We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a tier 1 hotel and deserves a 5 star rating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This is a tier 1 hotel and deserves a 5 star rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I discovered the BWPCS hotel 6 or 7 years ago on a return trip back north from a beach vacation. We now book this hotel on both legs of our annual beach trip and look forward to staying here twice each year on our vacation. It is so close to I 65, yet no highway noise is ever heard. The front desk staff are so friendly and accommodating and the hot buffet breakfast is a delightful way to begin the day. Our room is always clean, well appointed and super quiet. We always enjoy our stay here at the all suite hotel and there are a volume of restaurants within walking distance or a very short drive and they offer a wide variety of menu choices. This hotel is tops in EVERY way possible. Be sure and use your AAA membership card for super room discounts.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Kenneth W,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us again! We are happy to be a part of your annual beach vacations. Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff and hotel. We are really pleased to know that you enjoy your stays with us! Thank you again for your review! We look forward to seeing you on your next vacation!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    133
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
174
136
35
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ozark, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Best Western in Birmingham. Both times the staff has been pleasant and courteous. They make you feel welcome. The rooms are clean and comfortable--no worries or surprises (as to what maybe lurking under the bedding or in the bath). I have recommended this hotel to all my family and friends who are traveling through Birmingham.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Tammy M,

Thank you for coming back to stay with us again! We are happy to hear that your stays have been pleasant. We are happy to have eased your fears about things lurking under the bed and in the bathroom. We offer clean, spacious suites for our guest to relax after a busy day. Thank you so much for recommending us to your friends and family as well as the Tripadvisor community through your review! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountlake Terrace, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

While most hotels were full,my travel companion and I could not find a place to stay. We ended up at Best Western and they made sure we had a bed for two nights. The staff was friendly, the room was comfortable, and it was clean. It did feel like a home away from home with the friendly and helpful staff. They were great! Very easy access to 65 and downtown but far enough away to hear the birds sing and not the traffic noise. Nice!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Ruth A,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay. We are located right off Interstate 65 with many restaurants and shopping nearby. We are glad to know that your stay felt like a “home away from home”! Thank you so much for your kind compliments about our staff! If you are ever passing through Birmingham, we’d love to have you stay with us again! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

First, easy access off the Interstate, but the location has no road noise. Check-in was very smooth. All staff was very pleasant. Several places to eat near the hotel. I chose this hotel because of the reviews before I left Ohio. This is one of the cleanest,best managed Best Westerns I have been in. This hotel has a very nice pool area ( but was too tired to use )
Easy, ample parking in a fairly safe area. I could not find anything wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
RGAfromOhio,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad to hear that you were able to access our hotel with ease from the interstate. Thank you so much for your kind compliments about our staff and hotel! It is an honor to be called one of the “best” Best Westerns you have ever stayed in. On your next visit you will have to try our indoor heated pool and take a swim with our “dolphins”. We do appreciate you taking the time to tell the Tripadvisor community about your experience! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is a gem. We needed a restful overnight in Birmingham on our recent trip from Texas to South Carolina. Due to unrelated circumstances,I relaxed my budget requirement a bit from my normal and this Best Western popped onto the screen, with terrific reviews here and a 3 Diamond AAA rating.

Our room was on the top floor (indoor halls, elevator access) and was quite quiet. The hotel seems to be far enough away from the very busy I-65 that traffic noise is not a problem. The room was clean, well appointed and free of odor. My wife is quite mindful of the cleanliness of a room, and this room passed with absolutely no concerns.

A front desk staff member made three or four recommendations for a suitable restaurant, and even was able to provide a coupon for the one that we chose. Every interaction with the staff was friendly, courteous, and efficient.

The hot breakfast was among the better I have seen offered. It had some minor issues (scrambled eggs were only so-so, link sausage not particularly good), but overall the items offered were plentiful. And, there was a lot of bacon available! I did get a watery orange juice dispensed, but all I had to do was mention it to the attending staff member and he quickly recharged the orange juice dispenser.

The general manager, Rony Naik, was circulating among the guests in the breakfast area, making sure all was well. When a surge of guests arrived, he quickly moved to open additional seating in a nearby conference room to accommodate everyone. He told me that the night had been fully booked and, even though it was a Saturday, "I would rather be at the hotel than anywhere else." As I said in the title for this review, well managed, and it showed!

Room Tip: Top floor, at end of hall if you don't mind the walk. Almost guaranteed not to have hallway noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
K5tm,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! Thank you so much for your kind compliments about our staff and hotel. We are an all-suite hotel offering clean, spacious suites for our guests to relax and unwind after a busy day. We are located right off Interstate 65. We are just 10 minutes south of downtown Birmingham with several restaurants and shopping nearby. We do have coupons for Landry’s Seafood house which is in walking distance across the street from our hotel. We are happy to hear that our staff helped you in search for restaurants. Thank you for your kind compliments about our full, hot buffet breakfast which is served daily. Thank you for your compliments about our General Manager, Rony. He is a great manager that is hands-on. He has a passion for hospitality and people! You are right! Our top floor (4th floor) is usually the quietest floor. Thank you again for your review! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Excellent value. Hotel was quiet (except for the emergency tornado sirens). Staff was very friendly and accommodating. There was not a tv channel guide that was accurate due to the cable company making some changes in the hotel. There also was not an information book that usually comes standard in a room advising you of emergency plans, nearby attractions, restaurants. Complimentary breakfasts was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Sharon S,

We are happy to hear that we were worth the stay! The night of the storm was a scary one! We are relieved to know that there was no damage or injuries to our hotel, guests, and staff. Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff. We do apologize for the inconvenience with the channel guides. We are working with our cable provider to resolve this issue quickly. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We hope to see you again in the future!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very fast check in with excellent efficient staff. Rooms were large and comfortable with everything we needed. Everything was really clean or appeared new. The parking was easy and plentiful even though they were full. The bed was comfortable. We really enjoyed a stress free stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
SonjaOcala,

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments about our management and staff! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean, spacious suites. We have ample parking on both sides of our building. It’s wonderful to hear that you had a stress free stay. We desire for all our guests to have a satisfying, stress free visit! Thank you taking the time to review us! We would love to have you stay with us again!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Address: 140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.