We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Decatur, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We drove 651 miles the day we stayed at the Drury in Birmingham and were beat. We picked up one of the Travel Discount books at a rest area. We were able to get the room at a discounted rate, had a great snack which was actually a full dinner for us as we were too tired to go back out; chicken strips, baked potatoes, mac & cheese, salad, hot dogs, popcorn, nachos, chili, etc. We also had red wine for free, free wi-fi, 1 hour of free long distance (didn't use it, but it was offered) and a hot breakfast in the morning.....such a deal. The staff were also so polite and helpful, it's nice to know they still exist. The room was very clean and nice.....all-in-all it was excellent and perfect for these two weery travelers.

Room Tip: The rooms were very quiet, we were on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    38
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
71
31
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I travelled to the Drury Inn on Christmas Day, 2012, after driving up from Destin Florida. We were frazzled because we had to get on the road at the crack of dawn and drive fast to avoid the tornadoes about to descend on Southern Alabama. The staff at the Drury Inn was wonderful, helpful and welcoming! Twaunya, Jamarcus, and Shonta were working the Christmas Day shift very cheerfully, and the guests were in the lounge, playing bridge and chatting. We were fed a lovely dinner (included in the room price) and a nice breakfast the next day too. The food was simple but of good quality, and Ms. Angela was there to make sure everything was all right for us. She, too, was very friendly and the atmosphere was convivial and warm, a welcome contrast to the severe thunderstorms raging outside.

This hotel allows pets but this doesn't detract from the neatness of the place and there is not a pet smell. The rooms are really nice and clean and the beds are full queen size, roomy and comfortable. There is a microwave in the room and a kind of cooler, but not an actual refrigerator. You can store any refrigerator or freezer items at the front desk. Hassle-free wi-if is included in the room price, too. There is a lot of built-in value at the Drury Inn, and I highly recommend it! Very convenient to the highway, stores, and restaurants.

There is an indoor pool with a jacuzzi. . .we couldn't use it bc of the severe weather outside, but it is a nice draw in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the best hotel we have found for visits to Samford University. They are pet friendly, and there is no extra charge. We always like to get a suite, although the standard rooms are nice and spacious as well. The hotel is nicely appointed and clean. Hot breakfast and happy hour included. Just off I-65 but far enough away not to get interstate noise unlike the nearby Hampton. Close to restaurants, Starbucks, and a Walmart (which is handy for picking up supplies for students). They have a special rate for Samford visits that is better than AAA or AARP. We have also stayed at the Drury Southeast, and it is a nice facility but it takes longer to get to Samford from there because the busiest highway and intersection in the world (it seems!) are adjacent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are close to an indoor/outdoor pool so there is a chlorine smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

i cant say enough about the hotel, the staff, and the extras! i suprised my wonderful girlfriend with a romantic get away and everything went amazing! from the free food and beverages to the amazing staff! the front desk young lady (portia) was extreamly polite and met every need. all the staff that helped with the breakfast and dinner was awesome. i cant say enough about everything with this hotel. i work in a hotel so i know what to look for, but the room was flawless. blown us away. i know there r nicer but for the price u cant beat it, from all the extras to the staff and great location. will most deffenitly stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I am new to Drury Inns but am always impressed. This one is in a good location near a lot of restaurants and easy onto and off the interstate.
The hotel is nice and clean. The room was larger than that of my last Drury Inn. The front desk and breakfast staff was very helpful and friendly. They have an evening event with food. The breakfast buffet is better than most. The gym was nice with Life Fitness newer treadmills.
Nothing to complain about on this one...

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We always stay here when on business at the Magic City :D...Excellent Staff & Good Food as well...They serve a great free breakfast in the morning & a nice diner at 5 to 7 which is also free as well...They really stick by their slogan extras are not extra..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its good rating on TripAdvisor and the fact that they allowed dogs with no extra charge. I had never stayed in a Drury before but will certainly seek them out in the future. They had a free dinner and and free breakfast. Dinner consisted of a mainly lettuce salad, broccoli/cheese soup, penne with marinara, meatballs, hotdogs, nachos and chips, pretzels and popcorn. Also one got a ticket for 3 alcholic drinks for the evening.
Breakfast was scrambled eggs, sausage, fried potatoes, biscuits and gravy, donuts, yogurt, waffles, fruit and cereal.
Rooms were very nice and clean. Free wi-fi and an indoor/outdoor pool.
The only minor complaint I had was that our room was located right across from the pool and seemed to be a main corridor. Noises made our dog bark some.
Overall, we were very impressed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW

Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. From family fun at the Birmingham Zoo to a step back in time at the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute to fast paced action at the Talladega Superspeedway, you’ll find it all in Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.