We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay, but the place was loud.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3510 Grandview Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Ok stay, but the place was loud.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The staff is very friendly and the property is clean, but I found it a little hard to get a good night's sleep here. The AC unit in the room was old and very loud. Our neighbors were pretty loud too. Lots of kids running around, loud tv, etc. The property is also starting to show its age and needs a bit of a face lift too. It's not a bad property but I would probably try some where else the next time. Best upside is the location. Close to great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We always appreciate feedback from our guests. The AC should not be loud and we apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you continue to choose Drury for your lodging needs.
Sincerely,
Stephanie West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    71
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
93
60
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
alexandria,va
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the last weekend in October. We usually stay here because they are pet friendly. First of all the staff were helpful, friendly and the breakfast was top-notch. The property however needs a face lift inside and out. The rooms were clean and spacious but the furniture needs updating and the carpets replaced. The beds were comfortable but linens need to be replaced along with the towels. The green space outside needs to be maintained. The trash needs to be removed every morning...The room we stayed in was above the mechanical room for the jacuzzi and the pump motor was noisy. The room was convenient when I had to take my dog out but I wish the front desk would have told me about the noise. All in all a good hotel but I might check elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Be wary of the noisy rooms above the swimming pool and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am a little surprised this hotel was rated so highly. While the staff was more than friendly, I had a problem with the set up of the hotel and the general party type crowd staying for the weekend. My room was facing the open atrium type lobby and it was loud. There were a lot of party people staying there- have fun catching the elevator on your way down on Sunday. Overall the rooms are old fashioned. I think there are better choices in Birmingham like the Aloft (see my other review).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests. We did have an unusually large number of families staying for a tournament here in Birmingham that weekend. We strive to provide top notch service and a great value.

At Your Service,
Stephanie West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have to go to UAB for a Doctor appointment. We chose the Drury Inn because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. If you are going to UAB it is very close just a few miles away. Hotel was very clean, staff also very good. Between the hours of 5:30 and 7 pm they have a spread of food out.The night we were there it was hot dogs, salad, soup, nacho, mac and cheese and chicken fingers. They also have a very good breakfast. We will be going back nest time we are in Birmingham, Al..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

First time I've stayed at a Drury Hotel (mostly in the South). Definitely impressed. The atrium lobby extends all the way to the sixth floor. The glassed in elevator off the lobby looks down upon the atrium space. The room was very spacious, very, very clean, bed was comfortable. Breakfast had some very healthy choices and the Kick Back Happy Hour from 5:30 - 7:00 p.m. is not only soft drinks, beer, wine and mixed drinks but also a full meal. No reason to go out for dinner. Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: The area is very quiet and away from heavy traffic. Any room should be just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

At the price you pay for this hotel you really shouldn't expect miracles. It is on an out of town business park with precisely no facilities - if you want a drink or some dinner then you'd better get in the car.

The hotel is basic but just fine, rooms are huge (we were upgraded to a multi room suite), clean and have all the facilties you might need. Did I mention it's ridiculously cheap?

The hotel had a pool and a gym but sadly due to the short term nature of our stay I didn't get to use either of them - they look nice enough though.

A big thank you must go to the staff, however, who were especially helpful. They made sure a rather expensive item which I stupidly left in the hotel made its way back to me. Top marks for honesty and customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I like the Drury Hotel Chain. I spend my time with them or with Choice Hotels. For this 5 night stay, I chose this Drury because of proximity to where I needed to be in Birmingham. This is one of the hotels that the chain built, so it has the open 4 floors with giant chandelier hanging over the lobby area.

This is the first Drury Hotel I have stayed at that changes up their evening meals. My first night they had meatballs and penne pasta with Marinara sauce. They change up the soups from Broccoli Cheddar to Minestrone and Chili, depending on the day. While this doesn't seem like much, it is a pleasant change.

The hotel is located less than a mile from The Summit Shopping Center, which is a very high end shopping area. It is also about 3 miles from another shopping center.

The hotel is clean and mostly well-maintained. The desk phone in my room doesn't work, and I couldn't retrieve my message, but that was minor. Everything has been updated and it is a nice stay. Their workout room has weights as well as 3 machines. They also have an indoor/outdoor pool.

I will stay here again if I come to Birmingham again.

The only negative I can say about the hotel is that I am not a fan of the pet policy. The people in the room next door had a large dog with a loud bark. When they were gone, the dog barked a lot, and that is annoying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE

Address: 3510 Grandview Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Expedia so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Se Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Se
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham
Birmingham Drury Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.