We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great pool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Check out the wonderful indoor pool at this all-suite hotel. The pool area is wonderful with nice tables and chairs and a clean and warm pool. Very nice!

The owner and staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way for guests. A family member stopped by with snacks and we needed disposable plates and forks. I asked if we could purchase them from the breakfast room and the owner said oh no, just come in and help yourself.

The lobby is very nicely furnished. The breakfast is better than normal hotel breakfast fare with an attendant (keeping things neat), scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, a waffle maker, and other assorted fruit, bagels, juices, coffee, etc. I especially loved the flavored creamer in the lobby with coffee and in the breakfast room.

As mentioned by others, the parking lot, grounds and corridor are monitored. This is a very nice area with wonderful nearby restaurants and Landry's seafood across the street. Be sure to check out O'Charlies located next door, very, very good.

Our room was clean and neat with a comfortable bed. There is a handy desk for your laptop and a kitchen counter/bar sink with coffee pot, small dorm refrigerator, etc. The sink area is separate from the toilet/bathtub area. The AC worked well, along with the flat screen TV.

All in all an enjoyable trip. I would definitely return to the Best Western/Carlton Suites in Birmingham!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thanks Alice and Bob for such a wonderful review of our hotel!! We appreciate you taking the time to review us to the Tripadvisor nation. To all of our travelers, we would love to invite you to swim with the dolphins in our indoor pool. Rain or shine you can have a grand time!!! Remember that our Full Hot Buffet Breakfast is more like a Break-Feast and is included in your stay. We welcome all travelers from business to leisure to enjoy every aspect of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed being so close to many restaurants!!! We look forward to having you stay with us again and welcome any and all travelers!!

Barry Richardson and the Entire Best Western PLUS Staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    121
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
155
123
31
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I travel a lot for work and I always stay here when I am in Birmingham. The hotel, right off of I-65, is just a few minutes from downtown Birmingham. The price is about half of some hotels in downtown and includes free parking and free hot breakfast. Rony and the rest of the staff are extremely friendly and know how to make me feel at home. I always feel very safe here. They are currently updating the decor of all of the rooms and everything looks great! The location is close to several restaurants and other stores. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Kristen D, thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are always glad to have any of our customers return!! We strive to take special care of each and every one of our guests.

As Kristen said in her review, we are currently updating all of our rooms with new paint, art work, and furniture. Our suites are already great, but once we get all our renovations done, they will be spectacular.

We do offer our guest Free Parking, Free Managers Reception, Free Breakfast, Free High Speed Internet, and the Freedom to have a Superb Stay!

Barry Richardson and the Entire Best Western PLUS Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Hotel was very clean; very safe; monitoring system at the desk allowed staff to monitor parking lot as well as all corridors. The breakfast buffet was great; tasty food - bacon was very good and my husband even praised the grits. I was impressed with the manager's reception (held on weekday evenings M-T)...nice hor's doeurves, free drinks (and there seemed to be no limit because several people came back 3or 4 times for drinks)....staff was super friendly....would stay here again if I'm in the area....plus it was easy to get to off Rte. 65

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
It wouldn't be a real Breakfast Buffet in Alabama if we didn't serve GRITS!! We are glad that you enjoyed our Free Hot Breakfast Buffet as well as our Free Managers Reception!! Both breakfast and the managers are included in the price that you pay for a room. We take great pride in providing our guests with a safe, comfortable, and clean place to reside while traveling. We are easy to find right off of interstate 65!

Alison J, on behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you for reviewing us on TripAdivisor and recommending us to all the travelers who use TripAdvisor! We are looking forward to having you stay with us again in the future!!! Just give us a call and we will get you taken care of.

Barry Richardson and the Best Western PLUS Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We felt very safe at this hotel and did not worry about the car or trailer in the hotel parking lot. The children enjoyed the indoor pool. Elevators were a nice touch as were the loading valet dollies left for guests. The rooms were nice, clean and large. Extensive breakfast was well made, biscuits & gravy were excellent. Bacon was a nice touch. Wal-Mart located across the street, restaurants were all around-(walking distance). Near the highway, but not too close. A nice, clean, safe place to stay.

