We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a wonderful week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Birmingham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thank you for a wonderful week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property for a week on business and really enjoyed. The room was spotless, the bed extremely comfortable, the breakfast and happy hour a nice addition BUT best of all, the friendly, courteous, smiling staff. It was so nice to start and end the day with them! I am extremely particular and this was a 5 star experience. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    38
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
75
34
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
556 reviews 556 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great location, with plenty of restaurants nearby. Free breakfast, dinner, and long-distance! What more could you want? The decor is rather sober (lots of browns), but other than that, this is a chain that is giving Marriott a run for its money. Their loyalty program is worth joining. The staff is one of their greatest assets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very clean hotel!! Super friendly staff!! They go out of their way to make you feel welcome!! We have stayed there 3 times now and we will stay there every time we go through Birmingham!! Wonderful breakfast and happy hour!! Staff even comes around and clears your table for you!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a excellent room. Everyone was very nice. During the kick-back in the evening the Manager even came around and talked to the guests. He even helped clear off tables. There was plenty of room for people to set and there were several seating areas for people to set around and visit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a suite at the end of the hall and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

On our way down to FL we stopped in at the Drury inn after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We are a family of five without reservations. The sweet gal at the front desk was friendly and helpful. She did not have anymore suites available so she gave me a key to a standard room to see if it would work for our family. I checked it out on my own and determined that a roll away bed would not fit into the room. The receptionist gave us extra bed linens after I told her my five year old would be ok sleeping on the floor with a makeshift bed. The beds are comfortable and clean. No strange strong hotel cleaning odor. The ac unit is a bit loud when kicked on but did not seem to alter our sleep. The free breakfast in the morning was perfect. Our kids loved all the treats, donuts, waffles, cereal, etc. the hot food was not bad. The staff was very helpful and curtious. Overall very impressed for what u pay for a nights stay. Will come back!! I also want to add that we ad bikes on the back of our car and felt very safe with them in the parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here. We usually stay at Hampton Inn or Homewood Suites. We decided to give this hotel a try since they told us they had free drinks for guest. The rooms were around 100 bucks a night which is what we usually pay at the other hotels. So we gave them a try. The bed covers looked cheap and dingy and the room had an odor. Honestly, the room should have been priced around 59 bucks a night. It felt dirty and nasty like we were staying at an extended stay hotel. Compared to the Hilton hotels, this hotel sucks! Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Our apologies that your experience was not the norm. Guests of our hotel most often find outstanding value in our Free Hot Breakfast and Free Evening Hot Food and Beverages. Additionally, we have free Wi-Fi, one free hour of long distance, free local calls, heated indoor, outdoor pool and fitness center. We also upgraded all our bedding in February for a beautiful crisp white appearance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went on a Motor Coach tour from Ohio to New Orleans, La during the week of 21/13 and we stayed at the Drury in Birmingham that evening. The hotel staff were very kind and polite. The rooms were clean and neat and ready upon arrival. We stayed at the Drury in Mobile, Al the next evening and the hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful and waited on our group of 58 plus the other guest with grace and ease. We arrived just in time for their Happy Hour that is called the "kick back" this was a nice touch for us and also the parents with the young picky eaters and teen age sports team. We were all tired and hungry and we did not have to go out to dinner, because, the kick back had Salad, chicken fingers, fish filets, baked potatoes, mac and cheese, hot dogs, chips ...soft drinks and adult beverages and a few items I did not mention. In the morning they offer a full hot and cold breakfast that includes :hot and cold cereal, muffins, donuts, toast, waffels, biscuits,sausage,hash browns, variety of juices, milk,tea and coffee. I spoke to some parents travelling with 4 small children and a baby and they commented that this was the greatest for a family on a road trip. The guest rooms were spacious and clean and had comfortable beds her also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW

Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. From family fun at the Birmingham Zoo to a step back in time at the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute to fast paced action at the Talladega Superspeedway, you’ll find it all in Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.