas, carrots, bell pepper in coconut sauce), kurkuri bhindi masala (okra with potatoes and onion ), reshmi murg kofta (ground chicken cooked with tomatoes, milk, yogurt, and spices), kachumar raita (yogurt, tomato, cucumber dressing), and Gajar Barfi (finely grated carrots, condensed milk, and nuts) for dessert. Even the water is good (must be the copper cups). Try this place once and you'll want to go back. Oh, they also have a lunch buffet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    7
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Solid Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Taj India is a very popular lunch spot in Southside. I've been dining there for years and have always enjoyed it. The lunch buffet is especially good. Give it a shot.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pages and Pages of Vegetarian food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am a vegan, and this place is like paradise for me. A lot of other Indian restaurants feel the need to "Americanize" their menus, and I feel that the entrees offered at Taj India are more true to their origins. Not to mention how beautiful and elegant the decor is.. it's just an overall great dining experience.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Great lunch buffet for $6.95! Very fresh vegetables used in different types of relishes/salads. The choices for main dishes included two different types of rice - Basmati with vegetables and a saffron rice. The curry sauce with dumplings was spicy and wonderful. The best dish was a ground lamb dish. There was cabbage, an eggplant dish, roasted chicken, among others. They bring you a basket of Naan bread to enjoy with your lunch. The dessert was a cold, thin brightly colored cardamom custard with fresh diced apples and sliced bananas that cooled the palate. Accompanying dessert is a half slice of bread soaked in rose water flavored honey syrup! Delicious!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham Al
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food on Highland Avenue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We met friends at Taj India last night. We began the meal with Samosa Chat appetizers which were perfectly prepared. Each of us ordered a favorite dish and we shared around the table. We tried three different vegetarian dishes and one diner ordered the mixed grill, which is a sizzling platter of grilled chicken and lamb. All of the dishes were prepared perfectly. The level of spice was just right and the taste of tandoori chicken that I sampled was tender and juicy. The portions were very generous . The servers were very attentive and the friendly.
Every aspect of the meal was delightful.
Taj also has a daily buffet which includes both meat and vegetarian dishes with naan bread and desserts. The cost of the buffet is very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj India also viewed

 

Been to Taj India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.