We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Wildwood Circle Drive North, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
chicago,il
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Reunion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The hotel is in a great location situated right in a good shopping/dining area, the facility is new and nicely appointed, some nice perks, such as coffee and cookies in the lobby, fireplace and flat panel TV's.

But several inconveniences occurred that were annoying, not being able to get messages that were left for me, a clogged toilet on the last night, no towels, they forgot to wash enough so said the front desk. Plus, the plastic keys kept de-magnetizing themselves, and we had to get new ones at least 4 times. The rooms are nice with microwave ovens and refrigerators, but the beds are not comfortable and neither are the pillows. The staff was polite and accommodating.

But, even with those annoyances I would stay there again and recommend this location to anyone that reads this.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    29
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
9
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I agree with the positive and comprehensive reviews that have recently been written. The hotel is conveniently located, very clean, and the staff was great. From the moment we walked in, the staff was attentive to our needs and never hesitated to provide helpful information or a quick response to our requests. The breakfast buffet was part of our package and it fresh and tasty. I will stay at this hotel again when I am in Birmingham.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Wolf, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Stayed here just as a weekend getaway with my 9 yr old son. Im a single mom so I always look for safe and clean places. Loved it here. Staff was very helpful. Everything was well lit outside (something i always look for). The pool was inside so my son got to swim all he wanted. The staff was very friendly about giving me directions and suggesting places for us to go eat. The resturant at the hotel was perfect but we just wanted to get out a bit. Great place to stay for all reasons, alone, with family, or business. I will stay here again next time in Birmingham. Thanks !!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, AR
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Every hotel should provide a clean room with a comfortable bed and bathroom. Those are the basics. Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham on Lakeshore Drive throws in a good dose of extras: free high-speed Internet with a comfortable chair, decent coffee, nice bathroom amenities. The staff on duty this weekend - Eric, Brandy and Leona - made our stay here exceptional. When we couldn't get the business center printer to work, they printed our project on their office computer. When we ran out of coffee, they showed us where to get more. When we neeed snacks, they showed us a variety from which to choose in the hotel pantry. Breakfast at the in-house restaurant, which was included in the price of our room, was a great value - particularly because the selection of healthful items on the buffet. This hotel is a great representative of the chain. The staff made us feel like family and earned our respect for their attentiveness and helpful attitudes.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

I stay at the Hilton Garden Inn chain so that I can be assured of the same experience no matter where I stay. That has worked for me for 5 years until I stayed at the HGI Birmingham, AL. This hotel smelled, for lack of a better way to describe it, like sweaty feet. The bathroom was full of mildew and the walls were thinner than paper. The sheets were also stained with some kind of black soot. I could hear people all night shooting off fireworks in the shopping center across the street; maybe that's where the soot came from.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville, ga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We arrived on a Sunday. The check in was quick. The room nice and clean. Breakfast was plentiful with a lot of choices. The staff was friendly too.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

Plusses:
* Bright, clean place
* Friendly, helpful staff
* Has all a business traveler needs, especially an easy to access wi-fi network
* Convenient location to Birmingham without paying the downtown rates
* I've stayed at other HGI's and this does the name proud.
* Plentiful breakfast
* Bright, comfortable dining area

Small stuff (not to be sweated):
* My room didn't adapt to the temperature changes I attempted. It made the room too warm at night for my particular liking. I ultimately turned off the system
* Like diva009, I saw one ant, although it was tiny, and didn't concern me. It was in my bathroom, and no where near anything where it would cause a problem
* USA Today was delivered to several guest's doors, just not mine. Not a problem, since they were plentiful at the front desk.

Overall, a place I will stay again. Made me as comfortable as a business hotel can.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive

Address: 520 Wildwood Circle Drive North, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Lakeshore Drive/Birmingham hotel is located in the Wildwood, Alabama area off Lakeshore Drive, twelve miles from the Alabama Birmingham International Airport. Downtown Birmingham, the Art Museum and Civil Rights Museum are nearby the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive hotel. The Oxmoor Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones, is close by this Hilton Garden Inn hotel. Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed Alabama style atmosphere await our Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, AL hotel guests. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Alabama traveler are our array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker, two dual line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, On Command® video and games, complimentary HBO, complimentary USA Today each weekday morning, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center. The Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, Alabama hotel offers 1,200 square feet of meeting space as well as catering services. The Great American Grill® Restaurant serves freshly prepared breakfasts. The Pavilion Pantry has a selection of refrigerated, frozen and microwaveable packaged items perfect for in-room preparation. Come enjoy Alabama hospitality and exceptional service at the Hilton Garden Inn's hotel in Birmingham, Alabama. ***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive Hotel Birmingham
Hilton Garden Inn Homewood
Hilton Homewood
Homewood Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.