We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, and plenty of food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, and plenty of food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For my one night stay, I was surprised that I had to spend NO money on food. Drury Inn offers a "happy hour" buffet that includes wings, baked potatoes, soup, nachos, salad, and 2 free drinks. I was shocked! So much food that it served as my dinner. The next morning, they served a hot breakfast with eggs, potatoes, bacon, biscuits & gravy, and make-your-own waffles. Juice, cereals and oatmeal. Wow. Not only so, for 1 whole hour you can call long-distance for free. In case you forget your laptop, they have computers on the 2nd floor atrium. Clean room, comfy bed, and all rooms now have recliners, as well. I loved it. And the staff are great! Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    53
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
108
52
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, IL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We drove 651 miles the day we stayed at the Drury in Birmingham and were beat. We picked up one of the Travel Discount books at a rest area. We were able to get the room at a discounted rate, had a great snack which was actually a full dinner for us as we were too tired to go back out; chicken strips, baked potatoes, mac & cheese, salad, hot dogs, popcorn, nachos, chili, etc. We also had red wine for free, free wi-fi, 1 hour of free long distance (didn't use it, but it was offered) and a hot breakfast in the morning.....such a deal. The staff were also so polite and helpful, it's nice to know they still exist. The room was very clean and nice.....all-in-all it was excellent and perfect for these two weery travelers.

Room Tip: The rooms were very quiet, we were on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I travelled to the Drury Inn on Christmas Day, 2012, after driving up from Destin Florida. We were frazzled because we had to get on the road at the crack of dawn and drive fast to avoid the tornadoes about to descend on Southern Alabama. The staff at the Drury Inn was wonderful, helpful and welcoming! Twaunya, Jamarcus, and Shonta were working the Christmas Day shift very cheerfully, and the guests were in the lounge, playing bridge and chatting. We were fed a lovely dinner (included in the room price) and a nice breakfast the next day too. The food was simple but of good quality, and Ms. Angela was there to make sure everything was all right for us. She, too, was very friendly and the atmosphere was convivial and warm, a welcome contrast to the severe thunderstorms raging outside.

This hotel allows pets but this doesn't detract from the neatness of the place and there is not a pet smell. The rooms are really nice and clean and the beds are full queen size, roomy and comfortable. There is a microwave in the room and a kind of cooler, but not an actual refrigerator. You can store any refrigerator or freezer items at the front desk. Hassle-free wi-if is included in the room price, too. There is a lot of built-in value at the Drury Inn, and I highly recommend it! Very convenient to the highway, stores, and restaurants.

There is an indoor pool with a jacuzzi. . .we couldn't use it bc of the severe weather outside, but it is a nice draw in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the best hotel we have found for visits to Samford University. They are pet friendly, and there is no extra charge. We always like to get a suite, although the standard rooms are nice and spacious as well. The hotel is nicely appointed and clean. Hot breakfast and happy hour included. Just off I-65 but far enough away not to get interstate noise unlike the nearby Hampton. Close to restaurants, Starbucks, and a Walmart (which is handy for picking up supplies for students). They have a special rate for Samford visits that is better than AAA or AARP. We have also stayed at the Drury Southeast, and it is a nice facility but it takes longer to get to Samford from there because the busiest highway and intersection in the world (it seems!) are adjacent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are close to an indoor/outdoor pool so there is a chlorine smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

i cant say enough about the hotel, the staff, and the extras! i suprised my wonderful girlfriend with a romantic get away and everything went amazing! from the free food and beverages to the amazing staff! the front desk young lady (portia) was extreamly polite and met every need. all the staff that helped with the breakfast and dinner was awesome. i cant say enough about everything with this hotel. i work in a hotel so i know what to look for, but the room was flawless. blown us away. i know there r nicer but for the price u cant beat it, from all the extras to the staff and great location. will most deffenitly stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I am new to Drury Inns but am always impressed. This one is in a good location near a lot of restaurants and easy onto and off the interstate.
The hotel is nice and clean. The room was larger than that of my last Drury Inn. The front desk and breakfast staff was very helpful and friendly. They have an evening event with food. The breakfast buffet is better than most. The gym was nice with Life Fitness newer treadmills.
Nothing to complain about on this one...

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We always stay here when on business at the Magic City :D...Excellent Staff & Good Food as well...They serve a great free breakfast in the morning & a nice diner at 5 to 7 which is also free as well...They really stick by their slogan extras are not extra..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW

Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. From family fun at the Birmingham Zoo to a step back in time at the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute to fast paced action at the Talladega Superspeedway, you’ll find it all in Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Hotels.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.