We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend a sunny afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birmingham's Railroad Park

Birmingham's Railroad Park
1600 1st Ave S, Birmingham, AL 35223
(205) 521-9933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 30 Attractions in Birmingham
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Pell City, Alabama
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a sunny afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Railroad Park is a convenient, pleasant place to spend an afternoon. You can purchase lunch and even drinks (beer etc) at the Boxcar Cafe. Picnic, stroll or just watch the trains pass by. A great addition to downtown Birmingham.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I thought I was going to be mugged at any second. Did not feel safe. Will not go back.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love the multi-cultural urban vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Railroad park on a Saturday afternoon during lovely spring weather. The park was alive with a lovely blend of folks of all ethnicities, which we find wonderful and heart warming. We took a walk around the interesting web of paths, observing a wedding in progress, photography sessions, picnicking families, frisbee games, joggers, dog-walkers, sun bathers etc… you get the idea! Everybody was having a relaxing afternoon at the park. Although it was abuzz with activity and a very popular destination that day, we did not feel crowded at all. This is sprawling beautiful park. Although, due to their immaturity, the trees will not be offering much shade for some years. When summer kicks in this will be a brilliant place to be in the cooler hours of morning or evening. Take a book, a blanket and a snack and go unwind already!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great downtown park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Great place to visit! They have done a great job with this urban park. Lots of green space to enjoy. The flowers and trees were beautiful.
Lots of families enjoying the spring weather.
I felt very safe there.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Revitalizing Birmingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

they turned this downtrodden area into a beautiful useful park that is really nice to go to and relax or walk your dog or have a picnic

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham's Railroad Park also viewed

 

Been to Birmingham's Railroad Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birmingham's Railroad Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.