We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drury Inn very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Citronelle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Drury Inn very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Front Desk clerks were very friendly and helpful checking in and checking out of hotel. The breakfast was good. I enjoyed the muffins, yogurt, waffles, it was pretty healthy for breakfast. The room was very nice and so was the bathroom. We were satisfied and would enjoy staying there again.

Room Tip: Just call in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    42
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
86
36
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What we noticed most was the friendly attitudes staff seemed to have, hopefully they actually enjoy their jobs and are paid well for it. Our room was a one bedroom suite, king bed, full bath with jacuzzi tub and shower, living area, all very nice. Our 3 year old slept on the couch bed which suited her just fine, the king bed in the bedroom was alright, with a door to separate the two rooms which was nice to have. The jacuzzi tub was disappointing, very weak jets and not in the right place where you would normally lay. But overall, bathroom seemed clean. Shower had complimentary soap and shampoo in dispensers so as not to waste little bottles of stuff. Nice, neutral decor that didn't scream dirty! The mini fridge was helpful to store our items from the cooler for the night. We only stayed one night as we were just passing through. When we arrived, plenty of people were taking advantage of the 5:30 kickback dinner in the lobby area though we opted to eat out. The breakfast was very impressive with lots of options and waffles that didn't actually taste like cardboard like some other hotel waffles. Very nice fuel up for the rest of our trip. What appeared to be a manager also was making rounds making sure everyone was enjoying everything and even cleaning up dishes himself! Nice that it was outside the city and not too far off the interstate as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Front Desk Agent was very courteous.Room comfort was OK.Needs a most modern stylish upgraded to be up to the Game with other Hotels like Hyatt Place or Holiday Inn's. Breakfast was junk and nothing healthy all sugary .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for choosing Drury Hotels! We appreciate the opportunity to be of service as you noted our hospitality. We are excited to let you know we are having a full renovation to our hotel starting in November 2013. When finished we will have an exciting new fresh look throughout our hotel. Regarding our full breakfast we have several healthy options such as whole fruit, bagels, oatmeal, scrambled eggs and whole grain cereal too. We truly appreciate your business and do hope to see you as our guest again soon.

Rick Seegert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at this Drury Inn & Suites for several years now on the way to the beach. We always request a 1st floor room due to having our pet with us. Usually not a problem to get reserving well in advance. Everything is provided in this motel, Wi-Fi in each room, a big screen TV, a good breakfast every morning, has all anyone could want to eat. Dinner every night, different menu every night, they provide 3 free alcoholic drinks. This location is great, right off of Interstate 65, and convenient to many restaurants and not too far from the Brookwood Village shops. Rooms are clean, not really big, unless a suite, but when you get in late, you are just needing a place to sleep. Drury has a nice fitness room and swimming pool. I highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missiouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This has got to be the most friendly Drury Inn we have ever stayed in. The front desk clerk greeted us with a smile and a very helpful attitude. Kia, the bar hostess was really friendly and made great drinks. The evening snacks were great...salad, hot dogs, chili, nacho cheese, chips, pretzels, baked potatoes, hot dogs, macaroni and cheese, popcorn and soda plus 3 adult beverages per person. The manager made his presence known by greeting people at their tables asking if everything was ok. When we returned to our room we got a phone call from guest services asking if everything was ok with our room. And don't forget the great breakfast in the morning. Service above and beyond!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

From the front desk to the manager you are made welcome here. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are just right

Breakfast is fit for a king and you will not go hungry or want for coffee.

There is even dinner and snacks every night.

We always stay here. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Chose this hotel because of the location AND my Springer Spaniel could say free. (Some places say they are "pet friendly" but charge a non-refundable fee up to $150!) Stayed going to & from Florida. They put us on the 1st floor near a door which was perfect. The staff was very professional and helpful. Couldn't have asked for more!
They have free hot snacks (which included ziti & meat balls and salad) and drinks.
The breakfast was also free. Room included a frig & microwave. It is across the street from a Walmart and an Outback and right off the Interstate. It truly was "better than I expected"!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW

Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. From family fun at the Birmingham Zoo to a step back in time at the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute to fast paced action at the Talladega Superspeedway, you’ll find it all in Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.