We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and a Good Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Meaux, LA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean and a Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed here one night on car trip to another location. Hotel rooms were spacious ad clean. Sheets were adequate, mattress of reasonable quality though a bit soft for my taste, towels more fluffy than I expected. Breakfast has cereal, pastries, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, grits, and biscuits and gravy. Not giving any 5 star hotels a run for their money, but very nice for the price.
Quibbles:
Hotel is currently undergoing renovation on the first floor, so getting to breakfast area requires going outside and coming back in. Pool area is very nice, but hotel employees use it as a smoking area.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
I want to first of all thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I also wanted to update you on the first floor renovation. We completed the renovation yesterday and our hallways are now back to 100% funtioning. We were removing all of the old fashioned popcorn ceiling and adding knockdown tecture/ repainting all of the hallways. So the first floor is complete, fortunately the rest of the floors will go much smoother as we can shut down that portion of the hotel. Also as a side note as of today we now have 36 rooms with our new 42" Flat Screen tv in them! So we are still on track to be finished by Feb. 1, 2011.

AS to the employee(s) Seen smoking in the back behind the pool we have alerted the head housekeeper and are adding an area for them to smoke off the back side of the property so this should cause no inconvenience or misconception in the future.

I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    133
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
175
137
35
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We booked through the Internet asking for the best available rate - we didn't get it. However when checking out this morning the manager changed the rate to the best available rate without even asking him.

Even though the hotel is doing remodeling it wasn't a bother at all. The breakfast buffet was very good with bacon, sausage, eggs, grits, biscuits and gravy.

We didn't have time for the evening social time but it looked like it was great.

The room was very nice and exceptionally clean

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are glad to see that you will be joining us again. Also a side note we are finishing up the First Floor Renovation today! We have been removing the popcorn ceiling and adding knockdown tecture to all of the hallways. It is being painted as I write this and will be complete today 1-19-2011 by 6 pm!!!!! Also on a side note we are also installing our 42" TV's Right now in every room approx. 30 rooms are complete and we are doing 6 per day. All rooms will be finished by 2-1-2011 with the new 42" tv's. But no worries, there is no noise, nor any disturbances that will hinder your stay.

Thanks for staying with us see you again soon!

Sales Manager
Chris Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Rony Naik is the best general manager of a hotel I have ever encountered; he is kind and helpful to the extreme. I am a University Administrator traveling with 55 students. We were trapped at the hotel from a snow emergency, and Mr. Naik was so helpful and considerate that our extra day's stay was pleasant, even for the students who wanted to continue their travels.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We travel alot on business and we have stayed at Best Western Carton Suites several times. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. My husband and children really enjoyed the heated pool. The staff ensured that we had a pleasurable Christmas visit with our children. Chris is great. He always does everything in his power to make it a nice stay. Although there isn't a resturant on the premisis, there are several within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

This hotel was very clean and neat. All the people we had contact with were very friendly and attentative. The nightly reception was very nice, but the breakfast was Awesome!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Your staff was very gracious and helpful to us during our stay. The room was very clean, and comfortable. The location was excellent. The breakfast was wonderful and a great help before we started our day. We were able to get on and off the interstate with ease and the shopping and eating facilities were very convenient. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

One of the best Best Western hotels we have stayed. Everything was very nice, quite and confortable. Internet was fast and easy to use. Nice place on a rainy and cool day!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Address: 140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.