We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Barrie
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Love this hotel chain! Comfortable beds, "Kick-back", and free hot breakfast....all packaged at reasonable prices. We have stayed at several locations since discovering this chain last fall (thanks to the Travellers hotel coupons) and have never failed to be impressed with their welcoming staff. Can't believe it took us this long to discover the Drury hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    42
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
86
36
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I searched high and low looking for decent hotels to spend the night during my trip to Arkansas and had almost given up trying to find a hotel that would accept my dog without charging me an arm and a leg deposit. Not to mention the reviews of some of the hotels were HORRIBLE.
That was until I found the Drury Inn & Suites...still was skeptical but thought I'd give it a try. Worst case would be I would get there and just leave and sleep at a rest area if need be.
I just knew after speaking with a reservations agent that I was in good hands. He was so helpful and friendly (wished I had written down his name so I could have mentioned him in this post). Upon arriving the front desk clerk was friendly and made me feel right at home...he was busy helping other guests and was just as pleasant to everyone in line.
The room not only smelled clean it was clean (unlike other pet friendly hotels), carpets were clean, the bathroom was spotless and equally important, I felt safe coming and going from the hotel when letting my dog out.
I am already booked for my return trip as I will be heading back through Birmingham on route to Florida. I only hope I can find the Drury Inn & Suites as I make my way out West for a long road trip this summer.

I guess the only thing I would ask for those people traveling with pets staying at this facility and reading this post is to please pick up after your pets in the outdoor areas...I would hate for this establishment to discontinue offering pet services because pet owners aren't considerate of their property. For those of us that enjoy traveling with our pets it is difficult trying to find accommodations that are reasonable and clean...please don't ruin a good thing!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Oh-my gosh! Drury Inn, I am a fan for LIFE! I had never stayed in a Drury before this one and now I never want to stay anywhere else.

We came in with a large group, and if management is reading this they will know EXACTLY what group we were!!! (3 kids, crazy diving family from Pittsburgh..yeah, that's us!) To write about all of the wonderful things would take days. Staff: AMAZING Rooms: AMAZING House Service: AMAZING Typically if you read my reviews I am very, very honest and will tell you if anything was not up to par..the ONLY thing I can say about Drury is I wish the gym were bigger. THAT'S IT!!

There is a "kick back" every night and they serve REAL FOOD! And it's good food, too!! Nachos, chicken tenders, baked potatos, soups, salads, veggies, chips, dips, meatballs...very good, not like the other "managers receptions" that I have been to where you get Ritz Crackers and that's the end of it. The drinks are good too! 3 free alcoholic beverages per night of stay per person over the age of 21. Breakfast was also AMAZING.

I'm saying nothing more - just stay here. You will NOT regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property for a week on business and really enjoyed. The room was spotless, the bed extremely comfortable, the breakfast and happy hour a nice addition BUT best of all, the friendly, courteous, smiling staff. It was so nice to start and end the day with them! I am extremely particular and this was a 5 star experience. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great location, with plenty of restaurants nearby. Free breakfast, dinner, and long-distance! What more could you want? The decor is rather sober (lots of browns), but other than that, this is a chain that is giving Marriott a run for its money. Their loyalty program is worth joining. The staff is one of their greatest assets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very clean hotel!! Super friendly staff!! They go out of their way to make you feel welcome!! We have stayed there 3 times now and we will stay there every time we go through Birmingham!! Wonderful breakfast and happy hour!! Staff even comes around and clears your table for you!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a excellent room. Everyone was very nice. During the kick-back in the evening the Manager even came around and talked to the guests. He even helped clear off tables. There was plenty of room for people to set and there were several seating areas for people to set around and visit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a suite at the end of the hall and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW

Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. From family fun at the Birmingham Zoo to a step back in time at the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute to fast paced action at the Talladega Superspeedway, you’ll find it all in Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.