We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Summit Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209 (Formerly Ramada Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip on Sunday, october 16, 2011. The hotel was very clean and very close to many eating places. As a Manager for a property who had just been inspected, I observed everything. Upon arrival, the desk clerk was very polite and professional. The room was adeqate and met our needs. One Problem! The next morning, we needed a late check out. The clerk on duty was very rude in telling us he could not grant it. He never considered the fact that I was a choice hotel employee. He never offered any reason for not granting the late check out. I am not aware of their rules, however, a property that size was in no way in dire need of renting that one room. Please for future references train your staff to be more mannerable in carrying out the rules and regulations of your property. Your rule is your rule and I understand that, but, method of delivery is so important! Other than that, the property was great!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
10
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayette, Alabama
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed here on my way to a project. Did not find it in my GPS which needs updated but once I saw it up on the hill, I was glad.

Everything from check in to the room, to breakfast was great. There are lots and lots of restaurants close by. Breakfast in the morning was great. In general, as a diamond elite member of Choice Privileges, this hotel is a great deal....

Thank You!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

First of all let me say that this was my second stay this month and their second chance. I am always in town on business and I need the advertised broad band internet. Both times it was not only very slow but during my second stay it was almost non-existent. It kept dropping my connection while I was attempting to conduct business. And for the advertised hot breakfast, it wasn't hot and wasn't good either. As a matter of fact, the biscuits, bagals and bread were stale. But the worse thing was the muffins, which were molded. If you like the blueberry like me, be very careful and look closely before you take a big bite. You are safe with the cereal since they are individually wrapped packages. I booked a second night because I always stay at choice hotels and this place had a great rate and a gold award (not sure how they achieved that???). Oh well, I will dig a little deeper into my pockets on future trips (at least 1 a month for the next 2 years) and book at the Comfort Suites, or maybe HI express.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The title of my review was the note my daughter left the hotel. We've stayed at several hotels lately traveling with my daughter's basketball team and I have to say, if you ever get the chance to stay at this hotel, don't. Price was $89/night, not bad except for the fact that it was for 2 doubles, small room, clean I have to say, but uncomfortable beds, pool was nasty, first check-in attendant could care less that we were there, breakfast was horrible, it was just a terrible experience. We've stayed in plenty of hotels for $89/night with 2 queens, awesome pool AND hottub, wonderful service, excellent breakfast. Bad experience for us.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn Express and Fairfield Inn for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The room was spacious and had good lighting. Bathroom even spacious. Didn't hear any noise from other rooms which is good as I'm a light sleeper. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We always use user reviews to stay at a hotel. In this case we found excellent reviews and were not disappointed. The whole experience was very pleasant, including the breakfast in the morning. We recommend this hotel highly.

We found a very nice Chinese restaurant nearby and look forward to eating there during our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north_alabama
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We have actually stayed twice at this Comfort Inn this past month. It is nice, clean and basic. Location seems to be good. Easy access and close to many Birmingham shopping areas and sights. Rooms adequate. Breakfast somewhat plain but then we didn't get the room for breakfast. Hamburger heaven is just in front of the hotel and is open for breakfast if you really need one.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 226 Summit Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209 (Formerly Ramada Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) hotel is conveniently located near Interstate 65, just minutes from the Birmingham- Shuttlesworth International Airport. This Birmingham, AL hotel is also near the Samford University, Birmingham Zoo and the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute museum. UAB Hospital, The Kirklin Clinic and VA Medical Center are just five miles from the hotel.The Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex and the University of Alabama at Birmingham are both close by. The nearby Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail features some of Alabama's best courses, with 11 sites and 468 holes of challenging golf.Enjoy shopping for that must-have item at the Colonial Brookwood Village mall or the Riverchase Galleria mall, featuring an array of department stores, specialty shopsand full-service restaurants. A variety of entertainment venues, cocktail lounges and restaurants can be found in the surrounding area, including several within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.