Room Tip: Any floor not a problem, they have elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Travis B, Thanks for choosing to stay with us while in Birmingham, we value your business. We also appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. The safety of all of our guests is our upmost concern, and we are glad that you felt very safe while you were here at Best Western Carlton Suites. Many of our guests take advantage of all the FREE amenities that we offer with a stay. Whether it’s the heated Indoor pool, Wi-Fi, Managers Reception, or the extensive hot buffet breakfast, we are glad to be of service to all of our guests!! Thanks again for choosing to stay with us here at Best Western and we look forward to seeing you again!!

Barry Richardson and the Entire Best Western PLUS Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, La
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel was chosen as a layover on our way to Tennessee. Unfortunately, still on winter hours for pool. Not sure why an indoor, heated pool has winter hours. Closed at 9. Kids still got enjoy for a short time. Also, no food in pool area. Made for a pain in that my husband and I went to get food so the kids could swim - no sense in dragging wet kids back to the room to eat. We ate outside - luckily it was warm enough. We rented a family suite. Room is huge - says is queen beds; seems to be more like double beds. Wish they would have used a few extra sq feet from the room to enlarge the bathroom. Extremely small. Full buffet style breakfast next morning as part of room price. One of the better breakfasts I have ever had at a hotel. Eggs were hot and not runny. Bacon had good flavor. Good choices of beverages, pastries and cereals. Management was very attentive and quickly resolved an issue with concrete in the pool from a recent maintenance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We just did switch to Summer hours in our Pool area, so the pool is now open until 10:30p.m. I know this is no help to you now since you have already stayed with us. However, we appreciate your concerns, and next year we will begin our summer hours in March. As far as no food in the pool area, that is a health department rule that we must enforce in order to meet their standards and keep our pool open. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed our FREE Hot Buffet Breakfast!! Our Hot Buffet Breakfast is always free for all of our guests! Thanks for your honest thoughts; we always take all input seriously. We hope that you choose to stay with us again while in traveling Birmingham!

Barry Richardson and the Entire Best Western PLUS Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stopped here on our way down to Panama City Beach. Basically we came in late for a sleep over and breakfast before we headed on our way. We had a jacuzzi room, King and a pull out sofa. We found everything in the room to be clean and tidy which was nice. The staff was nice and friendly. The only tip I have is get to breakfast early. We got down about 7:30 or so and there were a lot of hungry people! It was very crowded and they were having trouble keeping up with all the hungry people. All and all a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Jason O,
Thank you for taking the time to review us to the TripAdvisor Nation. Here at Best Western PLUS Carlton Suites, we take great pride in providing our guest with superior customer care. Whether it's our housekeeping, the front desk, or our breakfast attendant, we strive to deliver the Best possible experience for all our guests. We do offer Jacuzzi Rooms for those who would like the upgrade, but you can expect each and every room to be nice, clean, and tidy. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us while you were traveling through Birmingham, and we hope the rest of your trip to Panama City Beach went well!!

Barry Richardson and the Entire Staff at Best Western PLUS Carlton Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We reserved this room on our way to Florida as a place to stay in route. They had a indoor pool perfect to let the kids play in. We were given a corner room since the hotel was booked with ball players (high school) that night and the front desk woman did not want us to be disturbed. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave and was very roomy. The kids slept on a pull out couch and the room also had a King bed. A free continental breakfast was included and even had hot selections. We were within walking distance of restaurants and had dinner nexxt dor at Landry's.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
To all of our Family travelers, we are happy to provide your families with a great place to stay. From our Indoor Pool, to our Free Hot Buffet Breakfast, all the way to our Big and Spacious Rooms, we have what your family is looking for while traveling. We offer a great place to stay at an affordable rate. Thank you kayoung1 for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in Birmingham. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Barry Richardson and the entire Best Western PLUS Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Address: 140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.