We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Wildwood Circle Drive North, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
louisville, United States
1 review
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Fantastic experience. We plan our trip to overnight here on the way to Florida and back to see family. The staff is excellent as well as the food and property. It continues to exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Mark M,

I’m honored to hear that you choose our hotel as your stopping point on the way to Florida. If there’s anything we can improve on please let us know. We take our guest responses very seriously. I hope to see you on your next trip to Florida.

Regards,
Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    36
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
17
18
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great hotel, welcoming staff and excellent facilities. Easy access to main roads and lots to do in the surrounding area. Have stayed here on 3 occasions now and enjoyed it every time, highly recommend to anyone travelling in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Matt N,

Thank you for the outstanding review! I’ll be sure to share the wonderful accolades with the rest of my team. I hope next time you’re in Birmingham you choose to stay with us, we love having you here!

Regards,
Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. they always made sure you had everything you needed without being over the top. For a hotel the food was reasonably priced and very good. I didn't have to go to a restaurant outside the hotel which I liked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear B M,

I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We strive for excellence and are pleased to hear we succeeded that with your stay. I’ll be sure to share your comments with my Food and Beverage team. They will be pleased to read your comments. I hope you continue staying with us in your future trips to Birmingham!

Regards,
Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My parents booked a room here and had a horrible experience with the reservation. They took advantage of a reduced rate for an Advance Purchase, but the final date of the booking was changed (by the system) to a date that they were not even going to be in town! Since it is non-refundable, Hilton was not willing to make a change of the date or give a refund. We were told by two different representatives that the policy was that they automatically change the date if the one you select is not available... Seriously?? They claimed that was standard policy for advance purchases or promotions. Traveler beware.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Steve P,

I’m so sorry of the issues you had regarding your reservations. Unfortunately, the advance purchase discount is non refundable and is stated before the reservations are completed. In order to receive the advance purchase discount, that must be agreed upon. I suggest in the future to look at other discounted options such as; AARP, AAA or our B&B package. Those reservations can be modified at anytime and does not require an advance purchase.

Regards,
Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Am a frequent visitor to Birmingham for work, and don't like staying here. There are better places to stay locally, specifically The Ross Bridge Renaissance. The fire alarm has gone off twice in the middle of the night in the last 6 months (stay here once a month) and the breakfast service staff was not the brightest. Could not figure out how to add a tip without me re-running the card, had to walk out because I was late for a meeting. Room and accommodations are extremely basic- they do the trick, but don't get the warm and fuzzies out of this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Lindsay D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It really helps us to see where our staff and property can improve. I’m sorry for the issues you incurred during your stay and can understand the inconvenience that can be caused by a poor stay. I’m sorry that we failed to provide you with the “warm and fuzzies” that The Ross Bridge Renaissance could offer.

Regards,
Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The staff was most accommodating and friendly. The pool was perfect for families and they supplied some balls as pool toys. Breakfast can be made fresh is you like, or you can grab something quick that is already cooked or cold and run. Very Good family hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear gramma85,

We appreciate the wonderful comments you’ve provided! I’m pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope you stay with us again in the future. We love having you here!!

Regards,
Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carencro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

enjoyed my stay; rooms were clean, hotel staff is friendly, professional and extremely courteous; restaurant staff is 5-star+ because they remember you from day to day and even from previous stay there 5 weeks earlier...can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Brenda R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide Trip advisor with your review of our hotel. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your time spent with us. I’m honored that you chose our hotel for your time spent in Birmingham. I hope that we can continue providing you with outstanding service and southern hospitality. We love having you here!

Regards,
Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive

Address: 520 Wildwood Circle Drive North, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Lakeshore Drive/Birmingham hotel is located in the Wildwood, Alabama area off Lakeshore Drive, twelve miles from the Alabama Birmingham International Airport. Downtown Birmingham, the Art Museum and Civil Rights Museum are nearby the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive hotel. The Oxmoor Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones, is close by this Hilton Garden Inn hotel. Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed Alabama style atmosphere await our Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, AL hotel guests. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Alabama traveler are our array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and Keurig coffeemaker, two dual line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, On Command(R) video and games, complimentary HBO, complimentary USA Today each weekday morning, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center. The Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, Alabama hotel offers 1,200 square feet of meeting space as well as catering services. The Garden Grille and Bar Restaurant serves freshly prepared breakfasts. The Pavilion Pantry has a selection of refrigerated, frozen and microwaveable packaged items perfect for in-room preparation. Come enjoy Alabama hospitality and exceptional service at the Hilton Garden Inn's hotel in Birmingham, Alabama. ***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive Hotel Birmingham
Hilton Garden Inn Homewood
Hilton Homewood
Homewood Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.