We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canton, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

All aspects were top notch. Would not hesitate to stay again and do recommend it to others. The rooms were conveniently located, the staff was friendly and helpful and the overall experience was excellent. The hotel was located close to shopping and restaurants. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Randy S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to know that you had an excellent experience! Thank you for your kind compliments about our hotel and staff. I hope that you had a chance to take a dip in our indoor heated pool. We hope that you will visit us again! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    133
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
174
136
35
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was definitely the best hotel experience we had in a three-week road trip this summer. From the friendly and helpful front-desk staff to the room itself, everything was first rate. Loved the whirlpool tub and separate shower in the bathroom and the spacious counter and sink area between the bedroom and living room. The bed was super comfortable and the furnishings and decor were either new or kept up beautifully - nothing old, worn out or in need of repair. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Birmingham area. My only regret is that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Suzannergy,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We are happy to know that you had a great experience at our hotel. Thank you for your kind compliments about our front desk staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi suite. Thank you for your recommendation. The next time you are in Birmingham we would love to have you back for a longer stay!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room was clean, smelled good, quiet, bed was med-firm, good night's sleep. The breakfast; WOW. Real eggs, real bacon, grits, real biscuits and gravy, real coffee. All food items cooked as needed, always fresh. Everything tasted great. O'Charley's Hooter's, Chili's, McD, Outback, Milo's burgers, Wal Mart, shopping center, all within a few blocks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
To our Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you so much for your compliments about our hotel and breakfast buffet! We serve a full, hot buffet breakfast every morning. We are located right off Interstate 65 with several shops and restaurants in the area. I hope that you will visit us again soon! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The rooms are nice and I enjoyed the whirlpool tub in the room. The bed was very comfortable which I usually do not find to be the norm. I wish we had decided to stay for another night. I really enjoyed the suite with the tv in the living room area and the tv in the bedroom. The room was clean and the sheets were nice and soft. The room was nice and dark with the curtains closed. The noise level was low which is good as I could sleep better that way. I will stay at this hotel again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Lori H,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your room and found your stay very relaxing! We are an all-suite hotel offering spacious king, double and Jacuzzi suites. We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay. Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Ga, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoy the place it was very clean and the staff was nice room was a pleasure to stay in. We would stay there again when we are in the Homewood Birmingham Alabama area. I would recommend this hotel to other people that I know that would be in the Birmingham Alabama area for business, vacation or whatever the occasion

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Kendrick J,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. We appreciate your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I travel on business often. And I usually stay 3 or more nights at the time. The Carlton Suites is my first choice when I am in the Birmingham area. The staff is super friendly, and make me feel like they really care that I have everything that I need when I'm there. In Birmingham I definitely recommend the Carlton Suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
To our happy traveler Alan A,

Thank you so much for continuing to stay with us! Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff! We work hard to make sure you and all of our guests have an enjoyable stay! Thank you for recommending us as your choice hotel in Birmingham. Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed here for more than 60 days. I find that all the staff are very concerned with my comfort. From the General Manager to any of the other staff, they are concerned with my pleasure first and foremost. I have not found a better value nor higher quality in any other hotel in the area. My compliments to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Fmartin33,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! Yes, you are right! We are concerned about your comfort and satisfaction as well as the comfort and satisfaction of all our guests. We want to make sure that each and every guest has an enjoyable experience! We appreciate your kind compliments. It is reassuring to hear from our guests that we are making them feel great when having to stay and work away from home for an extended period of time or whether they are here for just a day! As always if there’s anything we can do, just let us know! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Address: 140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.