We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Covington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and now adult children have stayed at numerous hotels around the country. One of my son's has had to go to Birmingham many times over the past 20 years for heart surgeries. Best Western PLUS Carlton Suites is by far the best and now the only place we use in that city. From the management on down to the cleaning staff, everyone is professional, courteous, and eager to make you stay the best. The indoor pool, free breakfast, etc., make the hotel a great place for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Sidney G,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to be your hotel of choice when you travel to Birmingham. We want our guests to feel like they are at home as well as a part of our family. Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff and hotel. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    121
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
155
123
31
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Best Western Plus Carlton is a lovely hotel. The 2 room suite was more than we expected. Very clean and quiet facility.The staff was well informed and extremely helpful.The General Manager, Rony, was gracious and able to answer our questions. This was the best accommodation we had on our 28 day vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Richard H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite. We offer clean, spacious suites and a full, hot buffet breakfast daily. Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff and General Manager, Rony. We hope that you vacation time has been lovely. We wish you a wonderful rest of the summer! Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great location. Rooms(suites)were very clean and nice. Price was wonderful. Breakfast was hot and yummy. Bacon, biscuits, gravy, eggs, grits, fresh fruit, and then all the cold stuff too. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Teachwoods34,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are a great value in that we offer clean, spacious suites and a hot buffet breakfast daily as well as many other amenities. We are glad that you loved breakfast! It’s great to hear that you’ll be coming back! We’ll be waiting! Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent Springs, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Best Western Plus Carlton Suites is a wonderfully located and appointed hotel experience. There are fun restaurants to walk to, the rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is very kind and professional. The general area around the hotel is clean, safe and very attractive. It is a very good value. We look forward to our stop over at this hotel every year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Havefunaway,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! We appreciate the kind compliments about our staff and hotel. We are happy to be your hotel of choice for your annual vacation. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a nice hotel although a little pricey for Birmingham. The hotel is very clean, the area is safe, the breakfast was good although the dining area was small, and the staff was attentive, except the housekeeper at check-out who was so ready to go home that she reminded us that we were past our checkout time which I thought was rude since she wasn't asking to assist in anyway. She made us feel she couldn't wait until we left. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Varonica P,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! We apologize for your check-out experience with our housekeeper. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We are looking into this. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. We are pleased to have been a good choice for you. Thank you again for your review.

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights on a family vacation. The third day, while we were gone, a cable company was allowed into our room, messed up the TV that was fine. The manager was called and said he would give us a discount. We received $20.00 Off of a $300.00 Bill And no tv for the family that night! I won't be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
DM1lso,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We do apologize for not exceeding your expectations as well as the inconvenience you encountered with your television during the last night of your stay. Our cable provider is undergoing digitalization of its channels. The company came out to install the cable boxes necessary for the upgrade. Unfortunately there was a glitch with the system beyond our control. I am happy to report that the issue has been corrected. We do hope that you will try us again so that we may have another opportunity to provide you with superior service. Thank you again for your review.

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Clean well kept rooms, property and great staff who aim to please! Mr. Ronny Naik the general manager does a great job in keeping the property up. Good, safe location. My family and I have been staying there two-three times a yr. for over 10 yrs. while going to UAB Med. Ctr.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Kenneth Clevela…B,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! We are happy to hear that you have been enjoying your stays. Rony and our staff work hard to make sure our guests become repeat customers like you. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We’re always here for you whenever you need to come to Birmingham. Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Address: 140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.