We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Drury Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3510 Grandview Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the best Drury Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Good value. But room SMELLS! Obviously sprayed to mask the pet and smoke smell. Room is clean and up date. And pool area could use better ventilation. Happy hour was a mad house. Almost not worth standing in a line of 30 people. OK hotel. But not up-to Dury Inn standards.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Drury Valued Guest, We are sorry this experience was not up to Drury standards for you. We strive to provide the same consistent service at all Drury Hotels so your feedback is most appreciated. We will certainly address the issues you mentioned and do our best to ensure future guests dont have the same disappointing experience. Again, thank you for the valuable feedback.

Always At Your Service,
Stephanie West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    71
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
93
60
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First, the only drawback for me was that this place was VERY busy. The number of guests, however, is indicative of what a good deal The Drury Birmingham SE is. We had to wait to check in until two other guests were taken care of, but the clerk was very friendly and helpful once we had his attention. Our king room on the 2nd floor was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. Temperature was just right, bedding soft (no scratchy, tacky spread), nice flatscreen TV, mic and fridge, desk and a recliner.

We were close to the stairs, which was a big help going up and down to the evening Kick Back, breakfast, and exercise and pool areas, especially because the single elevator was always occupied taking other guests to the five floors.

We arrived just at Kick Back time (5:30 - 7pm), and enjoyed our three cocktails (super nice bartender) and the snacks (mostly "kid fare," but my husband enjoyed a sort of Frito pie using the tortilla chips, chili, and sour cream). I believe soft drinks, coffee, and popcorn are available other times as well.

Breakfast had many options, including scrambled eggs, sausage, seasoned breakfast potatoes, yogurt, granola and other cereals, doughnuts, waffles, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juices, ETC. Another couple of very nice people were taking care of guests at breakfast. Awfully busy all morning long, but the staff kept refreshing items regularly. I love the open atrium style of the lobby, and if you can find a seat, it's a nice place to read the paper or watch the news.

Very nice indoor pool and hot tub. Business center and fitness center round out the amenities. The hotel was very conveniently located off I-459 in Birmingham, and it's set in a lushly wooded area that keeps any highway noise to a bare minimum. We'd certainly stay here on another trip.

Room Tip: Since the elevator is always busy, I'd ask for a room on the second floor by the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week during the National Forensic Tournament. We had three rooms.

The rooms were VERY clean and the pool was impeccably maintained. the room itself was clean but we were constantly annoyed by a smoke detector which BEEPED randomly.
The first night the lady at the desk came up and took it down. The maintenance man--who was great--came and fixed it the next day. The next night, the other one started beeping. We took it down and put it under the sofa as it continued beeping even when taken down.

I had some trouble with the laundry room--the poor maintenance man came and was ready to take my clothes and do them in their facility (REALLY great customer service!). However, I finally convinced it to work.

My big issue with this property was the free food. As I travel with teenagers who are not my own, keeping them fed is an important concern. The dinners lacked variety and there were not as many options as at the other Drurys. Breakfast was literally the same thing over and over.

Room Tip: I enjoyed being further up as it was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the compliments. We take pride in providing clean rooms at a great value. I apologize you did not feel the variety of food offerings was up to Drury standards. All Drury hotels offer the same menu that rotates nightly. Thank you again for the kind words and feedback. We hope you will choose Drury again for your lodging needs.
Always At Your Service,
Stephanie West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyler
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is lovely with lots of extras, we stayed here last year and were not disappointed. We were greeted by Glenn who was helpful and social and funny. The price was good and there is lots of food available. They have a great breakfast, popcorn starting at 3:00pm and a happy hour with free food and drinks at 5:30pm. the waffles were the best I've ever eaten. There is an indoor outdoor pool with a hot tub. The handicapp bathroom was great. The only thing missing was a shower cap and lotion. The air conditioner was not working when we arrived but after we called it was fixed in a reasonable amount of time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We will make sure to pass along your kind words about Glenn to him. I apologize about the minor problem you had regarding the lack of shower cap and lotion. We do have both of these amenities at all Drury Hotels located at the front desk by request. We hope you continue to choose Drury for your lodging needs.

Always At Your Service,
Stephanie West
General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Plains, Al
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I went to Birmingham to see a concert and had stayed in the Drury in Montgomery several moths earlier and were impressed. The Drury inn is a hotel on steroids, not only do you get a clean and comforatable room, a wonderful full breakfast in the morning but you also get a light dinner in the evening with many items such as meatballs and pasta, baked potatoes, hot dogs and nachos along with 3 free Alcoholic drinks or unlimited soft drinks per guest. The indoor pool was excellent and the hotel staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Drury Inn. Our room was large and well appointed. Very clean too. The breakfast and evening snack/meal were good too. Special mention to Laura in Housekeeping and Alexandra at the front desk. Both went above and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Drury lived up to my expectations. The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean and comfortable. It's in a good location near the interstate. Then evening food was good and so was the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE

Address: 3510 Grandview Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Se Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Se
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham
Birmingham Drury Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.