We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John's City Diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
John's Restaurant
112 21ST St N, Birmingham, AL 35203-4106
(205) 322-6014
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 872 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Birmingham, Al USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“John's City Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The actual name of this restaurant is John's City Diner. It is on Richard Arrington Jr Blvd which is where 21st would be.
I went last Friday night with my husband and 7 year old daughter. It is a nice restaurant with an up scale feel nevertheless kid friendly. There were other tables with kids and some tables with just business people.
The food was surprisingly good. The French fries are battered and seasoned. Nice presentation. My husband had the meat loaf which was excellent. I had the appetizer size crab cakes and a small side Caesar salad, which was perfect size for me. The salad was fresh I added extra parm cheeze. The crab cakes were excellent and not greasy at all. I think they may be baked not deep fried.
I highly recommend for families or business travelers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hadn't been in years; glad I went back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First, I believe this restaurant goes by John's City Diner now. I can highly recommend the flounder special and the roasted corn grits. Wonderful. Service was good and parking was easy. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A downtown spot that is classic, venerable, and top notch lunches! The food and staff is GREAT. I give it 4 or 5 stars but you don't have to feel like you need to walk in with a suit and tie.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not the same as it was in its heyday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have been several times in the past few years, but it is just not the same as the John's restaurant that was so popular in the past. The service is lacking, and the entrees are unpredictable in their quality. We gave them several tries, but won't be returning.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Waffles....and chicken?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

That's right! Waffles and chicken!! Just like in the old south! Yum!! So delicious! Their burgers are yummy too!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to John's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.